Immortality...what would I do with it

in #writing7 years ago

This is not a profound philosophical reflection of the human condition. After all how can I temporal being such as myself even grasp the concept of eternity?

No, this is just a "mundane" list of things that I would do if I just had the time.

The first thing that I would do is to search for someone to share my life with. What would be the point of living if there is no one there to share it with?

I would probably learn different languages. That way I can travel to different places and communicate with other human beings.

After going around the world I will settle down in some quite an peaceful place. I would read a lot. Having a small garden is probably a good idea. I like to see things grow.

Assuming humanity doesn't go extinct I will dedicate myself to the study of nature, mathematics, society, biology (after all I am immortal and I have the time). I like to know how things work.

Eventually the Sun is going to destroy Earth. Assuming humanity doesn't do it first we will needs plan to move.

We are going to need plans to relocate to another star system. If we can find a red dwarf with a habitable planet that will be great (those can last trillions of years...compared to billions that a Sun-like star can live).

Of course even red dwarfs will die off. That could be a problem. We are going to need to find a way to harvest the Hawking radiation from black holes.

After eons black holes will vanish. At the very end of time it's going to be tough to make a living.

I guess I can't live forever after all.

Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

Instead of asking "what would I do?", I ask, "what wouldn't I do?"
Eternity is rather ambitious. I started by trying to puzzle out how I would change and how human society will change over the course of the next 300 years. This more comprehensible, and makes a good staging point to my next stop at 35,000 years, from there to beyond all possibility of being recognizably human. Across tens of billions of years, sustaining a focused conscious awareness may be beyond the physics of the system as entropy degrades the quantum flux.

It is still unclear to me, that heat death of the universe is certain. I would like to be there to witness it.

With time on your side you could do anything. One difficulty in living "forever" would be that at some point you would know everything that can be known, Then what?
Another issue is that we are social beings. For life to make sense we need other human beings but humanity will evolve into something else. At that stage we will be aliens and there will be no humanity to interact with.
If the heat death of the universe does happen it's probably going t be anti-climatic. I am not sure that there would be much to look at but I could be wrong. Given the fact that our understanding of the universe is likely to be rudimentary we may see that things turn out totally different.

I'm not sure I'd know everything, at once. I forget things I learned last week, not everything, but things I'm not using.

Being alone for a trillion years would be something a very few could handle, but if I could figure out how to live "forever", I'm sure I could figure out how to take others with me. Eternity-mates. they would be.


Hi @onthewayout, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66