The Deadpost Initiative - Week 11 - Share your most undervalued work + week 10 winners ($24 STEEM prize pool)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

What an intense week. I apologize that I wasn't able to upvote all the comments with deadpost links, as I totally drained my voting power down to less than 35%. I promise that when my vote is worth more than the $0.10 cents its worth now I will not make the same mistake!

I was also left with a dilema with regards to this contest. Should I let everyone be winners, or should I give slightly bigger prizes? Of course I want everyone to be a winner and all the posts were worthy of some win, but I felt bad holding a contest with only $2-5 for each prize before and wanted to raise each reward a bit. Either way, everyone was a winner at steemit this week :-)

Last Week's Winners

@nyarlathotep - $8 STEEM prize

@nyarlathotep provides us with a piece examining whether or not authors (in this case fantasy authors) and their personal prejudices and flaws should influence how their works are presented in present day. This was a pretty popular one and it was well written.

Politically INCORRECT fantasy authors - Is it so bad?


@omstavan - $8 STEEM prize

This one went totally over my head but it was truly impressive. @omstavan teaches us a bit about cryptology and sending messages that others can't understand. I will have to reread this a few times I think! Very informative article, and especially important to all of us who are getting involved in cryptocurrency.

Diffie-Hellman key exchange a.k.a How to shout a secret message to a stranger in public and understand each other such that nobody else has a clue?


@zincali - $8 STEEM prize

@zincali gave us a very heartfilled and romantic poem that I'm assuming is directed at a love one. I really like the phrase he used "the first octave of joy" and "enchanted bliss"

Beloved


@ats-david - My witness vote

@ats-david aims to tell us a story of how he set his rental car on fire (look at the title, I'm not spoiling anything), but in the process gives us a glimpse into the atmosphere of Costa Rica, which sounds both enticingly beautiful and at times hectic. Make sure to read part 2 linked at the end of part 1.

He asked not to be a winner but I thought I should mention him because no only was this post very fun to read, he's also a witness and from what I've seen so far, a responsible one who is interested in the opinions of the community. So go check him out and if you like him go vote for him as one of your witnesses.

How to Set Your Rental Car on Fire - The Prologue


Week 11

pexels-photo-116909 (1).jpg

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $10 SBD or STEEM, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
-Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $10 SBD
I'm still looking for SP delegation to offer some payout on all submissions. If you can help, please let me know :-)

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (a collection of short storie

Sort:  

I love your idea about helping to encourage post that are less value. I post about motivation and post that help to give strength and make decisions.
Below is my post for past month for your review. Thanks.

https://steemit.com/motivation/@maintain4real-eu/discover-how-to-motivate-yourself-20171025t21128215z

Hello 👋

I like the “positive greetings.” My kid gets a little embarrassed by me because I smile and greet people when I pass them while walking or at the grocery store. She always asks: “Do you know them?”

And I always respond: “I do now.”

This is awesome @metzli

l like the “positive greetings.” My kid gets a little embarrassed by me because I smile and greet people when I pass them while walking or at the grocery store.

Thanks for taken your time to check the piece and find it useful.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

There's some good tips there. Essentially focus on positivity and don't get bogged down in negativity. I find particularly that being negative about things that ultimately don't have much to do with you, is really pointless. Just removing those negative thoughts can help your state of mind immensely. I also like your tip for a positive greeting to others. It's such an easy way to be positive, and as you say, you almost always get a nice reward in return. It's win-win! :)

Wao! am honoured @revo

I love your view and contributions big time, you just helped to throw more lights on this

There's some good tips there, Essentially focus on positivity and don't get bogged down in negativity. I find particularly that being negative about things that ultimately don't have much to do with you, is really pointless. Just removing those negative thoughts can help your state of mind immensely.

You are really a genius that is fully loaded with motivational words.
Thanks once again for taken your time to checking through

Best Regards @maintain4real-eu

This post has a similar theme to mine hehe What you say at the end there... I add to it: Because you are the person you can rely on the most and you need to show up for you.

You share great tools to help ourselves have the power to comfort ourselves and bet here for ourselves when others are unable or unwilling to. We need to know how to nourish our selves emotionally because we are always there for ourselves and must always live with ourselves. We cannot always delegate our power to others to save us. We can save ourselves.

And you write is not only good for self motivation, it's great when learning to self parent ourselves in order to heal old wounds, in order to care for ourselves in moments of distress. These tools can help us at any moment, because it is us showing ourselves the care and love we need.

Wao! am blushing @binkyprod

I really appreciate your contribution and finding time to go through the piece.

I love your insight here;

We need to know how to nourish our selves emotionally because we are always there for ourselves and must always live with ourselves. We cannot always delegate our power to others to save us. We can save ourselves.

Thanks big time

It's my pleasure! :)

This is all really great advice! Keep up the good work. It will pay off.

Thank you very much @whatamidoing
I really appreciate your effort for bringing dead posts alive

Nice article! my favourite paragraph is about the greetings! It is so easy but so beneficial to others and yourself!

I do that as well like wishing a nice day to the surrounding people when going out of the public transports. It usually it takes a few seconds before they realize that I talked to them but then comes their smile :)

Thanks @becometheartist for finding something interesting there.

my favourite paragraph is about the greetings! It is so easy but so beneficial to others and yourself!

wao! It is good to know that you practice that too.

I do that as well like wishing a nice day to the surrounding people when going out of the public transports. It usually it takes a few seconds before they realize that I talked to them but then comes their smile :)

Much love @maintain4real-eu

I love reading it, especially the part in talking about exercise, it is true what you indicate so much body, mind and spirit must be aligned and motivated with positive messages to maintain balance and be ready to face adversity

Thanks @vidafitnessfeliz for taken time to visit my blog.

I really love your insight here

especially the part in talking about exercise, it is true what you indicate so much body, mind and spirit must be aligned and motivated with positive messages to maintain balance and be ready to face adversity

Thanks big time.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

I love your post. There will be a time when no one will be here to help you again and you will need to motivate yourself. The steps you shared will work for anyone who wants...

Hi @mr-aaron

This is thoughtful of you

There will be a time when no one will be here to help you again and you will need to motivate yourself.

Thanks for finding the post useful.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

This post is more than a month old, it only made a few bucks, and could still reach more people. It is a video I made regarding Depression and how video games helped while I was in the twilight of my depression.

I truly believe that more people talking openly about this mental illness will help others open up about what they are going through, let alone help them understand their symptoms better and cope better, let them know that it is possible to heal, perhaps even inspire them and help them feel better.

https://steemit.com/voiceshares/@binkyprod/gaming-and-depression-how-video-games-helped

This is a really inspiring post. I do think that contextualizing our own lives in terms of stories (such as those found in rpgs) can help us to process emotional pain. And, it was very brave of you to share your story with us.

I am very glad to hear that video games have been there for you, and that your body and soul were able to conquer the deep gloom that had hijacked your life.

Your raw emotions struck a chord with me. Your sincerity reinforced that chord and I have to admit that your not being able to access regular forms of medicine to treat depression made it all the more impressive - even if it may very well ultimately have been a blessing in disguise (such medications treat the symptoms rather than cure the underlying condition).

Thank you for sharing - and its great that you found that video games helped you cope! Welcome back to the light. :c) This has my vote.

I love this post real good.
it is good to know that video game helped in a great way to fight against depression.I love the magic

Thank you :)

Interesting to see your video if the game incentivizes the creative and opens room for this cheerful with ourselves

Great post. It’s a very hard topic to talk about and it takes a lot to be able to talk about personal experiences with it.

Coping can be so powerful if we find the right way four ourselves.

Thank you. Over the years I have found several ways that can help with the various ailments I have. Different symptoms require different coping methods. Coming to understand what I was living was the key to figuring out what I needed and when.

Just heard of this contest! I think it's a fantastic initiative.

Here's my entry. It's a very simple bread recipe, but it's a favourite recipe of mine.

https://steemit.com/recipe/@meliorish/recipe-with-images-classic-dinner-rolls

Looks bomb! Going to try this for Christmas dinner this year! Thank you!

Ooh! I've been experimenting baking with yeast, especially for some traditional Polish recipes. I will definitely have to try this bread recipe out, it seems fairly simple. And it will be easy to adapt the dairy ingredients for some dairy free options, since I'm allergic to cow's milk. So Earth Balance to replace butter, and I'm thinking Almond Milk. But I think Coconut Milk would also be good. Maybe I'll add little shrapnel bits of coconut :p Okay, now I'm hungry lol I've bookmarked the page.

Sensational way to prepare muffins @meliorish

Happy to participate for the first time in his contest thanks to the post I chose which I consider was less valued I'm not a good editor but I like to make funny video that carry a message of health and well-being to our body through exercise qui did I detail the vine EO just haloween I encourage you to see and give your opinion

https://steemit.com/busy/@vidafitnessfeliz/steemulacion-fitness-con-festejo-de-cadera

I love the video! I remember the first time you showed up in whaleshares and shared your video, that was amazing and lifted everybody's spirits and for that alone you deserve more than you got!

waoo thanks @lindahas Nice to meet you,

Hehe It's a fun dynamic way to follow along and excercise. I like how it begins with some Yoga style movement. Moving the body is a fun way to get the energy in and around your body flowing in a more dynamic way. It looks like you had a lot of fun making this video ;)

Thanks @binkyprod if I the sonrerir always in the day in what we do and brought is super fun is my passion for lifestyle

Ey, brother. Mi niño de tres añitos estaba a carcajadas.

Suerte. 🍀

Hello,
I would like to share this week an art tutorial I made :

[EN/FR/DE]🎨👣 DIY Acrylic Paint : LOVE series - Entry #3 [includes Step-by-Step]

It was the first time I made a painting of this type with the black and wight markers and so colorful hearts. I was quite happy of the result :D

Actually it's quite easy to realize! Hopefully someone else will give it a try :)

This is awesome
I might not know much about artist terms but going through the tutorial, i was able to understand how you arrived at this art work.
Kudos to you, its really LOVE series.
I now have someone that will be feeding me with art work. @becometheartist

great! happy you like it! thaks for your conce comment!

I love it man. You are welcome

Well. None of my posts are old enough to qualify. But. I did find this gem of a piece that was viewed over times but only received .22 cents.
https://steemit.com/love/@vanessavi/what-s-the-difference-between-love-and-neediness

I like this. A lot of ideas people get fixated on without truly understanding the deeper meaning.

With my husband, I don't feel that I fell in love with him. The energy is proof that love goes beyond what we can tangibly comprehend. We love each other, it is a state of being, it has always existed, and when we found each other, we recognised that love. It's weird to explain, but we didn't "fall", we landed ;)

We are attracted to each other on an emotional level and through the energies first. Through that love, we find each other attractive. I can look at a guy and admire his good looks, but that deep love, those energies, they are only there with Frank, and they are always there.

Frank is not my only source of happiness, but he contributes to my overall happiness. I have needs and so does he, we needs each other because of that love that contributes to our happiness. We also need to respect our other needs and our love guides us to know when and how to compromise, as well as the difference between a fear and a need. Some needs are based on fears. Other needs are truer needs. Some needs also originate from within and can only be fulfilled by self-love and therefore our love can help us find that when we need each other to guide each other. We are always growing, evolving, together, side by side, individually, yet dually too.

It's funny how I used to think I knew what love was. When I met Frank, those energies, seriously. We can sometimes make love without even getting physical. It's magical. And after nearly seven years, it has only grown stronger. The cheesy line though of "when you meet the one, you just know" I guess it kinda true. I thought I knew for other people, but then I TRULY knew. And I have no words to explain that. We simply are, we can just be who we are, and we love.

Okay, correction from my above first statement: I love this post.

I love her clear thinking. Thanks for posting @metzli

This is a great initiative, @whatamidoing. I've grabbed one of my first few proper posts here that didn't get much love the first time around. It's about universal basic income and also how a cryptocurrency could fit in with that.

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@revo/what-can-iceland-and-cryptocurrencies-tell-us-about-a-new-monetary-system-and-a-universal-basic-income

That was a great post, so far I've mostly chosen winners based on the amount of discussion they generate. It's hard sometimes because then I see post I love that don't generate as much discussion because they're posted too late or they are a topic not everyone gets interested in. Anyway, I hope you join again sometime.

Cheers mate!

Really interesting what Iceland is doing. Been thinking a lot of the current money system also and I was kind of surprised that most of the countries don't even have any control over the money they use and how the world is in a spiral of debt.

Very well written.

Great post, you explain things very well indeed.

I like this because it really goes with the trend

Thank you for this great initiative @whatamidoing. This post was made two months ago with all sincerity and pain I wrote the post but it was hidden and ignored.... Thanks for letting the world see my old post again.
https://steemit.com/life/@mr-aaron/suicide-cowardice-or-the-way-out

Suicide is a hard subject. Well done for taking this challenging subject on.

Thanks @revo for reading it. It's indeed a challenging subject.

Good job and awesome initiative @whatamidoing

You just shows and proved that you are committed to keeping this community growing and also help to motivate those that almost give up on #steemit.

Your effort is fully appreciated. Kudos to you.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

Better late than never! Here's my deadpost for today concerning about my civil service I'm currently performing. Not because I want to, but because the law says, being the only option besides going to military which was greatly against my personal values, thus not an option for me.

The post is about my last week of the education period in the beginning of the service which was surprisingly enjoyable experience.

https://steemit.com/blog/@celestal/my-civil-service-6-an-end-with-a-new-beginning

I'll make sure to check other deadposts too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34