The Fiber Ramble - May 4

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I hope everyone has had a good week.

I've put aside the sweater. It's not going in the projects from hell box but I'm taking a break to start something exciting. Do you remember that beautiful Orchid Malabrigo wool I purchased? I've decided it needs to become a sweet dress and hat for my soon to be granddaughter. I will post on that later.

Congratulations to @earthmother, @vliet and @carolinacardoza for winning the #ultimatecrochetcontest! I look forward to @foxyspirit and @anjkara's next contest. What a great way to get to know fellow crocheters!


Onward to today’s rambling

My latest creation with pain management properties...

I found a soaper!! @sloppysoap is new to Steem and the first thing she posts about is her soap! I believe we will see some great content from @sloppysoap as she finds her way here. Please go give this new Steemian some love and encouragement.

Sashiko sewing order and color changing technique.

The first time I stumbled across Sashiko I marvelled at its beautiful simplicity. @naomipangolin has written an excellent tutorial with many clear photos and lots of detail. I can't wait to try it! Thank you @naomipangolin!

How to Make a Single Crochet stitch

For those of you looking to learn to crochet @carovargasv has started a series of videos you won't want to miss. This video features the MAIN stitch.... the single crochet. Have fun!

How to Crochet with Sheruknitting

@sheruknitting has created videos about MANY different forms of crochet. The links in her post take you way from Steem but it's worth the trip.

#NeedleworkMonday... Custom Jeans Upcycle Part 1

I've always enjoyed seeing how people repair and/or alter their jeans. There are so many creative things you can do with a simple pair of jeans. In part 1 of her series @borrowedearth takes us through her process of creating "decked out" jeans. These are really fun @borrowedearth.

Cases For Smiles - Charity Spotlight - Sewing Pillowcases for Hospitalized Children

@apanamamama is sewing beautiful bright pillow cases to bring smiles to kids in the hospital. It's a worthy charity called "Cases for Smiles" and @apanamamama has made it easy to help by providing an excellent tutorial, contact link and an informative video. Let's do what we do best and show some love! Thank you @apanamamama.

1st Irish Crochet Project - 5 Lessons Learned

Irish crochet has always fascinated me and I've made a few small pieces. It can be daunting to think about making a garment but @vliet has shared five thoughtful things she's learned about Irish Crochet. As well as several useful tips. Thank you @vliet.

Sunsets Rock! ( Latest stone art)

I first saw @poeticsnake's painted rocks at the Creatives' Coffee Hour on Monday and I was dazzled. Such a multi-talented Lady! Snekky (@poeticsnake) has shared with us how she painted a sunset scene and made it look easy. It's well written, detailed post. Thanks Snekky!

Origami lessons – The Tetrahedron ::

@holgerwerner works at a school where they teach Origami to the children. It's calming and helps them focus. This post is detailed with photos clearly showing each step to build our own tetrahedron. I'm definitely going to try this! Thanks @holgerwerner!

My evolving glass art work

@firemtnglass is another new Steemian who I believe will have much to contribute to our community. @firemtnglass is passionate about working with glass and it shows. Enjoy the eye candy and show some love. Welcome to Steem @firemtnglass!

Until next time friends...


Join the Fiberartists Curation Trail

If you’d like to be part of supporting the posts that I curate, you can join my curation trail. What that means is if you are part of the trail, when I vote on a quality post, your votes will automatically follow me. The trail name is Fiberartists.

You’ll need to sign up at SteemAutoand I’d recommend you use SteemConnect when asked to give voting rights. That makes sure your keys are safe.

Once registered, the link to the curation trail is right here. You can set the percentage of vote you wish to use in the settings once you join the trail.

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the posts that I sift through each time I sit down to do the Fiber Ramble, I think it is time to give you, the Fiber Artists, an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Fiber Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

fiber ramble

Creatives Coffee Hour

Join in on the fun! Come to the Creatives Coffee Hour, Mondays @1pm edt on the Steemit Ramble Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

Upped and Resteemed! Great project! Thanks for mentioning my post!

You're welcome!

Thanks so much for the shout out! I had no idea how active people were on this network. Love it!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #126 (5/6/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

you find the BEST posts! this has to take you forever! Thank you!

it does take some time! Thanks Snook!!

I am so sorry I have missed it this week, life happened and I was not home at that hour. I am looking forward to next one and chatting with you again 💚💚💚

No worries. You were missed....GRIN. Hope all is well.

You might not think an old man like me would even care about a sewing method or a needles stitch but that would be totally wrong. My mother was big into sewing and knitting and I actually learned to knit when I was seven, I haven't done any since I was ten though.
I like to see what people can create with their own hands and with two young daughters that are pretty crafty I've come across some projects for them through your ramble so look for me more checking in around here.
Now I have to run, take care and congratulations to all who made the ramble this week.

That's great!! Everybody needs to be able to sew on a button. GRIN. I love it when Moms teach their sons needle arts. My brother used to hang out in the home economics room ....you know...just in case the sewing machine needed to fixed. wink Thanks for coming by!

Knit one, then pearl two, knit one, then pearl two or is it purl two? I remember the sequence just not the spelling.

Thank you so much for featuring my post @fiberartists ! It's a real honor to be mentioned among such a creative lot!

You're welcome...you earned it!

Great work on the curation post, I do the one for the @asapers and it's challenging to find the time to do it all, I commend you on a fantastic selection and job. Thanks for helping out others and paying it forward.

Thanks for your kind words! I wasn't aware of the @asapers but I am now! If we help each other we can accomplish great things! Thanks for coming by.

Hey, thanks for mentioning the contest. We are working up a post right now to introduce the plans for more contest, waiting on @anjkara to get back to me to finalize the last few bits. Wanting it to be a good thing for everyone :)

It's all in the details! You're very welcome....I love that this community is growing and your contests will be a great part of that. Thanks!

here is the link to the announcement :)

https://steemit.com/ultimatecrochet/@foxyspirit/ultimate-crochet-contest-everyone-wins

Hopefully this contest can help make it grow even more :)

Thanks so much for including Cases For Smiles! I I was really wanting to get the word out about them! They're a great organization! :) Happy to be added to the curation!

You're welcome! I think Cases for Smiles is an excellent initiative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28