The Updated Steemit Etiquette Guide - New Additions and Your Help Needed

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

You can check out my original Steemit Etiquette Guide here which had some great artwork done by @klye.  I am currently looking at producing a new one.  

I have come up with a number of new points myself (and some previous suggestions) but it would be useful to ask for all of you to let me know what else you would like added.  

The aim is to get new artwork done for the additional points but obviously that will take time and I would rather wait until I have the new points finalised before commissioning more as it will take @klye time to make it so I can't easily add extra points on.


Summarised List of Original Points

For those that missed my orginal post (which is probably most people) here is a list of the Original Points - if you want the elaboration and artwork please check out the original post link above.

1) Don't vote and run.

2) Don't over-post.

3) Don't post unrelated links in comments.

4) Don't directly ask for votes.

5) Don't expect reciprocal votes.

6) Don't use the wallet to get attention.

7) Don't flag content just because you disagree or don't like it.

8) Don't ever use @all in the chat.

9) Don't post nudity or graphic imagery unless you tag it with NSFW.

10) Don't engage in tag spamming.

11) Do help others out.

12) Do share great posts.

13) Do check out new posts.

14) Do always comment when you flag a post and go back and check it.


The New Points 


(Order not finalised since I am looking for community additions)

As previously noted these points are meant as a guide rather than strict rules.


15) Don't be a stalker

Thanks to @stellabelle for suggesting this.  There was a particular user who was deliberately going after female members of the community in a distinctly unsavoury way.  People may think this is acceptable online but I personally think it is disgusting and reprehensible behaviour.  Luckily the reputation system can help by silencing these people but we also need to make it clear that we won't accept it as a community.  Further any activity bordering on criminality is particularly stupid since it is recorded in the blockchain.


16) Don't be a drama queen

We all have bad days and we have all been complete arseholes from time to time but the best thing to do is deal with it in an adult way.  There have been a number of people who have instead proceeded to have a complete meltdown and create all kinds of unnecessary drama.  This never looks good and you will only embarass yourself in the long run - particularly since it is stored in the blockchain to remind you forever.


17) Don't go on witch-hunts

Not new but seems to be happening more lately.  People are ganging up on each other in a way which I don't think is really helpful.  I think it is fine to point out problems or inequalities when you see them but unless someone is specifically doing something malicious I think this can only serve to make Steemit less friendly and inviting to people.  It is particularly striking when multiple people seem to go on the offensive against a single person:


18) Don't make it personal/Don't make argumentative posts

Maybe it is because I'm English but I don't think it is polite to do an entire post focussing on a single person without first discussing it with them and trying to resolve the situation person to person.  If you want to call out certain kinds of behaviours it might be more productive to do so in a more general manner so people don't feel that they are being singled out.  If you go after a particular person all that will ensue is an argument that will continue to escalate and make everyone look bad.  Anyway maybe you all think differently. Let me know.


19) Do admit when you are wrong /Do apologise 

I had an old teacher at school who used to say that it takes both honesty and bravery to admit you are wrong.  We tend to like to pretend we are always right even when we are not.  People are generally forgiving and if you have been an idiot just own up to it and apologise.  People will respect you more for it.


20) Do take a step back

In keeping with the previous few points sometimes it helps to take as step away from your computer and do something different to help you regain perspective.  If you are getting into a lot of arguments and conflict give yourself some time away and reflect on things.


21) Don't critique people's work unless they have asked you to

I normally ask for people's opinions on my work and I am fine with criticism (although even I have feelings) but just because someone has posted their work up does not mean that you should start critiquing it if you don't like it.  Not all people are thick skinned about things and I have seen a few cases of people demolishing another person's work in a distinctly unpleasant way.  Also if someone has asked for a critique keep it polite and constructive.  If you are not able to do that move on.


22) Keep the adolescent remarks to yourself

I have noticed a few users making the kind of remarks on images of women that are quite immature and frankly I would expect from a 13 year old boy.  I know these aren't necessarily done with any malice but we as a community need to be a friendly and inviting place for women and I don't think it is particularly helpful.  You as a man may find it funny but I'm not sure a woman would - imagine if it was your mother reading your comments.


23) Don't be a fake, plagiarise or pass of others work as your own

This should really have been in my previous post.  It relates to people trying to make money by impersonating others or making false claims.  There is a whole community of people watching you here and you will eventually be found out.  Just don't do it.


24) Don't re-steem everything you see

The re-steem feature is great.  It's new and shiny and a different way to share but please be conscious of your followers.  Unless they are only following you, you have to assume that their feed has other re-steemed material in it.  Further just because YOU like a subject DOESN'T mean that they do.  Just be polite and only re-steem limited numbers of posts that you are sure others will like.


25) Don't bribe people for votes, re-steems, follows or anything else

This is  fairly easy to understand.  It is likely to get you flagged as well as potentially annoying others.  Plus once people have followed you there is no guarantee they will keep doing it.  So you will just be wasting your money AND ruining your reputation.


26) Don't direct message people you don't know in the chat

I will probably combine this with the wallet point in the original list.  I have seen lots of people doing this particularly to whales and people with higher SP.  It is understandable but it is also an intrusion on people's privacy and hardly polite.  Don't do it unless someone has explicitly said they are OK with it.


27) Over to you - what else do you think should be added?

Please let me know in the comments.  Thank you for reading:)


Reward for Reading: The Obligatory Kitten Photo


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics like this too) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Photo Credits: All photos are taken from personal Istockphoto.com account.  Further information can be provided on request.


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my Previous Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

Like DJ Kaled would say "another one"

Thanks I love that video!

I'm new here so I'm glad I found this right on time! I definitely learned a thing or 2!

Jerome "Smiley" Johnson

Thank you Jerome. Welcome:)

I agree with all of these -great post! I think any etiquette posts should be linked somehow with the FAQ posts and Steemit explanation posts so people just starting out on the platform get a better understanding of what is socially acceptable - just like how you linked it at the bottom! Upvoted!

Thanks. Yes I will link back if I can still edit or alternatively if I update the faq again.

Really good points here man, thanks for updating and sharing this.

You're welcome. Thanks let me know if you have anything to change or add.

One thing I would add is do not drop your post link in post promotion on Steemit.chat and expect upvotes without first upvoting a few posts before leaving. If we don't build a culture of reciprocation there, then the postpromotion channels will be useless walls full of spam. Even better to let other know and interact a little.

that is a bit of a conundrum for me. I usually open a reading queue from the posts that I see in the channels and then post my link. I haven't read the posts yet so they haven't been upvoted. Would people get what I mean if I said.. "okay have opened posts for my reading queue.. votes may follow"? or is that just as bad as dropping and link and moving on ?

I don't think it's essential to read and upvote immediately. I do think it's good though to let them know you upvoted them or in a post comment mention you found them on post promotion. That way you stand out from all the others on the post promotion page and it builds a culture there that people should interact rather than just spam the wall. It's not a hard and fast rule of course but just something I think makes postpromotion better.

good point ... my problem becomes that by the time I start reading.. I have 30 or more posts open from various sources so I don't really know where I found them. Maybe I need to find another exploration method :)

Not sure you should tell people that you voted for them though. It might be seen as putting psychological pressure on them to reciprocate. It is a tricky issue.

I understand what you are saying. I will need to think how to word it.

I think it is polite to look at other people's links but you shouldn't feel pressured to vote for them unless you like them otherwise it negates the idea of curation.

"Don't post and run in the chat -try to review some of the other links too" - do you think that works?

I agree. Only vote on posts that interest you, not just for reciprocal votes.

I think your wording is good, but I would say it a little stronger, and explain why. If we're being honest, how many people actually go there to vote on posts without hoping for some votes in return. If those posting on the channel don't follow some links and vote, then who else will? Also, by interacting there, you can build some relationships and find people to follow.

I agree. I often find new material there. In some ways it is easier than checking on Steemit! Let me think on how to word it. Maybe add in something about supporting others - I'll sleep on it and see what I come up with.

Great, thanks :)

@thecryptofiend

  1. Don't re-steem everything you see

Exactly, only the ones others could pick up something from please - I follow some authors and sometimes there's too much resteemed articles I can't find theirs anymore and the sad part is -sometimes those authors have tastier articles to read than what they have resteemed.
Please add Don't straightforwardly ask for SD - I've experienced once.
I'm normally very generous with my upvotes because I have experienced the very same generosity from everybody so - I normally click 100% just to help a new author because I've walked that path - and it was discouraging to go on not to be noticed so I scour on posts of new authors and I am not the only one who does that - but when someone bluntly asks directly for SD - I wonder if it's just me but I really lost my appetite helping that author.
We do lurk in others wallet I suppose because that incident happen right after I've sent a few people SD not to bribe them but I have a crypto managing system and 10% of what I get - is alloted on my "give jar" which I learned from my mentor. I gave it to a few starting authors as a gift to encourage them but those certain authors have awesome posts and I got that on one of my post's comment thread.
P.S. I have been guilty of doing some of what you wrote ahahaha - cheeks turning red while reading them #1, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14 and maybe more

Loading...

kittens!!!! :-) (thank you for returning me to my former psychology) :-)

Lol. You can never have too many kittens:)

Awesome list! One suggestion is to clarify "Don't engage in tag spamming". A lot of people I have introduced to Steemit do it without knowing what 'tag spamming' is. I have to explain that you need to make sure your post is relevant to whatever tags you are using, for example only use "steemit" if your post is actually about something related to Steemit.

Thanks.

Yes it is clarified in the original post. For reasons of brevity I just put the main points from the original list. Once I have the new list finalised I can put them all together but it will be another massive post!

Here is the excerpt:

If your post does not directly relate to a particular tag you shouldn't be using it. A post about trumpets that just happens to have a photo of a trumpet in it should not be tagged with "photography", similarly a post discussing DASH is fine in "cryptocurrency" but should not be tagged with "ethereum". Tag spamming annoys people and rather than getting you extra upvotes is likely to get you a flag.

Ah, I see. Awesome! :)

I agree with all of these points. Steemit etiquette is basically a matter of commonsense. If you wouldn't be comfortable saying it to a co-worker then you probably shouldn't say it here. One thing I would add: after you post something, pay attention to comments and make an effort to respond to them. That shows people that you value their opinion and are appreciative that they chose to spend some of their valuable time commenting on your post. Ignoring comments or being unresponsive makes it seem like you don't care, and if someone feels ignored they are unlikely to try interacting with you again in the future.

Yes I definitely agree with that. That is why I put the "Don't post and run" in the original guide. Thanks for your commenting it really helps and is one of my favourite parts of posting:)

Ah, gotcha, I need to go back and read the original guide. Reading people's comments after I post is also one of my favorite parts. The whole back-and-forth community interaction is what really makes posting feel worthwhile.

I have noticed a few users making the kind of remarks on images of women that are quite immature and frankly I would expect from a 13 year old boy.

That needs examples cuz otherwise it's just making assumptions and is paternalism toward women.

I know I wouldn't want dudes to feel extra self-conscious or not comment on a post after knowledge of my gender. Personally I like immature humour and lewdness so long as it is done in the spirit of fun and comedy.

"Stalking" should be clearly defined as well. Or will it just default as a male posting on a females content five times a day, one times a day? everyday? The only definition I can think of stalking is one user asking another user to leave them alone and if they continue then it is stalking.

There was a particular user who was deliberately going after female members of the community in a distinctly unsavoury way.

As in threats and unwelcomed sexual comments?

Not paternalism at all IMO. If guys don't speak up and tell the immature among them their conduct sucks then they keep doing it. In my experience most immature males who engage in poor behaviour towards women don't care when they get told by a woman. In fact, they take it as a badge of honour.

It's one thing to make off-colour remarks to a woman who they know and can appreciate the humour and where it is coming from. It's quite another to make it to someone you don't know. Even within my circle of acquaintances there are guys who can make off-colour remarks and I will laugh without a second thought and there are others will make the same remark and I'll want to knock them into next week. In most cases, it has to do with their overall respect towards women that makes the difference on how the remark is received.

Some guys prefer negative attention from women over positive, definitely. that's another reason why it's such a bind women have for how to react. I like that post stephmackenzie wrote about violent reactions to men having their catcalls being rejected

It's not paternalism to stand up for a woman. Only if its decided for her what she should be offended by. I guess we all can experience the same 'damned if I do damned if I dont' feeling.

The bind women have for how to react is the conditioning they receive to just allow bad behaviour from males and not push back. The worst of it is that all too often it is other women who try to push that conditioning.

That is one of the main reasons so many males think they have a god given right to be disrespectful towards women, cause women aren't suppose to respond, at least in their little minds. That's unacceptable and other guys calling them out on their bad behaviour is the strongest approach to putting a stop to it.

How do you know that's what women think?

I will tell a guy off if he disrespects me in public just for the principle of it. But otherwise I'll just tell him he can go online and pay for a woman to talk shit to him cuz I ain't in the business for money so I aint gonna be in it for free

why wouldn't I know about the conditioning women receive? Have certainly observed enough of it happening.

That needs examples cuz otherwise it's just making assumptions and is paternalism toward women.

We will have to agree to disagree then.

I know I wouldn't want dudes to feel extra self-conscious or not comment on a post after knowledge of my gender. Personally I like immature humour and lewdness so long as it is done in the spirit of fun and comedy.

Looks like you defined it. I would think it obvious in most cases.

As in threats and unwelcomed sexual comments?

Yes.

Agree to disagree yes. More specifically I would not like someone flagging a response to my comments/posts for the reason that they would assume it 'offensive to women.' but I also can only speak for myself and not others

but the lewd-stalkerish types seem to seek out targets who they sense would become upset and offended...funny how it works. So I'm not meaning to imply I don't think people should condone any of those behaviors via tolerance

No that's fine and you are right. These kind of personality types get off on people responding so sometimes it is better not give them any attention. It's just in some cases they are so persistent and can make death threats and dox people which raises it to another level.

It's good you take it seriously because a lot of people don't then an abused person can be 'gaslighted'. "You're just over-reacting" type BS. I like to respect peoples varying sensitivities.

I think it is being conscious of the fact that you don't know everybody on here and you should use the same kind of politeness and sensitivity that you would in public.

I understand what you are saying. I think it depends on the situation and how well you know the people. Also I don't think you would get flagged simply for saying something that was mildly offensive. My point is we shouldn't make it a haven for sexism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61377.55
ETH 3432.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52