Thinking about creativity

in #life7 years ago (edited)

silentsunday160207.jpg

"You are not a creative person!"

I once was a child that was told that I was NOT a creative person. That feeling took me some time to dust off. I honestly thought that I was a kid with zero creativity and later on as a young adult I thought I had no sense whatsoever for style and aesthetics.

I got married in my early twenties and lived a life that was completely like the "main stream" and "normal". No art, no literature, no photos. Just beer, TV and a work at an office. But something began to grow within me, when I began a graphic (but technical graphics) work. I discovered I enjoyed it a lot. It wasn't, in my eyes, a creative work, just technical drawings and pictures of valves, pumps and similar stuff.
My frustration started to grow in my late twenties. It was like a fire burning inside, I didn't notice it at first but after some time it was growing stronger. I started to get interested in photos, that did not really demand a creative person, in my opinion, it was just a question of composition and framing, lol.

easter2016.jpg

Going into creativity

Some years later, at the age 35 I divorced and my life changed dramatically. Or well, I changed... I continued feeling frustrated, and suffered a lot of anxiety and also depression. I did that earlier in my life too but I just thought that I had a negative life view or something.
Going forward, I have experienced I actually am at least a bit creative. I still take photos and I make digital art. At an age of 43 I will soon get my bachelor in Digital Design. My new man is a painter, an artist:-) I enjoy our conversations during his process, I watch his anxiety and euphoria. And I slowly realised that this is a part of the creativity. The feelings are there and needs to be addressed in some way. Anxiety is often creeping up on me when I have no idea what to do. I feel absolutely empty and sad. Next moment, when I start working and I feel that I create something I can feel euphoria and that is so nice!

My black and white world is now filled with shades and colours. With emotions, with beauty and ugly. Like I woke up from a dream and found myself like I was when I fell asleep. I think I'm more close to the person I was on the day I was born and that feels wonderful.

stängsel.jpg

Creativity lives in all of us

I believe everyone can be creative and that we need to be that to survive. Like a basic trait in humans. My parents made me believe that creativity was making beautiful drawings with wonderful colours. It is but that is not the whole picture. Programmers are creative builders of new worlds. Just like painters are making interpretations of the reality. Just like parents try to make great people out of their kids.

I will celebrate creativity. That is our most underestimated trait!
This is my salute to all creativity and all the magic it brings to this world!
Let creativity grow!

blåsipport.jpg

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed this story.

The photos are taken by me, @kerlund74.

The photos in this post are available for #Art-Services which means you can use it in your posts on Steemit if you make a reference to this post and credit to @kerlund74.

---

Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut


---

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kerlund74 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You are definitely creative and talented.

The feathers are my favorite but the blue makes me want to write.

💙

Thank you my friend:-) And thanks for reading.
Blue is a wonderful colour of so many great things, sky, sea, flowers <3
Please write, you are such a great writer!

DSC_0216.jpg

Writing has been done!

Please let me know if I attributed your photo correctly!

💙

Thank you, it was wonderful💜

Congratulations @kerlund74! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! To join the ResteemSupport network and be entered into the lottery please upvote this post and see the following rules.

Damn, that sound soooooo familiar like you are talking about me :)
Im also 43 and divorced and all those art feelings.. hah.. only i'm completely into photography, but who cares. Art matters!

Ha, ha that might be the way to develop creativity then:-) Your photos are stunning!

Good post! Visit our blog and see the latest news and the best tops :D Greetings

Perhaps now you know better that to blindly trust the words of another. You thought they were seeing you, but they were only seeing the backs of their eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.71
ETH 2614.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69