Oct 2 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

I’m getting a bit of an early start today as I only have a couple of hours this morning to work on my Ramble. I have to meet my 1st Vice at the branch for 9am to be at a meeting for 10:15am. That will likely be short and then we wait around for another meeting at 11:15am of similar length. Meetings are a pain, when they tie me up for long periods of time, they are insanity. But the joys of leadership LOL.

Spent some time at the branch yesterday. The former 1st Vice is in town on leave so we were watching for him to stop by. He is an serving member of the Air Force and was posted out of the area in September. His family remained in the area as his wife is running a business. The hope is that he will be able to return here and resume his place on the executive with the long-term plan for him to become Branch President.

One of my goals as President of the branch is to identify and work with potential future presidents and executive members. I’m going to be very proud if I’m able to step away and leave him in the chair. There are a couple of other potential leadership people on the current executive but I need to see how they develop.

I took part in the Positivity Challenge #1 and received some kind feedback on it. I’ll be watching for the second one and encourage you all to take part. Sometimes we get so caught up in our lives that we tend to not always look for the positive.

Onward to today’s rambling

The Updated Steemit Etiquette Guide - New Additions and Your Help Needed

@thecryptofiend has written another excellent guide to Steemit etiquette. If you missed the first one, have a look here. Don’t forget to have a read of the comments, some of the discussion is rather interesting.

Im a cool kid now! (Milestone Celebration)

@timcliff posts about reaching milestones and then reintroduces himself. Included in the post is some shoutouts to people he likes on Steemit and why. If you’re looking for some people who are good to follow, definitely have a read and don’t forget to congratulate @timcliff on his milestones.

Active Steemit GitHub Issues - (Steemit.com Development Updates)

If you’re interested in what is under discussion for the future of Steemit, then you’ll want to have a look at @timcliff’s post on the topic. He provides links to the discussions taking place on GitHub.

One of the discussions involves the use of the flag to downvote posts deemed to be overvalued. That is a topic fraught with landmines IMO but there is a limited pool of funds for posts so there does need to be a mechanism to more fairly distribute them.

I know there are times that I look at a post and think “are you kidding me?” when I see how high the potential payout is and other well done posts have only a few cents.

The Steemit Help Guide For Beginners – The Visual Step by Step Guide

@steempowerwhale has written one of the best guides I’ve seen for how to get around Steem and use it’s various features. I especially like the guide to how to use SBD, Steem and SteemPower. That was one of the main areas of confusion for me when I started. Definitely a post to bookmark.

Top 8 Mysteries of the Pyramids You Didn't Know About

@darthnava writes an excellent post about pyramids, not only those in Egypt but around the world, their similarities and endearing mysteries. Great reading.

Explaining Steemit to a non-crypto person - a dialogue

@burnin writes an interesting post of a dialogue with someone who doesn’t understand cryptocurrency and to some extent market trading. Understanding the site takes a bit of both.

Why Writers Make The Best Friends

@sauravrungta writes about how writers make the best friends. I don’t know a lot of writers other than on here. I know two or three offline, they do seem to fit the pattern that @sauravrungta has written so, works for me.

Some thoughs and reflections after writing in Steemit for a while

This is one of those posts that I agree with some of the content, valid points BUT the writer really needs to do some basic proofreading. The errors do make it hard to read, so I’ll warn you in advance, good content otherwise.

10 Nightmares For Introverted People

I’m going to finish with this post today as I need to get ready to go to my meetings. The cartoons are great except they are more about shy people than introverts. Introverts can be shy but not all are. We introverts get our energy from being on our own, that doesn’t mean we are shy. We just don’t want to spend a lot of time around the extroverts.

Wrap-up on Day 25

Well, just five days to go on the 30-day challenge. It’s fun doing these and I will continue to do so after the 30 days is over. I also want to write on other topics so I may need to divert some time to doing so.

I guess I best get this posted, get dressed and get off to my meetings. Will be looking forward to catching up on reading when I get back.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Very cool collection . I am glad to see some stories at one place since I can't be online much these days traveling

thank you.. I try to post daily

Thanks for the link to my post. I hope your meeting goes well. All the best!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97