September 24 -- Steemit Ramble #124 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

The heat continues today, almost the end of September and there is a heat warning in effect. Amazing.

I haven’t been around the branch much these days because I’ve been working on spending as much time as possible on posting here on Steemit. Yesterday I went over for a meeting in the morning.

Came out from the meeting to find we had a busload of Legion people from Peterborough Legion visiting us. Among the group was a comrade I’ve known for years. Her and I had a great visit and I met a few of the other members of their branch.

So, after the bus left, I shot the breeze for a bit with a couple of members and along came time for a surprise birthday party I had been invited to attend. I stayed around for the party, getting home just after dinner.

I didn’t get yesterday’s Ramble up until this morning. @buzzbeergeek suggested the use of graphics in the Ramble to improve the browsing experience. I’ve come up with a couple of icons that are in today’s Ramble. Feel free to let me know if you like them or not.

Coffee Time Meditation #21

Onward to today’s rambling

Introducing the Veterans Project

Anyone who has been reading the Steemit Ramble is aware I’m involved with the Royal Canadian Legion. Our mission is about service to our veterans. So, I’m more than pleased to be able to share this announcement about an initiative here on Steemit to support Veterans. Or, as someone has pointed out to me, serving members and former serving members.

One of the things I’ve often noted is when I’ve asked for the veterans in the room to please rise, serving members will hesitate and need to be invited to rise. Many serving members do not see themselves as veterans in the same sense that WW1, WW2 and Korea vets would.

As a Legionaire, I see them all as veterans, they have served our country and defended it’s freedoms. But, I respect where serving members are coming from.

Back to the Veterans project. The project is an invite by @chairborne for veterans / serving members on Steemit from Canada and the United States to identify themselves and be included. Read the post to find out how to get verified. You’ll also want to have a look at this post to find out where to find the chat room.

Emotional CAN be a good thing

For better or worse, our emotions are real, they are honest and they are a part of us. That doesn’t mean that we should just let them run wild. They can be wild and crazy, taking us to places we’d never ever want to be. @uwelang talks about how emotions can be health and how we can learn from them.

Social media hater's story of Steemit power...

@vm2904 writes about what he has mostly disliked about social media. In particular, the tediousness of much of the posting on places like Facebook and Twitter. Then he found Steemit and found a place where he not only could have a voice, he could voice it anyway he wanted.

The six secrets of humus

My my, the difference an ‘m’ can make. When I first saw the title of this post, I figured it was talking about hummus, a lovely puree make from chickpeas. What a surprise I received when I read the post and found it that wasn’t even close. It is a good post though and very informative. Nice work @suggeelson.

Time to get Motivated! My First Run in a While, My Goals and my idea for a Steemit Running/Fitness Club.

I’m not a runner, for that matter, I’m not much of a walker although I need to do more of it. @phelimint writes about his desire to run as exercise more and how he’d like to maybe develop some support through Steemit.

Sorry @phelimint, I am unlikely to join you on the running concept. I do real well to get 2000 steps in around the house in a day. Maybe some of the rest of you are interested?

Sweet honey, which treats over 500 diseases

@suggeelson writes about some of the healing values of honey. I’m a firm believer in the healing and nutritional value of honey. I mean real honey, not that sugarized crap sold in most supermarkets. You want to get raw honey, straight from an apiary or a market that gets theirs from an apiary.

Welcome to "The Inquiring Times": by #NewsTeem

@inquiringtimes announces the release of their Steem news publication. It is a team of writers writing about what is important to STEEM, Steemit and Steemians.

Meet the Pets!

@bwar shares some beautiful shots of his family’s pets, dogs and cats. Being owned by a couple of cats, I am always pleased to see someone sharing great pics of their fur family members. Nice camera work there @bwar.

Fiat currency is dying - How will YOU manage when the paper in your wallet becomes worthless? Are you protected?

Even though many of us think that fiat money will be around for ever, @tremendospercy has a point that unexpected events can suddenly change our economic stability through no fault of our own. That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be prepared to weather changes. He writes a very detailed piece on how to prepare in a diversified way to protect your future.

Cryptocurrency for Newbies - What is It, And Why Should I Care?

If you are new to Steemit, having just stumbled into it with a desire to get paid for creating content, you may be scratching your head over this whole cryptocurrency world. @unmentionable has written this post to introduce the newbie in you to the cryptoworld.

Let's Learn How to Create a Discord Bot

If you ever wonder where those discord bots come from and feel like playing with your inner geek, @codingdefined has created a post to get you started on your very own bot world. Nicely done.

Polishing Your Posts: Tips for Creating High-Quality, Readable, and Engaging Articles for Your Blog

@ethandsmith has some excellent tips for polishing posts up so they present a better reader experience.

Wrap-up on Day 124

I know I keep harping about shorter paragraphs in your posts, but there is a reason. As a person who reads many many posts in a day, I have come to realize reading long paragraphs on screen is work, more work than I’m willing to engage in just to read your work.

That probably means I’m missing some really good posts content-wise. It’s because you, the creator, is forcing me to choose between a poor reading experience in order to decide if you have good content, or me moving on to find a better reading experience. I usually opt to move on.

Shorter paragraphs are not only easier to read, they create more whitespace on your post which improves the overall appearance. Don’t want to believe me on this matter? Have a read of this short article:

Writing Online Copy that Sells: Keeping It Short and Simple

You might not think you need to write copy that sells, but you do. You want people to read your post and enjoy not only the content, but the experience.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Still Pending Posts

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. Below are the posts still pending payout as of the time of the writing. I invite you to visit the posts and upvote them if you like them:

September 18 -- Steemit Ramble #122 -- Curating Great Posts for You
Welcome to the Big Apple and the Community Below It
September 23 -- Steemit Ramble #123 -- Curating Great Posts for You

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...


Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Thanks @shadowspub, I guess somedays back I have commented to be part of the list and I made it today. :)

You did make the comment but had nothing to do with you actually making it.. it was your good work that did that

Thanks, for considering :)

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice roundup @shadowspub. I think it's great u shed some light on some quality authors and help out the community! Keep up the great work

Thank you @goldenarms .. without people working on creating great posts, I wouldn't have anything to share.

Great selections as always @shadowspub ;)

Thank you @jaynie.. the feedback is much appreciated

Thanks @shadowpub. Great effort by you to find and curate good posts. I will keep a watch and keep in touch. Upvoted full

Thank you @vm2904 ... glad to know it has some value to you

A really great selection of works, I really appreciate the shout out.
Great job.

Thank you @tremendouspercy .. you did a nice piece there.. keep up the great work.

GReat post as always I make good use of my long=g train commute to check out the posts you share so thanks :)

oh I remember the days of those long commutes ... and without the pleasures of electronic devices to read on.

Yes I remember those times without devices
Times sure have changed

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thank you for the include! I've already crossed paths with a few of these entries, great work as always.

thank you @bwar ... you have some very handsome pets :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18