My evolving glass art work

in #glass6 years ago

Hey Everyone,

It was suggested that I spend a bit more time illustrating what I do for a living glass blowing.

In just a few moments of touching a torch and melting this wonderful substance I was hooked forever. What an amazing substance one of the hardest materials yet it behaves like honey when heated, its optical qualities are like nothing that I know of.

My journey began a few years ago and this year I decided to dive into a full time career making things out of glass.

Here are a few things,
Glass Chess set, this was my first ever.
IMG_0119.JPG

IMG_1917.JPG An Oscar the grouch tea cup

A glass, yes it looks simple but it is not an easy task. IMG_2053.JPG

I am intrigued by cups and drinking vessels at the moment but my skills are not where they needed to be in order to make high quality products consistently. Which leads me to my current undertaking, what I like to call the path of 1000 spoons. Something that will sell easily and should help me gain the fundamental muscle memory and understanding to move to this next project of making drinking vessels.

Bucket O' Spoons
IMG_2099.JPG
Yes that is literally a bucket of spoons

If you made it this far down the page, thank you. I look forward to the future as this super challenging and rewarding journey continues. Stay tuned!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @firemtnglass.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

That chess set is masterful! I saw your worms and your Jabba the Hut piece as well, you do really creative work.

You are so talented - love each piece you have made. Glass blowing looks so intense and it is wonderful to see someone doing it. Great post!


Hi @firemtnglass, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Mondays for Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Fiberartists on Discord or view it live on the Steem Star Network.

What an amazing art form! I can't imagine how much there is to learn about every aspect of glass work but it looks like you are well on your way! I poked around your blog a bit and was impressed by your creativity! Welcome to Steem. I'm looking forward to seeing more of your work.


Welcome to Steemit @firemtnglass!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello firemtnglass! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37