WILD EDIBLES SCAVENGER HUNT CONTEST STARTS NOW!

in #contest7 years ago

You’ll have to wait a few more days until your next post payout, but @papa-pepper can still get you some STEEM!


I know that some of you will have a hard time waiting, and that you may need a STEEM-fix before the seven day wait is up, so I’m here to help.

Since I just posted my URBAN SURVIVAL SERIES – Wild Edibles Post I thought that I’d put things to the test. I spent a bit of my morning in St. Louis, MO, which is certainly an urban environment. To check out the wild edibles food supply, I grabbed my camera and looked around a bit.

HERE IS WHAT I FOUND

On my scavenger hunt, I found Chickweed, Plantain, Dandelion, Gooseberry, Raspberry, Grapes, Redbud, Wild Chives, Purple Deadnettle, Dock, Yellow Dock and I even saw some Tulips, though I did not get a photo of those. Obviously the Gooseberries, Raspberries, and Grapes were not ready to eat yet, but the rest could be used right away if I needed to.


Here are my photos, displayed in the order listed above:

YOUR TURN

Now, for those of you who want to play, it’s your turn! Here are the basic rules. Head out into and photograph a wild edible plant. It should be a wild one, and not one that you have in the garden. I looked in an urban area (St. Louis), but, if you happen to be in the country, that will work too.

You may not be familiar with all the wild edibles in your area, but you should be able to find at least one. Take a photo of something that you think is a wild edible and mention what you think it is. Include “EDIBLE SCAVENGER HUNT” along with the date on a paper in the photo, just to be sure that you took the photo for this contest. You can also include my username, or yours, but you do not have too.

Either paste your photo in a reply to this post, or make your own post and drop me the link to it in a reply. I’ll be randomly choosing winners, and the prize amount is still to be determined. Perhaps everyone who plays will win, or maybe I’ll just choose a few. Either way, there will be winners… as long as someone enters!

Basically, this will be a fun way to practice finding wild edibles in our own areas or wherever we happen to be. I’ll include an example photo for my proof. Have fun!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-that-even-dandelions-count



Until next time…

FULL STEEM AHEAD!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Add a little color to that wild salad with a handful of flowers:

Violets!



There's another variety of violet that is common around here, a solid purple, or violet color, and they have this same distinctive shape. Both are plentiful in this region of the US, and will flower perpetually all summer.
I tell my friends while I'm leaning down eating violets, "Doctor says I'm not getting enough purple." My little joke, I don't really have a doctor.
Thanks for the scavenger hunt idea, and for reminding me that I haven't built a big wild spring salad yet this year.

Those are going to be featured in one of my The Edible Outdoors posts soon.

Great choice!

Thanks for entering too!

Your post already had most of the things around my house here at the end of March, and I was standing in a bunch of violets wondering what to photograph that you hadn't covered yet. The violets were screaming "Us pick us!" I didn't pick them though, just took a pic, for now...

Here are a couple I found close by.
chives
some Wild Chives
dandy
and Dandelion.

I saw some other plants I was curious about, but haven't had the time to research if they are edible or not. Which gave me an idea.

You should have a series "Is it Edible @papa-pepper?" Since you know so many different plants by site, people could submit photos of plants they either can't identify or are too lazy (like me) to research. Then, you could tell everyone what the plant is and if it is edible. Maybe even add some of them to your "Wild Edibles" series.

Excellent entries and an interesting idea. I think that @haphazard-hstead would be even better than me at identification, but with potentially health issues (like death) in the events of mis-identification, it could be dangerous too.

Thanks for the shout-out. I always like a good plant identification quiz. I think an "Is It Edible" series would help folks take better photos of plants - which means they will be taking a closer look at them, too. I do think there are more efficient and responsible ways for folks to learn plants and wild foods, though, than asking someone else to identify a plant for them. It's definitely got me thinking about some possibilities here, especially combined with my YouTube channel. I made a video on identifying a meadow mushroom, "Will I Eat It Or Not?", that folks seemed to like. I'll be making more of that style of mushroom video this spring.

In the meantime, I better go get lunch -- and take photos of the plants for your contest as I gather my salad makings! It's a great season for foraging!

Great idea for a contest, I'll be posting soon!

Cool, looking forward to it!

Interesting contest dear friend @papa-pepper, I admire the work you do for the community congratulations.
Success in the contest !!!!!!

Thank you. I enjoy interacting and giving!

Normally, a picture says a thousand words. If I snapped a photo of what's outdoors now, it would be mud, snow, and dark. That's only 3 words. Does this count as a wild edible, though?

Technically, yes. Too bad you didn't have the paper... LOL!

I'll take a look around, but your spring is allot more sprung than our spring 😉

Do what you can... I may reward effort.

Am I blind? I don't see a deadline anywhere.

I did not put up a deadline.

So, it's confirmed. I'm not blind. The lack of a deadline is intentional? Nevertheless, I'll be posting something tomorrow.

Yes, intentional. People can participate as they want, no need for a time constraint on this one. Looking forward to your submission. Will you be making an excellet post out of it!

Here's my post. I didn't just shoot a couple photos. I went ahead did a whole blog showing off my wildcrafting skills. I forgot to write @papa-pepper on my signs in the photos but I promise, they are all original for this project.

Enjoy.

https://steemit.com/wildscavengerhunt/@loveon/wildcrafted-green-juice-wild-scavenger-hunt-in-a-jar

Did I do something wrong? I haven't gotten any feedback on my post. Just wondering if I unknowingly made a mistake somewhere.

I missed it, thanks for the link!

Fun play you have going here @papa-pepper--as always! I imagine one of us here at the @gardneofeden will be finding some wild foods for you. They go in our juices and meals everyday, so should be quite easy to stick a paper close to our harvest basket. Thanks for sharing some good stuff--it's always fun to tune into what nature has to offer.

Yes, please get a few to join in on the fun and share! I'll let you know when more peppers are ready too!

Oh yes please do. That is just one more thing we have in common. So so much fun to be had. Thanks for keeping the joy in flow @papa-pepper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31