You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #13: 199 words-increased prize pool, 15SBD!

in #contest7 years ago

images.jpe

Memories of a soldier

Between drinks and a few empty bottles, the poor soldier drowning in his fears, tried to erase his memory by hiding his eyes from his companions, he felt animal, perhaps lost part of his humanity or perhaps save his life fortunately.

The place was impregnated with smell of death, I did not feel any kind of emotion; At my young age I was at the worst moment. I saw the bodies of our soldiers; He was so close to the enemy line that he could hear the whisper between them; a flare illuminated the sky and again the exchange of shots started, I ran desperately finding myself face to face with an enemy soldier who came over me I unsheathed my knife and in full struggle I drilled his neck, the man drown in his own blood.

In that war we left the essence of humanity that housed in our souls. From that time my nightmares were recurring, my companions knew what was happening, for them it was normal, suddenly the Sargento Miller approached, stared at and he told me words I'll never forget - "Quiet, we through same, the first dead never it forget, the others are just numbers".

Image source: https://abstract.desktopnexus.com/wallpaper/636709/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41