What's In Your Library Challenge: A Lesson in Attachment

in #contest6 years ago (edited)


image.png

When we used to walk past bookshops, one of us has to be the strong one, grab the other's hand, and steer them gently (forcefully) away so that we didn't accidentally enter and buy armloads of books. I don't think I could have fallen in love with Jamie if it wasn't for his bookshelf - like @happysmileyman in his beautiful live in vehicle Alice, Jamie used to live in an old mobile library, a Bedford TK, and his bookshelf was, like Alice's bookshelf, tiny but fascinating. How could I not love a man who had Buddhist cosmology next to a book on foraging wild mushrooms? That had Dostoyesky nestled next to the Koran next to Home Mechanics next to a travel book on Sierra Leone?

@wizardave 's challenge this week asks us to reflect on our libraries, and you can see his invitation here.. It's a beautiful invitation because by posting, we reveal a little about ourselves, and by reading, we learn more about others. And that's what the Steemit community is best at. I would love to see this challenge take off and see the bookshelves of other Steemians, so like @happysmileyman, I'm adding an extra onto this one too! I'm going to tag 3 people, and if they respond to my invitation, I'll give them 100 percent of my upvote! I know it's not much, but hey! It's what I got! I tag @mountainjewel , @mrprofessor and @mtnmdeadowmomma !! Have fun guys!

Oh my goodness where do I start? We have about 5 bookshelves in our house, but the prettiest ones are the ones Jamie made out of scavenged form ply, pictured above. There's about a thousand books in our house at least, and I simply can't show them all here - plus, it's hard to take a sharp photo with my phone as it's dark inside and I don't want to clog up this post with hideously blurry photos!


I only just re-ordered my books, as I do every few years, so I'll start with the new order and zip about happily from there.


The Yoga Shelf

When you are inspired by some great purpose, some extraordinary project, all your thoughts break their bonds; your mind transcends limitations; your conscious expands in every direction; and you find yourself in a great, new and wonderful world - Patanjali

I'll start here because I only just brought my yoga books out from my yoga room and into the living area. I think my favourite out of these is my copy of Light on Yoga, as I've had it since I was 16, but of course Patanjali is the one I dip into all the time, as well as Rumi and I love the ones on yoga anatomy too, as that was a whole new world for me when I did my teacher training last year!


image.png

The DIY, Building and Gardening Shelf

Architecture is the thoughtful making of a space - Louis Kahn

Dad is a draftsman, so he's always been interested in spaces and architecture. His bookshelf on this is amazing - ours is quite small as when we were dreaming of making our home, we had no money and no money means no books. I think my favourites on this shelf are the Lloyd Kahn books, beginning with Shelter and then Homework, Handbuilt Shelter, which I can still find inspiration in to this day.


image.png

The Cooking and Food Shelf

My favourites are the Moro series, because we were going to move to Spain once, and they are full of beautiful Spanish/Morrocan fusion food. I love the Mushrooms book too, and the Eat the Weeds one. A lot of these were poured through when we were learning so much about abundance in the wild, especially when we lived in England. I barely use cookbooks now - I just make it up as I go along, as I'm an intuitive cook, but I love the inspiration and beautiful cookbook gives. Oh - and the Terre A Terre one is awesome, but I'll never cook anything from it - too complicated! Their restaurant in Brighton, UK is amazing - I've never seen such amazing things done with vegetarian food!


image.png

The Fiction Shelves

Fiction gives us a second chance that life denies us - Paul Theroux

I used to read a LOT of fiction - it was a way of escaping. Not so much anymore! Some of these shelves are in colour order (yeah I know, it was a thing that day!) but the Zola shelf is pretty special to me and Jamie, as we were collecting them at the time. We both really loved the book Germinal, which was about the coal miner's strike in France in the 1890's, which sounds boring, but was amazing to read! There's a few zombie books in there, as I'm a huge zombie fan, but will only read the literary zombie fiction because I'm a big fat literary snob - Colston Whitehead's Zone One is a good one. There's also a fair bit of Murakami, which is just so mesmerising to read, and I love DH Lawrence too, and John Steinbeck - ah too many to name really.


image.png


image.png
<br
image.png

The Travel Shelf

A library is full of new worlds to travel - Unknown

In the last few years, we've realised how easy it is to get good cheap travel books from opportunity or charity shops. Jamie reads a lot of these and I'll dip in occasionally too.


image.png

Other Notables Hard to Classify


image.png

I loved the Pharmokopoeia series. I can't really describe them adequately so I'll leave it to these quotes to explain them! Anyone interested in literature, mythology, drugs, medicine and herbcraft will adore them.

"The great joy of Pharmako/Poeia lies in the simultaneous drawing out of simplicity and complexity. Simple, so far as it draws together the vast territory of the human-poison relationship into a single, poetic alchemy; yet complex, in that it blows apart the narrow simplistic understandings that stratify each bubble of understanding. This is a truly excellent book and should be on the shelves and minds of all poisoners, all students of life, literature and ethnobotany. Whether your poison is Salvia divinorum, tobacco, alcohol, Nitrous oxide, or bitter berry, or even just the unquenchable thirst of a psychoactive knowledge, this text should be a given." Psychedelic Press UK

@happysmileyman and @movingman, you might also notice Battle of the Beanfield in there too which is a must for anyone who lives in a vehicle!

There's also a heap of physics and science books - that's Jamie's jam, being a physicist an all.


image.png

I have always been really attached to books. When I moved over to the UK to be with Jamie, I brought all my books with me, and we collected so many together that we had crates of them to ship back again. Bookshelves have always been a focal point in my parent’s house, and in mine and my sister’s – we value a good book, and they become an extension of who we are. Lately, however, I’ve been culling. This might sound like a crime for bibliophiles, but I realised I had boxes and boxes of books that I will never read again, and that are gathering dust. I’m beginning to resent possessions, and both of us are always wondering – if the house burnt down, or if we went travelling, or reduced our lives to a backpack or a van, what would we keep? What would we miss? So I’ve been slowly reducing, taking books to op-shops for others to love, or to pass on to family and friends. I’m a different person to what I was back then, too, and some books just don’t apply to the ‘me’ I am now. However, saying that, some books are absolutely me, absolutely us – a story of our lives on shelves.

If there's anything in there you want some more information on, please do get in touch! Like being directed out of a bookstore, you have to gag me to stop talking about books, so I'll try to restrain myself here. I'd really love to see your bookshelves - what an awesome challenge @wizardave!

I hope you enjoyed this walk through of our library! One day, I hope you'll pop by for a cuppa, and you can take away a pile to read. xx


riverflows2.png

Sort:  

This qualifies as an official entrant into whats in your library challenge @riverflows i have upvoted this post at 100% and your entry slot and resteemed this to my page

https://steemit.com/contests/@happysmileyman/what-s-in-your-library-challeng

I must say i love your fine collection too.
The first book that jumped out was indeed the battle of the beanfield then reading further down you mention it to me (likeminds) 😊 homework and hand built shelter are two wonderful books i have them both. You would love the book on small strawbale homes and i have one on cob building too 😊 so so much loveliness to choose from

Good luck in the contest 😊

Ooh they sound cool..I have a nice one on Earth Ovens too!

Its ot called build your own earth oven by denzer cos i have a copy too 😊

AHA!!! He he!! Awesome!!! That's exactly it! We did make one once, was beautiful, and had a big mud dragon on it! But it got eaten by cows....

I bet it must have tasted amazing to the cows 😊

Oh god you're killing me with all this! My brain can't take it : ) :)

I love books and have been worrying about what to do with all them. There's about a million more i want and too many to even read and what if i have to move and they are heavy as hell and ... When do i have time and and ummm errr

Ooooh i would love to see your collection too!

Ok. but i'm not writing any writing about all the writing ... he stamps his feet :) xoxo

You are SO STUBBORN!!!!!!

Ahhhhhhhhh come one, I'll tag you Ross, so you'll have to show us the collection hahahahah

He he good idea!!!

Tagged! Ross, please. Bring us the books hihihihihihiihhih

Awesome! I'll check.

Mmmm... Yes! This Bibliophile has a wee bit of a problem not buying books all the time. I love your variety1 So much good stuff there!

I'm sorry, but I just can't, can't, can't with the zombies. No movies, no books, no way. Just a tad to creeoy for my taste!

He he... for me its the idea of starting anew in a new world!!! Love post apocalyptic fiction. Hate horror... but love zombies... i know its wierd!!!! But only a small section of my bibliophilic world. I knew you would be a booklover!!! Yay!!!

Looking at someone's library is so curious and intimate. Discovering books in which you may have dreamed to be the protagonist is just fascinating. It says a lot, even if they are all closed books on a shelf!

It certainly does... that's why I loved this challenge!

I love your introduction about needing assistance to avoid a bookstore. There is a strong pull--the book smell, the overstimulation of so much potential.

The mention of books from moments in your past, like the book on Spain when you considered living there, do make for a bookcase full of your life. I like how books represent different periods in life. I have those too. I also understand eliminating some though. I go through the house as a whirlwind of purging once a year or so.

You have a wonderful collection.

a whirlwind of purging

YES! WHat a great way to describe It!!!

You hooked me in at the first sentence! I always say if I ever end up totally broke you know I spent all my money on books and plants 😂 omg you have the pharmokopoeia series?!!! I’ve never met anyone else who has those. They were suuuuper big for me in my 20s when I was... discovering..!!!

I love your shelves, the stories they tell... when I go to someone’s house for the first time I always magnetize to their bookshelf. So much to learn about people there! Sometimes I’m disappointed and think i probably won’t get on with this person very well lol, but with you... how you talked about your shelves, I love u even more!! Haha thanks for tagging me! It’s rainy today and very dark in my cabin and in other spots where I have books so maybe I’ll wait til it lightens up a bit to do my post 🌿👽💚

pharmokopoeia ... wow!!! We dont know anyone else with those either!!!! Arent they absolutely incredible!!! Ah.. those 'discovery' days....

It is rather telling isn't It!!! I feel like this challenge has revealed me to the Steem world... but I can also tell a lot from those who have walked in to take a peek and gush about books! I love you too! 🤣💙💙💙💙

Yeeeeey that's so cool, what a great collection you have there and I couldn't pass without noticing the vinyl collection too.

One day I'll need your book "Camping around Australia" or the one about Land Rovers hihihihih

The great thing about books is that we can always exchange them with friends, just like the old times of collecting cards. That's why my shelf is so tiny compared to yours, if a friend comes here and likes a book, they can keep it.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I've got a post to work on xDDD, thank you very much for mentioning me.

Ah yes... I saw Tracks as I was snapping photos and thought: I must give that to Arthur! There's another 2 sections of wax you can't see here. I love sharing too. Tiny bookshelves are fine too!!! Its lovely you give yours to friends... it speaks a lot of your generous spirit, which I love!!!

Wow, I like your style; and room design too. Your, and Jamie's, book selection is pretty diverse, I would get suck going though that bookcase for hours! I love to read about everything from travel and physics to philosophy... and I am also new to meditation and yoga too, however, all my newer 'books' are on my Kindle, so they are somewhat hard to display.

I know what you mean about attachment though, after packing up and moving my books to a new address several times over the past few decades, I think it's about time to remove some of my less favorite (and heavier) books from my collection, and replace them with their digital copies, but I will always love the real paper versions more.

Cheers!

Yes, I went through a kindle phase but came back to real books - I hear you. But yes, that's a good idea - as you'll still have access should you need, but it's not cluttering up your space. I'm glad you liked my bookshelf - there are actually a few bookshelves, I just pictured the main one as it's the prettist :) xx

Nice!!
Gotta love a house with lots of books! I can't imagine being without heaps of them...
Some non-book people don't get it, saying 'why dont you just use an e-reader so you don't waste so much space', or 'why not just go to the library and get books for free'. Well, I LOVE the library, and e-readers have their place, but nothing beats a collection of well-loved books.

Oh I totally agree! Nothing beats your own copy! PLus, I end up being banned from the library as I always forget to take them back. Books are cheaper now than they used to be too. E readers are good to take travelling for sure. As I work in a school, they just load up my kindle for me over the holidays which is good - though I dont read a lot of fiction these days!

Haha! I've never been banned, but I have had my account there frozen several times due to late fees... In my defense, they were my kids' lost books...
Books are definitely cheaper nowadays! I just love thriftbooks, I just ordered 5 books from there the other day, actually...

Interesting bookshelf. Being a Victorian I guess you know about the Theosophical Society in Russell St bookshop. I used to get books in there regularly when I lived in Melbourne.

But since I've been on the road I got rid of all my material possessions so read ebooks now. Or occassionally buy a hard copy when I see something that interests me.

Real books that you have in your hand are a necessity though so they don't die out. The electricity and internet can be turned off completely one day.

I do, but we don't live in Melbourne and I never go past that bookshop - we tend to go up Brunswick/Coburg way I guess more. I hear you about the real books - that's why I'm keeping all the homesteading ish books!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43