You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WILD EDIBLES SCAVENGER HUNT CONTEST STARTS NOW!

in #contest8 years ago (edited)

Here are a couple I found close by.
chives
some Wild Chives
dandy
and Dandelion.

I saw some other plants I was curious about, but haven't had the time to research if they are edible or not. Which gave me an idea.

You should have a series "Is it Edible @papa-pepper?" Since you know so many different plants by site, people could submit photos of plants they either can't identify or are too lazy (like me) to research. Then, you could tell everyone what the plant is and if it is edible. Maybe even add some of them to your "Wild Edibles" series.

Sort:  

Excellent entries and an interesting idea. I think that @haphazard-hstead would be even better than me at identification, but with potentially health issues (like death) in the events of mis-identification, it could be dangerous too.

Thanks for the shout-out. I always like a good plant identification quiz. I think an "Is It Edible" series would help folks take better photos of plants - which means they will be taking a closer look at them, too. I do think there are more efficient and responsible ways for folks to learn plants and wild foods, though, than asking someone else to identify a plant for them. It's definitely got me thinking about some possibilities here, especially combined with my YouTube channel. I made a video on identifying a meadow mushroom, "Will I Eat It Or Not?", that folks seemed to like. I'll be making more of that style of mushroom video this spring.

In the meantime, I better go get lunch -- and take photos of the plants for your contest as I gather my salad makings! It's a great season for foraging!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66