Last Day

in #life7 years ago

I must share some funny family moments. A few evenings ago, we were eating dinner and, of course, the toddler steals the show. I adore her view on different situations and life. The age of three seems to be a magical time in life: a conglomeration of the here and there; is and isn't; now, then and future; fantasy and real life. Following is the conversation between my granddaughter (Kyla - 3yo) and her mother (my daughter), Bailey...

Kyla (out of the blue), “Hello, Your Majesty,” and holds her hand out to shake with Bailey.

Bailey, “Hello, I don't think we've met,” shaking Kyla's hand.

“Yes, we met before.”

“When?”

Kyla, “The last time I was a kid.”

I lost it. Snorting, laughing and trying to catch my breath, I attempted at some sort of dignity, but failed miserably.

My daughter didn't miss a beat, she asked, “And when was this?”

“Last day.” Was the response.

My daughter tried to discern the meaning of “Last Day,” but Kyla simply responded with, “You know, mommy, Last Day! Remember Last Day?” Unfortunately, by this time, 'Last Day” was of no importance to Kyla, and she moved onto something else entirely.

However, I was transported to a time when I was raising my own children...

It's a long transport...many ages ago (according to my granddaughter, I'm ancient, LOL) ...
…still transporting
... (humming a song)...
…we're getting there...

< slowly, the picture of the inside of a small truck with three occupants comes into focus. We see this from the driver's point of view> ...

I remember driving somewhere with my two children. We were likely on the way to day care (Bailey), school (Brian) and work (me); for, if memory serves me correctly, this was in the morning. Brian was the approximate age of 12 and Bailey approximately three (about the same age of Kyla in the present). I'm sure this was in the morning because the conversation, upon which I would have loved to have elaborated, was truncated because we reached the first of our destinations (day care).

< Mind you, no seat belt law was in effect, nor was a car seat law was imposed at the time. However, my children were buckled in safely. I was NOT one of those parents who allowed children to jump about the vehicle!>

Shortly before reaching the day care, Brian asked if he could drive. My response, was, “Not right now, dear; we are on main streets. We must do that in a parking lot or on private streets.”

< Background: Occasionally, I would allow my son to sit in my lap and steer the vehicle as well as try the pedals in an attempt to introduce him to driving – just as my parents did when I was young. Learning to drive on while dodging trees, alligators, wild boar, deer, armadillo, and lakes is how I learned to drive. Teaching my children in the city proved more of a challenge, but deserted parking lots and private roads seemed to do the trick.>

Anyway, I postponed my son's request to drive on public roads. My toddler daughter seemed affronted that I would not allow her brother to drive. She came to his defense. I could hear the complete indignation in her voice... she huffed, “Well! When I was my brother's age, I could drive!” She crossed her arms as if it were a matter of fact and set her jaw, (mind you, she is 9 years younger than her brother).

I don't know how I maintained any sort of composure. Auto-pilot must have sensed the emergency and kicked in because I didn't have an accident (auto or of any other sort). I had absolutely nothing to say. I didn't know how, um… couldn't, um… I was at a loss.

How does one respond to this? My son's jaw was just about on the floorboard by now and he was, also, too stunned to respond!

Trying desperately not to laugh, I asked, “And when was this?” (the same question my daughter asked of my granddaughter the other evening!)

With the demeanor of one with absolute certainty, and without blinking an eye, the 3-year-old Bailey's reply was, “Last day, before you were his age.” (referring to Brian).

Wow!

When was “Last day?”

I would have loved to have continued the conversation with my daughter, but because of the time constraints of the traditional world at the time, this was impossible. I remember trying to revisit the situation with her that evening, but nothing came of it. The moment was gone.

What is is about the age of three, when we remember Last Day, and we did the (what currently seems) impossible? I wonder, is there more than meets the eye of this world (and others)? My brain, with all I have learned tells me 'this is just the words of a 3-year-old.' The wings of my heart tell me to look further, however.

Call me a dreamer. Are the words of children, whose hearts and minds have not been closed by traditional teachings to be dismissed so easily? Are these just the exigent desires of a hopeless romantic and optimist? I hope not.

Regardless of the questions and the lack of answers, I am left with one of those greater than life memories, and I'm good with that. The other evening was another one of the 'greater-than-life' memories. I simply had to share!

Please, feel free to share one of your 'greater-than-life' memories of your kids or grand-kids. I would love to read them.

Photo Credit: mindzette.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/reach_for_the_stars_by_pridescrossing-d4qp4co.jpg

Sort:  


Hi @moondancer762, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Thank you, @shadowspub! I'm very glad you enjoyed it. As a single parent, I was very close to my two children and I listened to them. I feel children have a unique and natural (non-conditioned) perception of the ordinary; to them the ordinary is extraordinary! Often, their off-handed remarks made me think and question the status quo.

Keep checking back; I like to post about (what I think may be) thought-provoking or uplifting life experiences.

Again, thanks for the mention.

Kids can be fascinating with what they come out with. That is for sure and each child is unique

Wonderful! Children and their Children make amazing stories.Thanks for posting.

awesome stories, you make me remember a lot of things in my life.

< smiling> I'm glad I can give that to you. I loved being a parent, and I now love being a grandparent.
Stop by occasionally, I like to post about uplifting and what I feel are thought-provoking life experiences. Share some of yours, I would love to read them!

I loved this...great post!

and thanks to @shadowspub for highlighting this so I caught it.

Thanks, @sykochica! I'm so glad you liked it. Raising my kids was the most important part of my younger life. If it weren't for the fact I now have grandchildren, I would have wished it never ended - well, almost, LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00