What is the Source of Troll Energy Online?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

We All Watch in Amazement as Trolls Seem To Make Life Online Miserable and Steemit is No Different.

Trolls are a Species of Internet User that Frankly is a Byproduct of Our Society.

  1. Trolls are everywhere online.
  2. They enjoy what they do.
  3. They are infectious.
  4. They crave your attention.
  5. They have no desire for peace.

Engaging Trolls Online is Internet Suicide.

I cringe every time someone decides they want to fight a troll. The majority of trolls hide behind fake profiles. So what are you arguing with? What is the end goal in your actions against the trolls? It is similar to fighting in a fixed battle formation when your enemy is a group of partisans. Ask Russia and the USA how well they have done in their wars in Afghanistan. How about the Drug War? You can't win something that does not have fixed rules!

This is How You Look When You Engage a Troll Online.

The Reason I Just Have Fun with Trolls Online.

It is a battle that can never be won. Once you think you have defeated one, two more will pop up and your time will be spent fighting ghosts. Feeding trolls only causes your blood pressure to rise and you have less time to be awesome.

People Don't Have to Listen to Me, but You Have Been Warned.

Come chat me up in a few years and let me know all about the Troll battles you won and how they added value to your life. Stop being their fuel and they will move onto other targets.

Sort:  

DFTT - Don't Feed the Troll. I have tried to live by this for many years. Time is precious, don't waste it when you don't need to :)

It is a fruitless endeavor that only leads to headaches.

I would amend that to, "Only feed trolls if the entertainment value exceeds the frustration level."

They are legion. I wouldn't bother.

We will not cease to curate until they disappear!

but they continue to attack, I wonder have they singled us out or are they flagging everybody?

Great article, great advice that works. Thanks, I love what you bring to Steemit!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

What is the source of troll energy? I always thought it was Cheetos and Mountain Dew. I think I saw that somewhere on TV.

Mountain Dew? Now that is something I have not had in a while. Could you FedEx me some ; )

I don't have any.

Wait a minute...

Are you implying that I'm a troll?!

Bwahahaha, I think we both secretly are.

Plain and simple, "Don't Feed The Trolls." Of course, it doesn't keep me from occasionally messing with their heads, if I'm not busy-- usually sending my own version of dada-inspired poetry their way. That probably makes me a troll, too...

As long as it is in good fun returning the favor can be fulfilling.

Responding to trolling just feeds the flames. Trolling is symptomatic of a need for attention. It is the modern equivalent of the heavy breather callers of yesteryear.


Hi @hilarski, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.79 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

My mother always taught me " Dont argue with stupid people because they will always win because stupid people are one tracked minded and cant see the bigger picture because stupid people have the time to argue you dont " So i dont even get into arguments online not worth the brain cells.... lol Nice Post thanks for the read

Trolling is beneficial and serves a tremendously useful role in society and online discourse. It's not just "people being mean on the internet".

It is a meaningful application of the modern form of the Socratic method.

It has become popular to categorize anyone who disagrees or argues online as "trolling" or "a troll". Trolling is something very specific, and it's not just simply being mean. Many seem to get this wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45