Beginning of a new journey

in #cryptocurrencies7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers,

I did it, I created a Steemit account and I’m now officially one of you! I’m a 37 year old (Dutch) father, husband, front-end developer & gamer with a lot of new things going on in my life.

One of those things: cryptocurrencies. Last year I had a nice goodbye dinner with my ex-colleagues. Someone told me about Etherium and that he was going to invest in it. I heard of Bitcoin before but Etherium was new for me. He was convinced investing was a great opportunity but I was just about to start working for another company so my focus was elsewhere and I didn’t follow up.

Recently Etherium was world wide news and I thought about the conversation. I was up for something new in my life and so I read up about cryptocurrencies & blockchain...

WOW, a lot of information, but very interesting. What really helped me grasp the concept was the TED talk  The future will be decentralized | Charles Hoskinson.

So I bought some Bitcoin, Ether and other altcoins and became familiar with Steemit.  Now I just want to get more information on Steemit and share knowledge of things I know and experienced on multiple subjects.  

 I hope you'll enjoy my next posts ! 

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @pwavg I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @pwavg :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome! Steemit is a great community to get to know people from all over the world. I am a Brazilian journalist and writer, living in London.. have a look at my posts and profile. If you like it, follow me. I write about photography, travel, art and stories. Good luck!!!

Welcome to Steemit! there are a lot of posts about how to maximize your fun here and I highly recommend you review and start the right way. I like to post pictures of my travels throughout asia myself and I invest in crypto's and love all the news 24x7 which is helped me save some money.

Following you now.

Thanks @mkdmrs. I get the feeling I will spend a lot of hours on steemit. Keep on steemin!

Welcome @pwavg! I think front-end developers and programmers are the engineers of the world we live in today, where much of what we do is centred around the internet, social media, and cryptocurrencies. It's a huge advantage to know and work in your field. I look forward to hearing more of your story. Steem on!

Thanks @natashajall! I think so too. In my daily job I feel the we are the center of development. Design, UX, Backend, Project management, they all connect with front-end and that's a amazing feeling. That said, we need all other disciplines to create beautiful stuff!

Yes absolutely! :)

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Haha, ok that sound interesting. Keep on steemin!

welcome to the family! i just followed you, follow me back and feel free to check out my account!

Welcome to steemit man!
Your story is similar to my begining at crypto world, first time I heard about it was in 2014 when I was a economics student, a colleague came up with this new coin called bitcoin that worthed it $400 bucks at the time. Didn't pay much attention and boy... how I regret it. In this year I jumped into the cryptoworld and it seems to have a bright future, I'm really enjoying everything I'm reading about it.
Just upvoted and followed you, I'm lookin' forward to see more of your posts!

Thanks. Its a new world with a lot of opportunities! Would have been great if you jumped in then but I am confident that were still at a great time to enter this world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85