Wildcrafted Green Juice: Wild Scavenger Hunt in a Jar

in #wildscavengerhunt8 years ago

Very grateful to @papa-pepper for the inspiration to post this piece on “EDIBLE SCAVENGER HUNT”. Since wildcrafting is one of my passions I could not pass up the opportunity to show off my skills.





Everyday at the Garden of Eden we drink what we call "green juice".





It's made by using a super powerful juice extractor we call our Angel.





Every other day I go through the ritual of making no less than a half gallon juice for the entire community.






This is some super powerful stuff.




The ingredients vary each day but always included are both cultivated and wildcrafted herbs and greens.




Wildcrafted possibilities for juicing in the Spring might be:





Lambs Quarter






Oxalis






Carolina Geranium






Yellow Dock






Common Sunflower






Ragweed




Henbit

Lyre Leaf Sage

Cleavers

Chickweed

Persian Speedwell

Sow Thistle

Prickly Lettuce

Dandelion


All photos are original for this post.




Sort:  

Ew gross it's green. It's not pink yellow or purple? Ewwwww gross!

Yeah, well...you are what you eat. Check out the @gardenofeden people. Natural, organic beauty.

Grateful to you for taking the time to read my post.

That's hardcore, man.

I used to have dark green smoothies that looked similar to your juice a few years back, but the putrid/ bitter taste slowly chipped away at my willpower, eventually forcing me to compromise.

I still frequently have smoothies, but with far more fruits and less greens than in the past. I make up for it by having a huge bowl of salad every day. It usually comprises of two or three types of leafy greens (lettuce, spinach, chard, kale, etc.), carrots, tomatoes, grapes, a few dabs of avocado oil and between a teaspoon and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. I read somewhere that avocado oil has a nutrient in it that helps the body to absorb the vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients inside of the greens.

I don't know if it's true, but I certainly feel great after I eat it.

Mmm... You're accidental recipe sounds super tasty. I've also heard that mixing nuts and seeds with your greens blocks absorption of green nutrients.

My green blend is: a third to a half is herbs, the rest are the leafy things. Since I have a good feel for the flavors of all the plants I use I can almost consistently make it tasty. The inhabitants of the @gardenofeden will all support that. Besides, look at how happy Franky @fmatinata is.

I'm super grateful for your feedback.

It is so scrumptious... I love it (the grapes and balsamic vinegar combination is amazing)!

Yes, I recall reading about the nuts and seeds thing, too (thanks for sharing that). It bummed me out to discover that since I used to add 3 tablespoons of hemp seeds into my smoothies for a boost of omega 3 fats, among the many nutrients that it adds. I've now compromised by choosing to add the hemp seeds to my almost daily oatmeal (half a tablespoon of some type of nut-butter to half cup of oatmeal to 2 to 3 tablespoons of hemp seeds and usually a dab of cinnamon to top it off).

I'd love to try your green blends, btw. I, unlike yourself, don't have a good feel for how the green flavors will meld and I have very limited experience with or knowledge about herbs, despite always having somewhat of a burning curiosity about their health benefits.

And, yes, Franky looks on top the world!

I feel that I must apologize to you for my earlier comment. I said "man" in there, at the very beginning of it, as I mistakenly assumed that your post was written by Franky. Come to find out from your avatar that you most definitely aren't. Oops...

It's nice to hear that you're grateful, the feeling is mutual. I enjoy connecting with people that share my passion for good, wholesome, healthy food and I appreciate you sharing these types of materials.

I truly enjoyed your thoughtful reply. The man thing is just a figure of speech. It's all good.

Feel free to pick my brain on my knowledge. I'm often the "go-to" person for quick info about the plants here at the Garden of Eden.

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66