Feb 19 -- Steemit Ramble #73 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

It’s a holiday in Ontario this weekend, not that it makes much difference to me. My schedule remains the same. I have today to myself but tomorrow I will be on a volunteer shift on the bar.

Hardfork 17 is tentatively set for a release date of March 7th. As usual, there has been a lot of debate about some of the changes that are taking place in the HF, but in the end, we wont know what impact is going to happen until the changes are in effect and we see how they work out.

Onward to today’s rambling

Vitamin D reduces the risk of respiratory infections disease!

@the-future writes about a report from British researchers which has concluded that Vitamin D can help reduce the risk of respiratory infections along with a host of other benefits. Not everyone pays attention to the importance of nutrients in getting and keep our health. When the foundations are good, the immune system can work to do its job and help to keep us healthier.

Writing in the Age of Distractions

Distraction is so much a way of life these days, it is hard to believe sometimes we can actually get our work completed. How often I’ve set out to do a short list of tasks in a day and found myself at the end of the day wondering why I didn’t get them done. Without a doubt, I’ve allowed distractions to interject themselves into my plans.

@irenepsmith writes about ways to get the writing done despite distractions demanding our attention.

A $35,000 Experiment

@humanearl reflects on the money that was spent on his formal education in subjects he really didn’t want but were more acceptable to his family than what he really wanted. Most of us who care at all about doing what we really want in life instead of what just gets us by can relate to the thoughts he has on the topic. I’m just now, in the last part of my life, pursuing what I’ve always wanted instead of just ‘doing something’.

200 Social Quote 6, Wandering

Further along the path of finding your own path, @hilarski shares some of his journey and struggles before taking the leap and following his own chosen path rather than plodding along one that was expected of him.

Self-Criticism is Essential

I have a friend who could have been anything she wanted to be. She has some amazing abilities that I’ve observed. When I bring them to her attention, her usual response is “well it’s not rocket science”, meaning if she can do it, can’t be difficult.

She’s practices self-criticism but forgot the part where she learns from it and then moves forward. She’s allowed it to hold her back from any sense of self-worth and valuing her abilities. @mendezand writes about why self-criticism is essential in our lives and also why it needs to be part of us moving forward in life.

From Moonlight to Sunlight (Original Photos in Sequence)

@etcmike has done an interesting set of photos. The pictures at first glance are all the same BUT what he’s done is a time elapse set of photos of a sunrise. You can literally watch the sky lighten up as you scroll through the pictures.

Last Day

Kids, you never know what they are going to come out with next. Their view on life hasn’t been formed like ours and there is a raw honesty to what they come out with. There are times they come out with remarks that just leave you wondering what you forgot or put out of your mind as you grew up? This story is one of those times.

STEEMIT HARDFORK 17 PROPOSALS FOR REGULAR PEOPLE

As I mentioned earlier, there is a hardfork tentatively scheduled for release on March 7th. @stellabelle provides us with an easy to understand outline of what changes we can expect in the hardfork.

Immortality...what would I do with it

Ah, if we could live forever. Have you ever mused about what you’d do with your life if you could live for eternity? @onthewayout has done so and shares that with us along with the recognition of some potential problems with living through eternity.

Dispelling the Myth of the "Sad Zoo Animal"

There is a lot of controversy around about zoos and the housing of wildlife in them. @herpetologyguy writes an interesting post addressing some of the arguments. I don’t feel strongly either way in regards to zoos other than considering that in the future it may be the only way some species survive between them being killed for sport and dying as the result of their climate and environment changing.

Wrap-up on Day #74

I really love days when I can just settle into the house and do what I want. Unfortunately, those days tend to be so rare that I usually have more want than day.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.14 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow what a great idea and so helpful because we all do miss a lot of great posts. THANK YOU! I am following you.
006.gif

thank you and cute animation :)

It's an honor to be on your list.

😸

I like viewing your post daily.

thank you ... always appreciate hearing feedback

Thanks for mentioning my post. I'm glad that people can relate to it.

Thank you! It is an honor to have my post recognized in your well written post!

Steem on,
Mike

My pleasure, your post was well written so I very much appreciate your input.

I appreciate your work and I'm glad to see my name on your post! Have a great time @shadowspub!

thank you... I have fun doing them even if they do take a lot of time to put them together.

I feel you man because it's the same for me too!

I really appreciate the time you take to help the community. Thankful, regards.

thank you for your kind words and keep up your good work.

Thanks again for sharing some really excellent content! I really appreciate all the effort you put into creating a better community for everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62