You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #13: 199 words-increased prize pool, 15SBD!

in #contest7 years ago
My first encounter with faith and gratitude

It was February of the year 1976 and one of my younger brothers, who at that time was less than two years of age, convalesced after being operated on to correct a congenital malformation that affected his urinary system.

From the day of his operation and until he arrived at the house on the 19th, I prayed the prayers I was learning in my preparation for the first Eucharist, experiencing for the first time something that I later understood to be called faith.

When I saw my parents get out of the taxi and cross the doorway of the house, I rushed to hug them and kiss my brother, while asking my mom, is it going to be okay ?, to which she replied Yes.

And, immediately, I began to cry, for the first time, of joy.

In less than a week, my infant consciousness was nourished by two of the most pleasing essences and most powerful sources of energy that, since then, have accompanied my life, faith and gratitude.


Image Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58140.33
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44