STACH Short Story Contest #13: 199 words-increased prize pool, 15SBD!

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

image.png


Hello Everyone, @kingst here with the announcement for the **STACH Short Story Contest #13. This week, we have increased the prize pool and it is now #15SBD.


What is a Short Story.

A short story is a story with a fully developed theme but significantly shorter and less elaborate than a novel. It makes use of plot, resonance, and other dynamic components to a far greater degree than is typical of an anecdote. You can read it in less than 90 seconds.


Contest Rules:

•Write a Short Story based on the topic that will be given every week.
•Write an Original Short Story (Plagiarism will be flagged and reported).
•The Story must contain no more than 199 words.
•One entry per user.


Winners Selection.

Winners will be selected based on the topic, story plot, number of words and delivery as determined by the selected Judge. One word above 199, disqualifies the entry.


Contest Topic.

Write a 199 words story based on MY FIRST TIME.


PRIZE.

THREE winners will be selected for a share of the 15SBD and Yes, we increased the prize. The story with the most interaction gets a 1SBD prize from @ejemai.
First Prize: ----------------------7SBd
Second Prize: ------------------5SBD
Third Prize: ---------------------3SBD.

Good luck guys!


Sharpen your writing skills and throw in some inspiring short stories. XO!


Steem Accelerator Hub... decentralizing the offline!
follow_STACH.gif
STACH is supported by @Sndbox as a Sndcastle project.Stc.JPG

Sort:  

Tranquility

I kept my distance the first time I visited the ocean.

A strong wind in the air picked up a chill as it crossed the water, bringing with it the scent and the sting of salt. Little gulls, far braver than I, touched ground where the foam hit the sand and pecked at things that only they could see.

Standing back, I let the sound of the waves wash over me as I watched them rise and fall. They seemed to be playing, stretching themselves as far as they could reach before the tides called them home.

Thunder cracked in the air and I wrapped my scarf more tightly around my body. The gulls cried out to each other in a warning that it was time to take flight.

I blew a kiss to the sea and promised to visit again before I walked away, the warmth of my own home calling me to return.

Image used with permission by @kerlund74.

@ellievallie and @kerlund74 The picture and the words formed a beautiful syntax and union for this story and what drove it home for me was the description. As I sat in my living room on my couch reading this post I was swept away to walking along the sea and I could feel the wet sea breeze sweep across me as I pulled my robe closer to me. I could hear the call of the seagulls, in the background, I was truly there.

I upvoted bro I want you to win 1 st

Tranquility,seems you were scared of the ocean. .lol.
just kidding.
nice story @ellievallie, you deserve the best ( first prize)

It was a very tranquil acceptance of the power of the ocean!

💙

got that feelings


HARLEY


I placed my hands on her, and looked at her deeply. My Harley was beautiful in every way, from her curves to her figure in general. I had waited so long and invested so much in order to get her and now she was finally about to be mine. Her body was cold to the touch and as I ran my fingers across it I could feel the urge to ride her grow within me.

Slowly, I climbed on top of her and watched in amazement as my body perfectly fit on top of hers. She offered no resistance to my advances and being a man of quick action, I immediately pulled out my key from my trousers and gently slotted it into her ignition. She came alive and let out a loud but subtle cry for joy. Her body began to vibrate, and as I put her into full gear I knew all my efforts were worth it.

I rode her all day long and it was quite possibly the most liberating and exhilarating experience I’d ever had in my entire life. Riding my Harley Davidson motor bike has never felt better than it did that first time.


Picture source - http://payload.cargocollective.com/1/0/13388/214546/myfirsttime_logo_3.jp

And Death Trails............

A barrage of bullets ripped through her in quick succession, pummelling her.Blood sprayed as she fell face-down to the ground, pain searing through her in continuous bouts. She tried to scream but no sound. 'Was she going to die? Damn it ! She had tall dreams, she was going to be a Chief Justice, she was going to marry Obinna, her architect-to-be sweetheart and they were going to have lovely kids.
But the dreams faded beneath her hazy eyes as reality hit her, and she wept in her heart, For everything she had lost.
Obinna had shielded her as they fled the scene but the same bullets had riddled his virile body, he had fallen, his dreams too. Life was un-fair. Being an orphan, he only wanted to pay his way through school
In the throes of death, she saw the headline news:
ARMED ROBBERY OPERATION : A GANG OF SIX ---- INCLUDING A PREACHER'S DAUGHTER SHOT DEAD IN A DUEL WITH THE POLICE
Heat slowly escaped her body as she gasped in terror. She knew she was taking her last gulps of breath, 'Please I don't want to die, it was my first time........And she slipped into end-less oblivion.

My first time
It landed on my left cheek "Gboa", like thunder, before I knew what hit me, I was on the ground. I didn't even see it coming. My eyes saw white stars, I went deaf; all I could hear was a tiny "Wheeee" sound. I wasn't going to allow this guy fall my hands like this, lai lai We must fight o

But when I looked up to see him charging angrily towards me, I quickly changed my mind, for a second I felt like taking off, he looked like a body builder, but "man na man".
Choi! I can't be chopping free slap for nothing. I must...
"Tunde! Stand up and fight oh, stop doing like woman" My stupid girlfriend shouted, interrupting my thought.
Look at this girl o, I'm here because of her sharp mouth.
I don't even know the devil that made me push him; Ordinary push has turn to fight.
See where love has put me now, its not as if I even have power to fight sef.
This is my first time and they're beating me like this.
I would never try this again, to hell with her

Hahahahahaha, @vwovwe, guy you try. Correct story, make sure say you win o

Good and hilarious, I loved it, I felt the slap too, hope you win

Great story. Pray you win first prize!

This story is hilarious, hope you win @vwovwe

Wow @vwovwe, funny story, I just hope it's not your story.

Lol, funny. Nice story. I was just laughing as I read through. Hope you win

I felt that slap, the way you described I felt like I witnessed the fight. Good story, short and hilarious @vwovwe

Mhen this story is funny I swear, @vwovwe, I just pray you win. You rock

@vwovwe I love your story, it made me laugh. Your writing style is unique.

Guy making sense, funny too. I loved it. Please win @vwovwe

I don dey laugh since morning o, good and funny story. The slap fresh LOL @vwovwe

Lol see falling of hands. I can really relate to this story @vwovwe

Wow. I love your story.

Ooo boy. That kind hot slap. Bros, u Don see am nah, na so love dey; love has both sugar and pepper together. Nice one brother.

Lolz. Wished I was close by, I would have helped you defend your baby....lolz...but how was the slap? Lolz.....nice story brother.

Lol...

It landed on my left cheek "Gboa", like thunder, before I knew what hit me, I was on the ground.

Things we do for love. Well, its your first time.

The doctor

Michel was an enthusiastic science kid, with only 14 years old he was the champion of the science tournament that was celebrated in the country, competing with older boys.

Michel was not sure what career to study, when he had to go to college. Michel's options were Biology, Chemistry, Physics, any career that had to do with science, which was his passion.

One day Michel left on a science field trip organized by the school in the forest. They were cataloging the different types of plants, when he heard the cries of his schoolmates on the other side of the hill, when he looked he saw how they were running, pursued by bees.

I watch as his friend Karl falls to the ground. Michel ran to meet him to help him, seeing Karl he realized he could not breathe. Michel had read about how to apply CPR and seeing how Karl's face turned purple, due to the lack of oxygen, he started applying CPR.

Michel saved his friend with his knowledge, and for the first time he felt what it was to help save someone's life. That day he decided he would be a doctor.

The Wanderer

Irene is a crazy girl who loves to feel free and enjoy life to the fullest, she is adventurous and wanders from city to city doing odd jobs to earn some money and when she gets bored she takes a bus and goes somewhere else.

One of those days, when getting off the bus she arrived to a small town called Lagunillas, the people there were very kind and soon she got a job as a receptionist in an inn.

One night after work she went to a bar, she danced and had a few beers with a boy named Vicent, they had a very pleasant conversation. Irene was attracted to him, so they planned to see each other again.

As months pass by Irene feels that she has fallen in love for the first time, nobody has ever made her feel loved and protected, she had found a home in that small town and did not want to leave as she always did. It was as if, from city to city, her heart was in search of love and now she had found it.

Hope.

For Isabel, life was fun and excess, she partied almost every day with her friends. One day when she got up she realized that she hadn’t been sleeping on her own bed, she was in the bed of a boy she barely remembered from the night before. She dressed and ran to her home, tears spilling from her eyes as she did not remember anything.

As months passed by Isabel found out that she was pregnant, she felt very distressed and thought about aborting, but her parents convinced her to have the baby and give it up for adoption. Isabel was confused with the arrival of the baby, sometimes she’d talk to her belly with love and at other times she’d hate it.

On the day of Isabel's delivery, as soon as she saw her baby for the first time she experienced what it was like to be a mother, she felt the purest love in her heart and decided not to give the child up for adoption. That day Isabel changed her life, she dedicated herself to the care and attention of her daughter Hope , because thanks to her she had the hope of a better future.

images.jpe

Memories of a soldier

Between drinks and a few empty bottles, the poor soldier drowning in his fears, tried to erase his memory by hiding his eyes from his companions, he felt animal, perhaps lost part of his humanity or perhaps save his life fortunately.

The place was impregnated with smell of death, I did not feel any kind of emotion; At my young age I was at the worst moment. I saw the bodies of our soldiers; He was so close to the enemy line that he could hear the whisper between them; a flare illuminated the sky and again the exchange of shots started, I ran desperately finding myself face to face with an enemy soldier who came over me I unsheathed my knife and in full struggle I drilled his neck, the man drown in his own blood.

In that war we left the essence of humanity that housed in our souls. From that time my nightmares were recurring, my companions knew what was happening, for them it was normal, suddenly the Sargento Miller approached, stared at and he told me words I'll never forget - "Quiet, we through same, the first dead never it forget, the others are just numbers".

Image source: https://abstract.desktopnexus.com/wallpaper/636709/

MY FIRST STAGE PERFORMANCE

I was in my third year in the University and I belonged to a music band. The band was small but we grew steadily. We performed mainly at birthday parties and other small gatherings and people loved our performances. The event that brought the group into lime light was an invitation to perform in the largest concert on campus.

We rehearsed a simple song, planned to modulate before each subsequent verse and I was chosen to take the third verse. Rehearsal went well and we were prepared for the performance. It was going to be my first time on stage.


Image Source

Being a spectator and being a performer are two very divergent experiences. This I realized when we mounted the podium. The lights were so bright, I could barely see anyone. I became so nervous; I thought my microphone would fall. When it was time to sing my verse, the key had become so high. I managed to start but halfway into it, I forgot my lyrics; I could only make hmm sounds. If it were a duet, my partner would have covered me. I was abashed, demoralized, and remorseful.

My first encounter with faith and gratitude

It was February of the year 1976 and one of my younger brothers, who at that time was less than two years of age, convalesced after being operated on to correct a congenital malformation that affected his urinary system.

From the day of his operation and until he arrived at the house on the 19th, I prayed the prayers I was learning in my preparation for the first Eucharist, experiencing for the first time something that I later understood to be called faith.

When I saw my parents get out of the taxi and cross the doorway of the house, I rushed to hug them and kiss my brother, while asking my mom, is it going to be okay ?, to which she replied Yes.

And, immediately, I began to cry, for the first time, of joy.

In less than a week, my infant consciousness was nourished by two of the most pleasing essences and most powerful sources of energy that, since then, have accompanied my life, faith and gratitude.


Image Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57383.94
ETH 2450.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40