Dec 9 -- Steemit Ramble #48 -- Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago

People really can’t be any more diverse can they? If you read yesterday’s post, you’ll know that I’m deeply involved in running a Christmas food hamper program for the community. In this county, most of the groups work together to share information and try to avoid duplication.

The Salvation Army in a nearby centre tends to function as the central hub. We cover the local township and another church group overlaps into the township. Yesterday the Salvation Army sent out their list so we could check to see if there was overlap. Four names showed up on my list and I let the SA know. Seems that three of those names also showed up on the church group list.

People making the rounds to get more than their share of other people’s generosity. On the other side of the coin, I’ve had two calls providing me with names of families who desperately need help and wont ask. We sure see a range of people and attitudes in this program.

Onward to today’s rambling

Believing too much: In defence of credulity

@churdtzu writes about the tendency often seen when someone posts about a topic without widespread support. Some will give the post consideration and will objectively examine the content. Others will claim empirical truth and tear the person down. I’ve seen this often as I’ve explored around Steemit and other sites. I often will respond at a gut level on topics I disagree with, but usually try to pull myself back enough to either consider the arguments put forth and respond fairly or just move on.

Elon Musk Foresees us Adopting Some Form of Universal Basic Income

An interesting post on the concept of a basic income and Elon Musk’s perspective on the likelihood that we’ll move in that direction. It is a concept that is gaining attention in many places around the world. The basic idea is to establish a minimum income that all low income earners receive and it replaces many of the social safety net programs currently in existence. It is being tried in some places. Two Canadian provinces are planning test runs, Ontario and Prince Edward Island.

Finley

@starrkravenmaf posts some interesting photo shots from his area. The colourings in the picture are very interesting.

On Forbidden Knowledge, 9-11, and the 'Law of Attraction'

An interesting collection of reading material if you’re interested in the power of our minds in shaping our lives. I’ve found some thought provoking reading in that area over the years. It’s not something we’re taught from a young age so it becomes challenging to wrap my head around the concepts the readings present.

Forgotten Fairytales – Mischievous children go to Mrs. Gertude

Not your average fairy tale. A quick read with an unexpected ending.

New to Steemit? Wondering what it’s all about? Need a bit of a hand?

@trevor.george writes an excellent post on people and places to check out if you’re new to the platform. Always good to explore while forming an opinion of the place.

Steemit Person of the Year Nominations - Vote and nominate your choices

Even though Steemit isn’t yet a year old, @virtualgrowth has taken the initiative to put a Steemit Person of the Year award process in motion. In a way, it is a perfect way to end this calendar year. The platform has been through some ups and downs in just the last four months. It’s a good idea to identify and give some recognition to those who worked hard for it even in the face of adversity. That is a sign of total faith in the future.

So, stop over to this post and vote for your favourite hard working Steemians.

Before & After #3 - Step by step photo editing tutorial with pictures

@kristylynn has done a great tutorial on how to bring out the best in a photo to get the effects you want. I have never used Photoshop but have been a long time fan of Corel’s PaintShop Pro. You can do pretty well all of what she’s done here with Photoshop in PSP, and it’s a fraction of the cost.

Top 5 things I have learned from trading as a noobie to becoming an amateur using Bitshares & Poloniex

On another learning note, @ballinconscious has written about the basics and the differences of trading on Poloniex vs Bitshares. I would never have even looked at the possibility of trading without being on Steemit and I think that goes for a lot of people. It’s really interesting how offering creatives an opportunity to earn in a cryptocurrency sparks curiousity about trading.

Wrap-up on Day 48

Some interesting posts today. Always something interesting to find on Steemit. There are a lot of posts I read and they are okay but just not enough to make it into this list.

I’ve been exploring some of what I want to do in 2017 recently. Canada will celebrate 150 years since it became the Dominion of Canada in 2017. I’ve been sitting on a local planning committee for our celebrations. That has sparked me to think about the 150th while doing my planning.

I’m working on compiling a list of ‘things Canadian’, they can be small things or big but together they make us who we are. I’m thinking of doing a series on here. My first goal is to get 150 items on the list. Interested?

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Mmm, Cool post point out good stuff your read. Thanks for the shout out! Upvoted!

thank you .. you're very kind.

Thank you for doing this Steemit Ramble-- I feel honored that you shared my article, it's quite a compliment. I'm amazed at the diversity here, and the quality presentations, but the community support found on Steemit is a great example of the new Earth that I've been imagining!

I find I spend most of my time on Steemit.. well most of my online time. There is a wide diversity. It's going to be very interesting seeing where the future takes the platform and what springs up from it.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks for the mention! I'll check out a few of the others too

Aww, you missed the @steempowertwins I wrote about. :) They're gonna be the face of steemit, you'll see.. :)

I didn't come across anything they had written. Why are they going to be the face of Steem?

Look at my latest blog post written yesterday. You know the girls at car shows, or comicon. These ones are that kind of concept, but they're more appropriately dressed is all..

I never go to car shows or comicon lol oops

Gee, that's a really nice way of giving affirmation to other posters....and helpful to some of us who didn't see those particular posts. Thanks.

thank you for your kind words @countrygirl. Part of my goal is to help shed light on posts I really liked so that others can see them if they missed them.

I look forward to seeing more...thank you and all the best with this project.

Steem_Land Steem_Land tweeted @ 10 Dec 2016 - 19:54 UTC

Dec 9 - Steemit Ramble #48 - Don't You Hate it When You Miss Good Posts?

steemit.com/curation/@shad… / https://t.co/Mu4dGRcxWn

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Thanks for mentioning me! Just one thing I did the tutorial in Lightroom not photoshop but I will do some in photoshop too! Thanks again :)

oops.. how did I miss that detail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48