ART MIX-UP CONTEST RESULTS | 05 🥂🥂🥂

in #contest6 years ago

Every two weeks I challenge multidisciplinary artists on steemit to submit their genre-bending work to the ART MIX-UP CONTEST.


mix.jpg


I look for quality art submissions that defy genres, break expectations, and contribute something new to art forms that have been around for a long time.

I also look for documentation of process, because that’s one of the best parts of using the steemit platform to showcase your work! Check out the results of the ART MIX-UP CONTEST RESULTS | 04 🥂🥂🥂 to see more rad art!

Also, I have started a multidisciplinary artist collective here on steemit: @TheNewAlchemists.

If you’ve been following or participating in ART MIX-UP shenanigans, you will fit right in with us and I’d love to see you there. The Discord invite is at the bottom of this post!



To recap, here are the abridged ART MIX-UP rules! I asked artists to...


(1) Create a post sharing a piece of your own work (or a collaboration you played a key role in) that mixes 2 or more artistic genres! This might mean sharing a video, an image, writing, a sound clip, or something else (who knows!). And...

(2) Write something describing the work and the artistic techniques at play. And...

(3) Document your process as best you can.

This week I couldn’t choose between the top two entries, so for this week I’m breaking the normal rules!

There will be two winners each receiving 4sbd payout, a runner up receiving 2sbd payout, and 2 honorable mentions receiving 1sbd each for a total of 12sbd (a 2sbd increase on the original 10 I planned to give). <3


So, without further ado...



The first first place award and 4sbd go to @qmjft for their crazy creative cookie wizardry: Super Cookie!


@Qmjft is a newer account who took the concept of multidisciplinary art and blew it out of the ballpark entirely in my opinion. As soon as I saw this post I knew it would be one of the winning entries, and I wasn’t wrong. The creativity and artistry happening here knock my socks off. It’s a cookie, it’s a painting, it’s a puzzle...it’s Super Cookie!



The second first place award and 4sbd go to @melooo182 for his work 🎨 Artposting ✏️ / Vicios... (animated) 🌹


@Melooo182 is an account that I love, and I have sat staring at this GIF for more minutes that I should probably share--I find it utterly captivating. In fact, I’d go so far as to say it’s one of my favorite pieces of steemit art I’ve seen to date. I love the sketching style, the color palette the artist chose, and the animate smoke is sheer genius. I loved reading about the process and hearing how much time and detail went into the creation of this.



@Yusaymon comes in close as runner up receiving 2sbd for his awesome work: "ガンダム Tasting those lips”


Where do I start describing the things I love about @yusaymon’s style and entry? I love the color, I love the shape, I love the imagination...in short I really love it all. And if the art itself weren’t enough, there is an incredible, futuristic story to accompany the images that ties the entire post together and makes it come alive.


latex.jpg


@Jarradlevi is a new account to watch and is receiving an honorable mention and 1sbd for this wonderful silicone mask.


As a theatre maker I know full well the time and detail that goes into mask-making and all other elements of costume design. This is a great piece, and I am looking forward to seeing more of their work and other masks coming soon!



@Promisearts is one of new favorite steem artists and is also receiving an honorable mention and 1sbd for his post: Speed painting performance of the Empire Series Logo with my team: The Gifted Hands (watch it to the end and be thrilled!)


I am really interested in how artists can mix-up their chosen form and try new things. The concept of having visual artists paint in real-time with an audience as a type of performance is innovative and inspiring. I love people who are pushing boundaries and looking to contribute something new!


I also had 3 other dynamic entries that are not to be forgotten!


Save Water by @Izaid


savewater.png


Body Art and Photography by @yumifer


face.jpg


Tu pasión te hará libre by @Zailecita


zaile.jpg


And there you have it! The results of the ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 05. Stay tuned for the announcement of the next contest coming soon!



JOIN THE NEW ALCHEMISTS DISCORD CHANNEL --> It’s for artists and creative minds of all backgrounds!



View more of my recent work

My Anger is a Factory | Entry for @TeamGirlPowa Feminist Fire Poetry Contest
Logo Contest | Design the ArtSearch Logo for @TheNewAlchemists!
Hikes of the Pacific Northwest | Photo Album
From Full Time to Freelance and How I Got Here
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 07
Exploring the Big Four Ice Caves | Photo Album
Passing My 500 Followers Milestone and How I Got Here!
ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 04
The Art of Self Care | 5 Essential Tips
The Hero with a Thousand Faces: a monomyth
An Afternoon Jaunt to Wellington Ghost Town | Photo Album

Proud member of




SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Sort:  

Thank YOU for submitting--this is such an awesome idea. I wonder about doing “speed painting” as a livestream performance vlog series? Would be awesome, and I know a channel that would host you if you wanted! ;)

That'd be great, I'm in!

congratulations for the winner

Purple and teal are my favorite colors!

Haha, yessss nailed it. Lol, awesome to have you stop by!

An amazing contest and a wonderful collective of artist winners. I love these contest challenges. They helped me engage so much when I first joined steemit. I don't do as many as I used too, but I love looking at the winners and finding more amazing artists to add to the growing circle of great people I'm lucky to connect with here on Steemit.

Thanks so much for checking them out -- I think this may have been my favorite week yet with a few folks just blowing me away! I also love watching these kinds of events as a place to find other cool artsy people on the site to follow. Glad you’re finding some neat humans!

💙 Oh Thank you very much @lilyraabe!!! 😃🎉
This has been like just in the right time for allowing to get extra @steembasicincome shares as prizes for my contest that ended yesterday 😅

Congrats to the other winners!!! 👏👏👏 😁

YES, so glad it arrived at a good time and thank you so much for submitting your awesome art. I loved it (obviously). :)

Congrats to all the winners! It´s a very special contest, thank you for providing it again and again, @lilyraabe :)

Thank you so much for checking it out and supporting all the entrants this week @patschwork! :) Love what you’re making, hope you’ll pop back into one of these sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53955.17
ETH 2265.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34