Starting a Bullet Journal: How I Found Relaxation Through Organizing!

in #creativity6 years ago

Bullet-Journal-cover.png

I am SO EXCITED for FEBRUARY!!!

Okay, so this is probably one of the weirdest things to get excited about, but seriously. I actually squealed out LOUD this morning when I realized that February is almost here!

February-500.png

Why? Ummmm… Just because I started a bullet journal* project with my daughter a couple of weeks ago and February is when I will start officially using it to track things. Just daily type things like when I workout, use the fasciablaster, daily tasks, monthly goals, keep track of books I’ve read, movies I watched (and if I loved them or not). Silly fun stuff like that makes me so ridiculously happy. Plus, the act of just designing each page, drawing and doodling and all that is really fun and relaxing to me.
Index-500.png

My daughter Paris (who has been trying to get on steemit for a month with no success!) encouraged me to give it a try. I had been finding the whole idea popping up everywhere, but it just felt overwhelming. I’ve tried the whole ‘planner’ thing before with pre-printed planners and just couldn’t seem to ever get into it. The thought of having to design my own just seemed like TOO MUCH WORK.

However, the thought of doing something that we could do together sounded like it was worth a try. We spent almost three hours together talking on our first go! (The two of us can always talk for hours, but this added a feel of extra productivity.)

w-Paris-500.png

I immediately knew that having a solid journal type book was out of the question for me. I would always stress out about getting it perfect. This was my first ‘change’ from how I’d seen it done before. I bought a small A5 size binder and ordered the dotted pages for it. That way I had the freedom to get rid of a page (or add pages) without stressing about it.

binder-500.png

On another day I was on a date with my other daughter @abyni who needed to go to the Hobby store for a school project. They had things on sale that looked like they would add to the fun of designing pages, so I picked up a few stencils to help:

tools-500.png

There is an “Official Bullet Journal” way to do things, but I don’t really have a typical life and don’t feel the need to track every single day or week in my life. Most of my days are fairly similar and I don’t stick to a timed schedule, so I didn’t bother with those pages.

Instead I just created a page where I can put the lists of things I want to accomplish at my own pace on each of the days of the week:

Weekly-500.png

I knew that I wanted to track my fitness goals for the year (and I am SO close to doing a full pull up already!)

Fitness-500.png

And of course I really want to track my moods and my sleep. Having finally almost conquered my life long insomnia problems, I still like seeing how I sleep... and how THAT affects my moods:

mood-sleep-500.png

As I mentioned yesterday in my post about Dealing with Social Anxiety I really want to make sure that I'm focusing on self care and paying attention to what I need and when I need to take time for myself. Since needing self care usually means that I can't think of anything to even DO or start with, I wanted to make a page that I can turn to for finding ideas. I've learned that taking care of myself means that I have more of me to give!

Self-care-500.png

Getting older and dealing with all of the Bullshit of Getting Older: Perimenopause means that things like periods and all things hormonal are ALL over the place. I thought it might be good to start paying a little more attention to that.

period-500.png

A page for keeping track of the books I read, because I am so bad about reading tons of books and forgetting the names of the authors/series that I wanted to read more of!

Books-500.png

Last but not least, this is one page that I have for noting the things that I am thankful for. I am also making a page for each of my kids, grandkids and my husband as well that I want to take notes on throughout the year, but this is my "General" thankful page.

thankful.png

Thus far, those are the pages I have ready to go. In the coming weeks, I'll find what works, what doesn't and add pages for keeping track of daily exercise reps, fasciablasting... and who knows what else! In the meantime, I'm really enjoying the excuse to get offline, unplug for a while and focus on my artistic side with no pressure of worrying about anything else in the moment!

Credit for the Official name "Bullet Journal" goes to Ryder Carroll and Bullet Journal®


Other Writing of mine that you might be interested in:

My LIVE! #freewrite Experience

Thumb-open-mic-cover.png

Her Fondest memory

Thumb-Her-Fondest-Memory.png

The Secret Me

Thumb-Cover-One-Secret.png

Her Eyes: A Love Story

Thumb-Her-Eyes.png

Sort:  

Be an organization person myself, I can really relate to keeping a journal!

Yay! Another organizational geek like me :)

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!
@byn

OH yes!! I have journals, notebooks EVERY where! Isn't unusual for me to whip one out of my purse at gatherings, dinner or even church!

Wow @byn, this is amazing!!! I like the idea of journal-ing so much but I'm bad at writing stuff, so I ended up doing daily vlogs to 'document' my daily activities. Hope you can keep this journal up till the end!!!

Well I'm a little envious of that skill! I so badly want to do a daily vlog, but I always feel like I have nothing to say on a daily basis that would be interesting to ANYONE! I don't really do much on a day to day basis.

I'll have to see how this journaling thing does long term (consistency is my greatest weakness!!!) but I'm really hoping that I can continue to spend time on it, because it is really relaxing for me!

Thank you for stopping by!
@byn

I get what you're saying, in my vlogs I just document whatever I've done - and if it's too boring and no one wants to watch it, that's fine either.

But I'm glad that bullet journaling is relaxing for you, so keep it up!!

*P.S: It's February now, time to put it to good use!!

Your idea is very original! You know i thing i will do it myself, thanks for giving me an idea to organize my goals, good post!

Well, it's not MY idea, but I am putting my own spin on it. I think that's what I like best... I can do it in my own weird way!

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!
@byn

You... draw... crazy.... good... O.O hides drawings of stickmen

What you're doing is awesome! Mainly because having set goals and boxes to tick next to them keeps you accountable and on track! :D So I'm very happy to see you're doing this! :D
I have 3-monthly goals myself, and to be quite honest, I might have undershot them haha I achieved two of my gym related goals today... that I had time to hit until the 1st of April. Ooooops

Curious to see how you (two) do with this! ;D

hides drawings of stickmen

LOL :) You made me smile :)

I love the idea of check boxes and all the different colors. I suppose it might be weird, but I love it!

That is AWESOME on attaining your goals early! I am almost to one of my goals already, too! But I have plenty more to get to.

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!
@byn

you're so creative! :) and your ideas are amazing!

Thank you! I very much enjoy thinking of ways to be creative with it and I love doodling, so it's perfect for me.

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!
@byn

This is GREAT!! You are so talented! I love how organised it is, and so pretty!!

Thank you! I'm hoping that I can stay consistent with tracking everything now! Or at least MOST of it :)

Awesome post! Had me grinning through the whole thing. That's such a great idea, to keep a kind of journal like that as a way to get those little bits of creativity out that don't necessarily have anywhere else to go. Very cathartic, and inspirational :) And you're art is very lovely! Can't forget to mention that, hehe.

It has been very cathartic for me to have a place to 'doodle' just for myself!

Thank you so much :)

Hehe, I have my own sketch journal that serves a similar purpose...or I do strange self portraits :) Have an awesome day!

Your bullet journal looks amazing! I wish I had half your artistic talent. I have all the supplies to start a bullet journal but am overwhelmed by the idea. This motivates me to follow through with the class I signed up for online and get a bit better organized with my goals.

I have been thinking about doing it forever, but was way too overwhelmed. If not for the binder part, I would have already given up! I've tossed a few pages already annnnnd... have some pages numbered 21a 21b 21c and 21d because I forgot to leave space for something!!! :)

Thank you for the comment :) I wish you luck!

I love my bullet journal even though it is a lot less pretty that yours :D

Pretty or not, it's how much we enjoy doing it that counts! :)

Thanks for stopping by and commenting!
@byn

Wow @byn :) You are so creative with every page. I used to keep a bullet journal every year when I was younger. I enjoy seeing your every page being so different and vibrant! I can feel you enjoyed doing up every page with your drawings and fonts! Especially love the thankful page!

Congrats on being selected by @appreciator too!

Thank you! I was happily surprised to see that I was selected today :)

I so enjoy the drawing and designing part... since it's just for me, I don't have to worry about messing up, too!

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!
@byn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63721.15
ETH 3305.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91