Let's Talk Retention!

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Why Do You Come Back?


We all come here to a field of dreams, right? Some expect to make it big as whales or possibly fatten up enough to be a dolphin. The reality is, those dreams of stardom will remain an arm’s reach away with the current Steemit ecosystem. Be sure to not cramp any muscles flexing those arms for stardom!

So let’s talk reality!

dand.jpg

The dandelion plant is considered a weed for many people. I think it’s a beautiful flower. I even think the yellow flower of a weed is a beauty on its own. These plants are resilient plants, blooming year after year despite being undesirable by homeowners and the gardeners. So why do they come back time and time again?

Why do you come back to Steemit day after day?


Here is your opportunity to share your happy, sad, or funny stories via a Contest by @malloryblythe.

I’m writing this post for my followers to enter @malloryblythe’s Contest. If you read my last post, you know I'm not on as much anymore but I have to show my support to Mallory! That's what we do as a community.

I will not be entering since I was mentioned by three individuals entering the contest as one of the “cool” people they met on here, Mallory included (happy happy grin). I would like you all to have a chance to enter, meet others, and have fun.

As my way of supporting my followers, I’ll hold this small contest as well. If you enter Mallory’s contest, simply copy and paste the same answer into my post. I don’t mind. If you don’t want to write a post for Mallory’s contest, simply tell me below why you come back onto Steemit despite your pitiful earnings.

Mallory has many topics you can choose to write on. Here are my answers to a couple of her selections.


Choose from one of the following topics:

Tell us about one or more projects that every newbie should know about.

Mallory's answer and mine as well: #newbieresteemday

I am a member of the ABC’s of Curation team for @newbieresteemday, and support our initiative’s goal of helping newbies. We provide advice, guidance, and encouragement because let's face it, being a newbie is a tough road here on Steemit.

Recommend a super talented Steemian who the @curie curators should keep their eye on:

@chineyes - I enjoy her writing. I am sure in time Curie will come around.

Tell us about the moment that you decided that it was worth sticking around and putting in the work on Steemit.

I was hesitant when @davemccoy first asked me to join #newbieresteemday. I was just starting out on here and really had no time to commit to a community. Especially the whole concept of resteeming is not my cup of tea because I try not to press my opinions on to others.

After reading his blog, which took me quite some time to be honest because he sure does comment a lot, I saw his sincerity with helping others. I told him I’ll help as an unofficial member, and he went and made the Cheerleader role for me. 😊

The friendships I've made on here are my reasons for coming back day after day, despite not having much time for Steemit since the real world is keeping me busy these days.

Tell us about your favorite community here.

I am still a staunch supporter of @newbieresteemday, but I find myself spending time with the folks at @comedyopenmic as well. They are a very supportive bunch of sarcastic funny peeps there. I never thought of myself as a comedian, but I find myself fitting in with these folks. I have to find time to write a funny post so I can get their support though! Oh, and no bidbots usage on your entries there. Go organic.

My Contest Rules remain the same as all the other Let's Talk! posts. Be sure to enter @malloryblythe’s Contest if you have the time!!


🎖Prize🎖: One (1) lifetime membership to @steembasicincome.

Second stipulation: I am selecting @davemccoy as the #newbieresteemday team member to send in the $1 steem required for sponsorship, in honor of his being the reason for my journey with Newbie Restem Day.

💛 Contest winner for the steembasicincome will be randomly selected by using this web tool: https://www.miniwebtool.com/random-picker/.

💙 Payout: Prize will occur at the end of this post’s payout.

Power of Communities


Let me tell you about @malloryblythe. Back in the days when I had more free time, I used to visit the #introduceyourself page to greet newbies as they are first starting out. It’s nice to have a sincere welcoming because no one should feel alone on here. I knew from reading her intro post that she is one smart cookie! She speaks many different languages and is a history buff. I also knew that history is a small niche here on Steemit, given my few weeks of experience before I met her. So I kept my eyes on her and gave my small advices along the way. Whenever we could, our team at @NewbieResteemDay highlighted her on the account because those hours she spent writing her posts deserved recognition! I made sure @randomwanderings from @curie also kept her on his watch list.

One day, @curie came along and gave their support to her Fetishization of Madness post. I was grinning like a Chesire cat when I saw her big post payout. One would think it was my post that got curied. Of course, it just happened to be the one post we didn’t get a chance to highlight on the @newbieresteemday account that day, but that’s okay. @malloryblythe has been curied several times after her first Curie support and all well-deserved!

Paying It Forward


Mallory decided to pay it forward by helping others have the opportunity to receive shares of @steembasicincome and also highlight a newbie that a Curator from @curie should keep tabs on. She's using her earnings from her last curied post for the prize giveaway.

Exceptional example of paying it forward! I'm very happy our paths crossed in this vast ocean of fishes. ❤️ Go show your support!

beeyou.jpeg

Image source:
Dandelions, original photo
Beeyou image by@seaslim
Newbieresteemday giphy by@amariespeaks
Dividers

P.S. I still don’t have that much free time. This post is written to show support to Mallory. I promise to get back to comments before post payout!! 😄

Sort:  

very nice @beeyou... you might not have the time, but you still have the talent to write a wonderful story and highlight the important things. I'm happy to see you also support @malloryblythe and her contest, that is very much the cheerleader that I have come to appreciate so much! :D

And since you are my teacher, I'm sure I don't need to say this, but excellent work on this!!!

And the reason I keep coming here is the friends and people that I have met such as you @beeyou... I have made very many meaningful connections and I want to do my part to help us all to grow here and maybe one day make those pitiful earnings not as pitiful ;) ... I'm working on it, but the bottom line is that I care about the people I meet!

I always appreciate you stopping by @davemccoy. I'm happy to see you supporting Mallory's contest as well. What is that popular saying..great minds think alike. :)

If I'm the teacher, then you must be the principal of us all, building the foundation for us all to follow. Always the great leader and supporter of the little people.

We share the same reason for coming back on this platform. Work faster and harder! j/k :) I know you have our good welfare in mind and heart. Thanks for being you Dave.

lol... what you were j/k? I thought our motto at NRD was work faster and harder and give us your salaries too! :P ...

You are right about one thing in that comment for sure though, great minds do think alike ;)

Here was my entry for her contest.
https://steemit.com/contest/@doomsdaychassis/malloryblythe-contest
I to can identify with being a dandelion. Not the beautiful flower part but more so being the annoying weed that won't go away
:)
Thanks for all you do around here. You will be a dolphin before you know it.

I have to come back to this post. First, the dandelion. Not until recently, I did not know it can be added to salad. Here in our place, we see them scattered here and there so it was a new sight to me when I saw someone posted here a field of them.

PS. I can't promise that I can come back to this before payout lol!

Springing into summer, why do I keep coming back? It keeps raining here. ;-} This was a very nice post, a nice reminder and a very nice gesture on your part. It seems as if the @comedyopenmic team are getting around on steemit, I have been reading a few of the entries, even though I can not listen, several have full post. They should be very happy to have you in their corner also, I know all of us at newbieresteemday appreciate your efforts.

Look at you, girl! I wanna be @beeyou when I grow up! LOL Youre such a busy little bee and still have time to get on here and not only make a great post but also help out people on the way! Ive said it before, and Ill say it again, youre amazing! ;)

Heres my entry to @malloryblythe great contest!
https://steemit.com/contests/@smylie2005/are-you-a-newbie-looking-for-a-little-guidance-let-me-share-with-you-what-helped-this-girl-out

@beeyou here is my response to your question of, so why do you come back to steemit? I expect nothing less than a victory.

https://steemit.com/blog/@palikari123/so-why-do-you-come-back-to-steemit

'pitiful earnings' really made me laugh so I borrowed and used it on my post title. lol

Here's my entry to @malloryblythe's contest:
https://steemit.com/contest/@chineyes/why-did-i-decide-to-stay-on-steemit-despite-my-pitiful-earnings

I appreciate the highlight @chineyes. It is a very sweet post. I'm so delighted to have 4 people now mention me as a "cool" person they met here. You all are good for my already inflated ego. ;)

Way to keep them motivated @beeyou :P

'pitiful earnings' really made me laugh so I borrowed and used it on my post title. lol

lol... I had to laugh when I saw @chineyes reason for titling her post that way! hahaha

Yep @beeyou deffinatly has a way of motivating. Even if the end result is another horrible steemian she still gives it an effort anyways.

haha... exactly... glad she hasn't learned how to use the "flags" yet... then she might get her whole follower base creating havoc! :)

Can you imagine how many times she would have flaged me? Lol.

She would be like this girl, just looking to get ya on every little violation!

I know right. Lol. I am slowly working her down. I think she hates me about .00001% less everyday. But progress is progress right?

Hey, no teaming up on me. 😝

who me?

I will pass on the off color joke i was going to make. See you are a bad influence on me. Only you get that pass.

The horrible steemian is tons times better than some of the great steemian out there. Take a bow fluffball of cotton candy.

Matt probably found it entertaining as well. I’m happy to see the support!

you get that sarcastic yet still adorable way about you ... so it works! :P

Lol not on my post. On chineyes, he showed his support there too. I resteemed it.

Aww, you said I was adorable. 😊

you are adorable... here is the sarcastic beeyou

But also the adorable @beeyou

You deserve all the attention. :)

Yeaaaahhh...
We entered the same contest, lol.
Here is my comment on @malloryblythe's contest:
I decided to write on one supertalented steemian that should bewatched out for.
Below is a link to my entry. Thankx
https://steemit.com/contest/@perkyeunice/24-sbd-worth-contest-by-mallorybkythe-or-join-the-moving-contest-train

I'm happy to see you also joined in the contest. Thanks for sharing the link, I stopped by your post and happy to add another Steemian to my following list. :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62876.86
ETH 3399.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43