In the flow. Friends, steemspeak, voice chat, community.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I'm going to take a leaf out of @craig-grant's book and get into some flow.

This week, behind the scenes I've been spending a lot of time in @steemspeak channel on Discord. It is a fun place to hang out. I enjoy listening to @fyrstikken. Fyrstikken is the creator of the channel and an interesting character. He has had many and varied life experiences. I enjoy when he feels inclined to share them.

Humor is always a fun way to pass the time and along with Fyrstikken, their are many people in the channel that enjoy amusing other participants. I've crowned @inertia as the 'Meme King' as his skill level on giphy.com and memegenerator.net are legendary.

Not everything is about humor in Steemspeak, though. There is some wisdom spread around by way of steemspeak participants, who are traders, developers, musicians, photographers, writers, poets, philosophers and many more.

I have some affection for @mughat, who is Ayn Rand's equivalent of the Apostle Paul. His level of immersion in objectivism is deep. I enjoy the way are philosophical roots both clash and coincide in interesting ways.

I wear with pride the titles of 'mystic', 'moocher', 'thief' and 'slacker' which he has bestowed upon me. Each is a jewel in my crown, as defender of my confused philosophy, a hybrid of Kierkegaardian existential mysticism and Peterson's religio-pragmatic Darwinism. I am an affront to all things reasonable.

Steemspeak is also just one of a number of different chat channels on Discord. I also spend time on Steem Trail, where I attend to my curation duties for the #humor-trail. Here, in conjunction with @nikflossus, I'm attempting to find the best original humor content on Steemit, by both recognised and undiscovered talent. There are a lot of great content authors trying their hand at humor, and I'm excited by their efforts.

Along with hanging out on voice chat and curating posts, I've linked up with a talented pair of Steemians, who are producing a podcast called Voices of the Underground. (V.O.T.U).

V.O.T.U is hosted by @sirlunchthehost and @beanz, who have serendipitously been drawn together in this collaborative endeavor. Through an accident of birth and cultural heritage, I possess an accent that appeals to the ear of the conquerors of North America. This fluke of fate has given me the honor of being invited to participate in this podcast.

I dive headfirst, into each episode, excited to use my skills, that I develop through my local Toastmasters club. I knew when I joined Toastmasters I was opening up new opportunities for public speaking, but I never imagined that podcasting would be the expression of that opportunity.

I'd describe 'my flow' this week as challenging, educational, entertaining and thought provoking. As I have brought the week into focus in this moment, I'm filled with gratitude for the opportunity that Steemit has presented for me. All things are possible for those who believe. That's my flow....

To quote a line from a song by Timbuk3, "The Future's So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades".

Please upvote, resteem and follow! Additionally, enjoy my fractal fascinator below. The image is free for use and redistribution.

"Tendrils"

Tendrils

Sort:  

you have a way with big words :)

Yes. I have a love of the English language. I like to find the exact word that defines my thoughts. My grammar and sentence structure on the other hand, is awful.

Always enjoying your 'flow' sir. ;-)

conquers of North America? .. Canada didn't have to be conquered. We just formed the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and sent them west. All just bowed in their path cause they always get their man. :)


Hi @seablue, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

That was an enjoyable read. Thanks for sharing @shadowspub.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48