Hikes of the Pacific Northwest | Photo Album

in #adventure6 years ago

One of my greatest passions is getting out and about in the Pacific Northwest: from the Cascade Mountains to the Olympic Peninsula it’s a magical place to live and play.



I also love to share my landscape photos with all of you here on steemit! However, sometimes when I’m out I simply forget to take all the pictures I could because I’m caught up in the moment -- so I have a lot of snaps of great hikes that don’t fit into a whole “post” or “feature”.

Today I thought I’d take a bit of time and share some of those hikes with you where I only had a chance to snap a few shots! Hope you enjoy. :)


Oyster Dome | A rocky bluff facing out towards the San Juan Islands, Oyster Dome is an easy 5 mile, 1050 foot elevation hike.


Once you make it up to the top there are some really spectacular views, and many rocks to sit on while you enjoy a lunch and the scenery.




Ebey’s Landing | Walk along a gorgeous bluff, then wander down to walk back for several miles along a beach.


Whidbey Island is a beautiful day-venture from Seattle requiring just a 25 minute ferry ride to get you feeling like you’ve taken a vacation somewhere far away and remote in the countryside. I highly recommend!




Sol Duc Falls & Hotsprings | Located on the Olympic Peninsula, Sol Duc features a beautiful campground, miles of trails, and a natural hot spring and spa to enjoy after your trek!


This is an incredible experience and I can’t recommend it enough -- especially the combination of the warm water to soothe your muscles and warm you up if it happens to be raining while you’re there!




Nisqually National Wildlife Area | A beautiful 5-mile wander will take you along a boardwalk over miles of mud flats near the coastline.


As you wander, you’ll be treated to some of the best bird-watching and wildlife-scoping in our region!



Wallace Falls State Park | This 5.6 mile, 1300 foot elevation trail will give you a bit of a workout, but the views at the end are utterly worth it!


You’ll walk along the river most of the way to the waterfall, enjoying some incredible views through the trees and lush green forest!




Fort Casey State Park | Fort Casey has long stood abandoned -- it used to be one of 3 forts in 1896 forming a protective triangle in the Puget Sound Region.


Now the fort stands abandoned and you are able to wander for hours inside of the old buildings. It’s a marvelous adventure--and a great rainy day hike (it’s covered inside!) in a region that is often damp.




Dosewallips State Park | Located on the Hood Canal, this park has cabins, yurts, and regular camping spots to procure (+ several miles of trails and beach access).


Located on the inner/eastern side of the Olympic Peninsula, the Hood Canal region is infamous for its lush shellfish (if you don’t check out Hama Hama Oysters you are really missing out!)





Snoqualmie Falls | This is just a short, 45-minute drive from Seattle, and only 1.4 miles roundtrip making it a stunning destination for nearly anyone!


Follow a well-kept interpretive trail to see both the upper and lower views of the falls. Bring a coat or a light waterproof layer as you will definitely catch some mist when you get up close!



Diablo Lake | In the North Cascades, you can find one of the most beautiful lakes in our state! The incredible green hue of Diablo Lake is a once-in-a-lifetime view and well worth a trip.


Not only will you be able to hike along the lake, if you are feeling extra adventurous, kayakers can paddle up to several boat-in campground along the lake to enjoy a truly unique and private camping experience!




FYI, All photos shot by me on my iPhone 6 & 7, and no filters necessary!

View more of my recent work

From Full Time to Freelance and How I Got Here
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 07
Exploring the Big Four Ice Caves | Photo Album
Passing My 500 Followers Milestone and How I Got Here!
ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 04
The Art of Self Care | 5 Essential Tips
The Hero with a Thousand Faces: a monomyth
An Afternoon Jaunt to Wellington Ghost Town | Photo Album

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg




Sort:  

I am very impressed with your concept and by the doing of it. I mean, and please don’t get me wrong, all you had was random pictures, not particularly good and no story. I spent last night frustrated as I realised, looking my archives from past trips, that I can’t illustrate the stories I wanted to tell, the way I want to!
And yet, you made a very smart post with very little materials.
Well done!
Thank you for sharing all this info for your territory (although it is a bit far away for me) and thank you for giving me flexibility lessons. :)

Hey! Thank you so much for saying this about the post -- I’ve been having that same frustration for months and finally decided to give this a shot. I’m glad the format is working for folks so I can share the bits and pieces of my adventures. :) Appreciate you stopping by and giving that specific feedback.

Lots of favorite places on that list-- we really do live in amazingly beautiful surroundings! Greetings from Port Townsend!

Why hello Port Townsend! It’s always so cool to find PNW people on steemit! I was lucky enough to spend a week in Port Townsend last July over the holiday with the Mandala Center for Change and it was such a beautiful place to get to spend some time!

You’ve covered a lot of top spots in this post!

I love Diablo and Ross Lakes. So many camping trips up there with my dad as a kiddo.

Lol and Fort Casey, 6th grade field trip, a boy I liked brushed past me in one of the dark rooms of the fort.... our hands touched! Swoon! 😄

Ahhh! I love that you know and recognize several of these places. Diablo Lake truly is amazinggggg, so beautiful! And I love the story about Fort Casey, I can totally see that! Thanks for stopping by. :)

That looks like an awesome place to take a hike! We have Pilot Mountain and Hanging Rock about 30 minutes from the house that we enjoy going hiking at.

Amazing, it’s really awesome to have nature close by outdoors to enjoy!

Wow! I am sold! The photos of the waterfalls got me hooked. The Diablo's Lake color is magnificent. I wish to go visit these places one day.

Ya, the color of Diablo Lake is just outstanding -- it doesn’t seem possible that it could be natural (in fact, its a dam), but they don’t treat the water, it’s “naturally” that shade. <3

You got a 45.45% upvote from @moneymatchgaming courtesy of @ukuleletutorials!

Aw, thank you! <3

this is a very cool tourist place, I like your post, I hope your day is fun and always successful

Thanks again for stopping by! Appreciate you. :)

I will always stop by in your post, so you know me, thank you

Congratulations @lilyraabe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I love these pictures! One of the downsides of not having a car is that I don't get out of the city much, and that's a shame. I live in Oregon, and so there's oodles of great natural beauty all around, and I can't get to most of it, alas. I'm moving to Illinois soon, and I think the greenery of the Pacific Northwest will be what I miss most, besides my family. Thanks for sharing this roundup of great photos from your hikes!

Thank you so much for stopping by -- I’m from Oregon originally -- and tbh I still think its the best state. Ha. When I lived in NY for awhile the green of the PNW was definitely something I missed -- I guess if you have family here though you’ll have a reason to visit regularly? Good luck with your move and see you around!

Looks similar to the views around here. also looks like a great hike!

Thanks so much for stopping by, appreciate it! :)

Thanks so much for stopping by, appreciate it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94