You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #13: 199 words-increased prize pool, 15SBD!

in #contest7 years ago

Tranquility

I kept my distance the first time I visited the ocean.

A strong wind in the air picked up a chill as it crossed the water, bringing with it the scent and the sting of salt. Little gulls, far braver than I, touched ground where the foam hit the sand and pecked at things that only they could see.

Standing back, I let the sound of the waves wash over me as I watched them rise and fall. They seemed to be playing, stretching themselves as far as they could reach before the tides called them home.

Thunder cracked in the air and I wrapped my scarf more tightly around my body. The gulls cried out to each other in a warning that it was time to take flight.

I blew a kiss to the sea and promised to visit again before I walked away, the warmth of my own home calling me to return.

Image used with permission by @kerlund74.

Sort:  

@ellievallie and @kerlund74 The picture and the words formed a beautiful syntax and union for this story and what drove it home for me was the description. As I sat in my living room on my couch reading this post I was swept away to walking along the sea and I could feel the wet sea breeze sweep across me as I pulled my robe closer to me. I could hear the call of the seagulls, in the background, I was truly there.

I upvoted bro I want you to win 1 st

Tranquility,seems you were scared of the ocean. .lol.
just kidding.
nice story @ellievallie, you deserve the best ( first prize)

It was a very tranquil acceptance of the power of the ocean!

💙

got that feelings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45