September 18 -- Steemit Ramble #122 -- Curating Great Posts for YousteemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago

The start of another week. Where the blazes do they go so quickly? The end of September will bring 75% of the year to a close and fall upon us.

I had a pretty good week last week as far as earnings on Steemit go. Not big money but steady increases in my Steem Power. I’m getting better at consistency although not as consistent on the Ramble as I want to be. That’s okay, it’s something for me to work on.

I’m enjoying doing the Coffee Time Meditation on @pathtosuccess’s account. It gets my brain fired up and thinking first thing in the morning. In writing short bios on the authors, I’m also learning more about them and their accomplishments.

Today’s quote author is the author of several books on writing including one I have in my library but haven’t read. I shall move it to my more immediate read list.

I’m currently reading a book about a team of people who secretly created and AI which can then learn and improve its own programming as it absorbs more and more knowledge about the world. For someone who started out with a Commodore Vic20 as a first computer, it’s almost frightening how far computing ability has come in such a relatively short period of time.

Coffee Time Meditation #18

Onward to today’s rambling

Fat by Popular Demand. Donny Joins the M.O.T.U Fun

If you are looking for a Monday morning chuckle, you need to read this story. Actually, an anytime chuckle, read this story. Unfortunately, the story doesn’t conclude so you better follow @goldenarms and keep on eye out for the next instalment.

@MSP-Waves Mission Statement and Expanded Show Schedule. (24/7/265 Steemit Radio Station)

Who needs a TV or stereo on in the background when you’re working? You can have MSP Waves Radio instead. If you’ve looked at their lineup, it’s interesting but doesn’t tell you much. @inquiringtimes has assembled an excellent overview of the schedule, what the shows are about and who are the hosts. Nice work there @inquiringtimes

"Six of the Best" MAP24 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]

The Minnow Accelerator Project is the brainwave of @rycharde who is also a witness candidate. The project outgrew his personal account so he has moved it to @accelerator. So, let’s see if I can put this in a nutshell.

Every few days @accelerator selects 6 minnows from those who have submitted their applications (read the post to find out how to apply). He defines minnow for the purpose of this project as person who has been a Steemian for more than a month and has less than 1000 SP and less than 1000 followers.

The selected candidate then put forth their chosen best works for voters to read and upvote and then upvote the author on the contest page. For the mechanics of what they win and how, read the post.

This is a great initiative to give new Steemians some exposure and encouragement.

The Making of a Coffee Break

@jasonbu apparently thinks of coffee breaks as something that you use to learn more things to do. He decided to take a break from writing a few more paragraphs of his book.. Well actually, he was procrastinating.

So, for hellry he decided to play around with Blender, 3D rendering software. The end result? Well, let’s say, he modelled a more traditional coffee break. Go have a look.

#MASTERS OF THE UNIVERSE - The transformation of Lord Percival - A new hero is born.

It isn’t often that fantasy writing catches my attention. This post from @tremendospercy did. Some excellent writing here, he moves you steadily through the story and has you looking for more.

Mars in Astrology -- the energy that makes your life happen

@enchantedspirit explores Mars, the planet, the legends and the astrological aspects of the red planet. An interesting read.

Finding Your Center

What makes you feel centered? What brings you calm and peace? @littlenewthings explores what makes her and others centered. We all need that place to restore and maintain balance in our lives.

O'zapft is - The Oktoberfest has started!

Steemit’s resident beer expert, @uwelang, shares with us the opening of the Munich Oktoberfest and describes what this annual event is and it’s background. Great post.

Greetings "H'o'i'el" from a Native American (Indian) in Canada... my first year on Steemit

Now this was an interesting post. When I saw the headline that the author was part of Canada’s first nations I knew I wanted to take a look. Then I discover that she’s not only first nations, @somena is former activist and journalist. Can you ever been a former activist and journalist? I’m surprised I’ve not come across @somena before now.

Why should we drink lemon water every morning

@enginewitty left me a nomination of one of @suggeelson’s other posts but it was past the 7 day mark when I looked at it. So, I checked out @suggeelson’s profile and came across this post that I really liked.

@suggeelson describes the benefits of having a glass of lemon water upon rising in the morning. This is an excellent habit to get into and I have found really beneficial.

When I was in hospital in June I developed fluid retention on my feet and legs. That isn’t something I normally get and I wasn’t particularly happy about it. The doctor suggested that getting rid of the fluid would be something that would happen gradually after I went home.

Within days of being home and back on my lemon water routine the swelling was gone. While, @suggeelson suggests eliminating coffee by having the lemon water, that isn’t going to happen with me. I love my coffee. I have my lemon water while waiting for my coffee to brew.

The excruciating pain some women face, yet don't discuss

This post was nominated by @enginewitty and I’m so glad he did.

@topkpop writes with the raw honesty that only someone who has experience what she has experienced can write with. She talks openly and honestly about what she went through in losing not one but two children to miscarriage. She talks about how isolated women who go through miscarriage can feel. It’s another of those subjects a lot of people shy away from acknowledging or talking about.

Welcome: MSP Anti-Abuse Team

This post was nominated by @inquiringtimes

@narconaught reports on the project to detect and call out abuse of the voting bots. As you’ll see in the comments, I disagree and question one of the three rules that has been set for the project. I fully agree with the other two rules.

The Mallard Mind (Original story)

This post was also nominated by @enginewitty and a second post from @topkpop

This is a wonderful children’s story that @topkpop has written. I can see many an adult enjoying reading it to a young child. While hearing a delightful story, the child gets a chance to learn more about the different animals.

Abandoned in Gare Central

This post was nominated by @kubbyelizabeth

It isn’t often that I notice or even bother to read poetry. But something about the simplicity of this poem caught my attention. A short read for you to consider.

Wrap-up on Day #122

Some days I find more to share than others. Today was a pretty good day. The nominations from the Steemit Ramble discord were good. I couldn’t use them all but I suggest you visit the discord and read any in the Nominate-A-Post channel that don’t have a thumbs up on them to catch the ones I wasn’t able to use.

Still Pending Posts

I hope you enjoyed reading my post. Below are the posts still pending payout as of the time of the writing. I invite you to visit the posts and upvote them if you like them:

September 12 -- Steemit Ramble #120 -- Curating Great Posts for You
Mischief Making Granny
@shadowspub Interviewed by @ma1neevent for MSP Waves Radio
September 17 -- Steemit Ramble #121 -- Curating Great Posts for You

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

This is NOT an invite to SPAM!

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

This post has received a 0.81 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @shadowspub.

It's always good to see that your work is appreciated.
Thank you @shadowspub

Thanks very much for mentioning the Minnows Accelerator Project and @accelerator. To any quality content creator interested in signing up, just go the profile page and click the link there. Thanks!

looks like a great project. Sure seems to be a lot of good programs being setup and operated for Steemit. Great to see.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @Kubby from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Thanks so much for including me - appreciated - my current post would probably shock you (don't look :-)!)

Have a marvelous day!

oh yeah... don't look.. cause you know she's going to go look don't you LOL

This post has received a 7.60 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @shadowspub.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ShadowsPub from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

LOL, nice video in the October-fest post. Thank you!!!!!

the whole post was pretty damn good ! :)

I love your blog and also the fact you are helping others find good content, kudos

thank you @battleaxe... I really appreciate your kind words and support.

This post has received a 10.53 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @shadowspub.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63802.69
ETH 3413.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55