Tranquility

in #writing7 years ago


I kept my distance the first time I visited the ocean.

A strong wind in the air picked up a chill as it crossed the water, bringing with it the scent and the sting of salt. Little gulls, far braver than I, touched ground where the foam hit the sand and pecked at things that only they could see.

Standing back, I let the sound of the waves wash over me as I watched them rise and fall. They seemed to be playing, stretching themselves as far as they could reach before the tides called them home.

Thunder cracked in the air and I wrapped my scarf more tightly around my body. The gulls cried out to each other in a warning that it was time to take flight.

I blew a kiss to the sea and promised to visit again before I walked away, the warmth of my own home calling me to return.


Written for the STACH Short Story Contest #13!

The photo at the top was taken by @kerlund74, who has generously offered to share her work to be used for Steemit posts with credit given as explained in this post.



Sort:  

A living story that makes me feel the sea close to me. I love this attribute to something I love so much -the sea:)

You gave me the perfect inspiration for it!

💙

@ellievallie and @kerlund74 The picture and the words formed a beautiful syntax and union for this story and what drove it home for me was the description. As I sat in my living room on my couch reading this post I was swept away to walking along the sea and I could feel the wet sea breeze sweep across me as I pulled my robe closer to me. I could hear the call of the seagulls, in the background, I was truly there.

I'm feeling so happy right now with how this turned out

Thank you so much!

💙

Nicely written hope you win first prize @ellievallie

Thank you, so do I!

💚

Good luck.. It is very good short story. Love it.

Very poetic! STACH Short Story Contest seems like promising contest.

Thank you!

You still have a couple of days before the deadline if you want to enter!

That my be a perfect timing, because I feel my creative muscle is waking up these days! <3

Congratulations on your win in the STACH Short Story Contest. I am not surprised but I am excited for you. You Are Awesome Always!!

Thank you so much!

💚

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Congratulations @ellievallie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful.... this poem has touched me on a deep level

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.71
ETH 2614.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69