Feb 8 -- Steemit Ramble #69 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

Do you find that after writing on Steemit, you start to read even more both on and off Steemit than maybe you were before. I do and I thought I read a lot before. Most of the time, my mind is swirling about how what I’m reading could become fodder for a post on Steemit. It’s an addiction I tell you.

Well, after the raging ice yesterday we’re getting a beautiful sunny day today. Thankfully since I have a meeting this morning at the library and really didn’t want to have to deal with the ice any more than needed. Our volunteer on the bar today lives in the country so I need to be prepared for the possibility she wont get in as the country roads are often the last to be sanded.

Onward to today’s rambling

What is the Source of Troll Energy Online?

No matter how much we may try to avoid it, if we’re communicating online, we will encounter trolls. Either seeing one in action on a discussion thread or one trying to engage with you. This post of @hilarski’s carries some very good advice.

Curiosity is a Superpower

@alcibiades writes about the importance of remaining always curious about the world around us. Being curious keeps us out of a rut of just existing with nothing ever challenging us to continue to grow.

My one remaining uncle on my dad’s side has been a photography fan forever. He was in his 80s when the film companies announced they were going to stop producing films. My uncle didn’t let that slow him down. First, he bought a printer to print his photos on. Then he realized if he got a computer then he could actually play around with his photos before printing them. Once he got the computer, then he added the internet and Facebook. He even bought an iPad but didn’t get to use it, his 90 year old girlfriend has it. My uncle is now 95 and still enjoying his photography and computer. He didn’t stop being curious enough to learn.

Building & Evaluating The Value of Blockchain Communities

Steemit is a community that is more open for examination and evaluation than any other social media site you visit. It’s also a developing community that is not regulated by the founders, controls, norms, actions take place largely through consensus and discussion. Sometimes, heated opinionated discussion.

@kevinwong briefly explores the subject of building and evaluating blockchain communities. Interesting take away from this post is that when we see conflict arise on the platform, many cringe and feel that it is holding the site back. The fact is, activity actually picks up. So, don’t go out looking for a fight to start, but don’t get too worried when they do happen.

SteemTrail Daily - @instructor2121 Interview Wednesday, February 8th, 2017

I’ve been a supporter of the SteemTrail program since its inception even though I’ve not been as involved as I would like due to time constrictions, I will do what I can to support it. Today’s Steem Trail Daily, which is a new publication coming from them, the guy who leads the project, @Instructor2121 is interviewed about the project and Steemit. I’ve said this before that I think that @instructor212 is one of the many hardworking and very unassuming individuals who work hard to support the platform.

The CIA of Steemit - A sit in with a group of very serious UPVOTERS on Steemit!

A little different perspective on Steemtrail is provided by @fyrstikken from his visit to one of the daily hangouts. @fyrstikken operates the Steemspeak channel on Discord where just about anything gets talked about every day, all day.

Poor thinking skills linked to higher chances of heart attack & stroke

While the actually subject of the headline is further down in the article, this post is rather interesting about strokes and how they effect the body.

In the flow. Friends, steemspeak, voice chat, community.

Steemit isn’t just about the posts, it is also about the community and how it functions. The chat areas like Discord and Steem Chat are areas where members of the community come together to work on the growth of the platform or just to socialize. @seablue captures his experiences in the chats.

We must understand that Steemit is a project to long term

I rather expect that English is not @luisucv34’s first language but, it doesn’t need to be to get the message from what he has written. Steemit is a long-term investment of time, talent and treasure. We are the early adopters who will later reap the benefits of being here early but, to do so, it takes patience and faith.

I remember looking at both Facebook and Twitter when they first started and writing them off as projects going no where. Having learned from that, I took a different view and a more open mind with Steemit. Yesterday, I sent a young friend to the site to have a look at it. She does some great photography and sketching and I’m encouraging her to share her work on here. I loved her response after looking at the site. “Is this ever cool!”

[Observation] - Do you consider yourself a survivor?

I am a survivor. I don’t consider myself a survivor by choice. Some crap happened in my life and I did survive it but I have always believed that my greatest victory over that crap is to not just survive but to thrive and succeed. @sebastianjago is talking about that attitude in this post. Well worth the read and consideration even if you haven’t survived crap, but then, who hasn’t?

How to improve your emotional intelligence - Part 3

@giantbear writes an interesting third part to a series on emotional intelligence. If you’ve missed the first two, the links are at the top of the post to catchup. I have a tendency to shoot from the hip and often find that I need to work on that tendency when dealing with people. I’ve had some success over the years in tempering it. Some people think I never temper it, others have watched me and realized that I do a lot more than people give me credit for.

Wrap-up on Day #69

Always interesting and varied material to read on Steemit. Some days take a bit longer to find them than others. But then, my idea of interesting and varied might not be the same as someone else’s.

The volunteer made it in today which I was glad of. That allowed me to carry on with my day. Tomorrow morning I have yet another meeting and some errands to do for the branch then I can get back to working on the Ramble for tomorrow.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Very informative. I agree about reading even more than before,and keeping alert for Steemit post ideas. Ivor@90

Yeah, it's great.. given me a whole new lease on writing.

Very good as always dear friend @shadowspub
Congratulations to all of you

I'll be looking forward to more steemit rambles.

thank you for your kind words @seablue

Thanks for sharing your choices! As a relative newcomer, I am still spending a lot of time clicking randomly to find interesting and good quality content... posts like this really help!

That is good to hear @denmarkguy .. I am trying to do a daily ... miss some days but life is like that sometimes. I've followed you.

Color me old-fashioned, but I just like the idea of content curated by a real HUMAN-- that's how communities are built.

there are a lot of humans on Steemit doing curation. Have you met up with Steemtrails yet?

Excellent choices as always. Thanks for the mention! Off to read couple of these I missed.

thank you for your kind words. Hope you enjoy the ones you previously missed

Awesome - thanks for the feature! Checking the others out too :)

You're welcome @kevinwong .. hope you enjoyed the others.

Appreciate the acknowledgment. :) Great concept you have here and the support we express amongst our peers is what will make Steemit a strong community. Thank you!

yes I agree with you. Gives me a reason to read and upvote along with a chance to share good writings. WIN WIN

Really appreciate you doing this process, to help point out good posts to read. There is SO much to try to keep up with on here, particularly if also trying to put out original content and comment as well. Not enough time in a day. I better get to reading.

yes, it can difficult finding balance between reading/upvoting and finding time to prepare and post content. It will come as you keep finding your way.

How could I miss your great serial and not follow you until now - following now @shadowspub - great selection!

thank you @uwelang, I've follwed you back

thanks mate - appreciated, you made me jump over the 200 followers mark @shadowspub

congratulations.. keep on Steeming to the next milestone :)

cheers, happy to have now 62 rep and 700 SP - need more - working on it - am just active again since 4 weeks so happy with it - started some curation trails

I know ... and good luck on them. Activity will bring growth .. least the more active I am the more I grow

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46