GUESS WHO'S BACK! - The Return of @matthewtiii - and a Few Thoughts About the NEW COMMENT POTENTIAL

in #community7 years ago

Yesterday, a man made a post...


Three months prior, he had made another one. Before that it was seven months ago. Yep, in the past six months, only two posts were made from the @matthewtiii account. Between nine months ago and seven months ago he was a very active steemian, which I'll show some evidence for in a bit. But when you move back and forth across the country and have many other issues to deal with, it is not always easy to fit steemit into your life, nor is it a priority.

COMMUNITY INTERACTION


Many months ago @papa-pepper ran a Tattoo Story Contest for some weeks and @matthewtiii was one of the ones who entered it. In fact, we had quite a bit of fun in contests with one another.


@matthewtiii was even one of the brave (or foolish) souls who entered my Papa-Pepper's Super Hot Pepper Challenge To quote the man, he had the following to say about it:

Today, I did the dumbest thing I have ever done on YouTube and steemit. I took the @papa-pepper Hot Pepper Challenge to new heights (or lows) depending on your point of view.

If you don't believe that quote, you've got to watch this video! In fact, watch it anyway!

"Milk doesn't help! Ice Cream doesn't help! It's burning my ear canal!" - @matthewtiii


For more hilarious videos of @matthewtiii "enjoying" some of the peppers I grew follow this link to his Super Hot Pepper Challenge Entry: https://steemit.com/hotpepperchallenge/@matthewtiii/papa-pepper-hot-pepper-challenge

A Few Contests of His Own!


The man even began to run a few contests of his own and chose to give away some of his hard earned STEEM to encourage others! My favorite was the TAKE A KID FISHING CHALLENGE. I may have won that contest, but only because @papa-pepper had no competition!


Can you believe that @matthewtiii even tried making a sandwich that I invented? I made an entry for the Steemit Food Challenge and it was pretty amazing. @matthewtiii thought it looked good too and decided to make one of his own following my recipe. You can check out his post here: https://steemit.com/food/@matthewtiii/pappa-peppers-10-minute-breakfast-sandwich

Here is what @matthewtiii had to say about it after giving it a try:

It is a taste explosion in your mouth. The whole family loved this sandwich and you know how hard it is to get kids to agree on anything.

Thanks for the recipe @papa-pepper! I will be making this for years to come!

WHAT'S YOUR POINT PAPA?


Okay, so some guy I met online a while back came back to steemit, at least for the minute, what's the point of mentioning it? Also, what did @papa-pepper mean when he said "NEW COMMENT POTENTIAL" in the title to this post?

Well, when @matthewtiii is active on steemit, he's really active. He's engaging and interacts with others. He has fun, tries new things, and blesses other people. This is the type of people that help make an online platform a real community. This is the kind of person that you desire to check out and see what else they are up to. These are the type of encouraging, interactive users that set an excellent example for others.

However... just like @matthewtiii, many have disappeared in the previous months. User retention is not always the easiest thing to pull off, and other events in life can certainly interrupt our online availability. However, what if people just need some encouragement? What if some of those former active users could come on back, and what if we could encourage them?

NEW COMMENT POTENTIAL


Recently, something happened to our commenting ability. I was not personally aware of it until I received this comment from @deanliu:

Dear papa! I am from the future...

You know? you are going to be extremely successful and famous here after just a few months' time ... believe in yourself ok? because from this moment on, I assure you that you are gonna be proud to be "papa-pepper from steemit" for the rest of your life!

I know it because I am there. I will join steemit two days later. So, I will witness all these amazing things, including you the pepper legend, unfolding right in front of my eyes ...

Time to return to the future. See you there. Godspeed.


It sure sounds like a strange comment to leave, but it was left on my introduction post which was made over nine months ago. Yes, we can now comment on older posts. We used to only have thirty days to comment and then no more comments were possible. Now, though, we can comment on any older post.

Since this is the case, we now have the opportunity to reach out to inactive users, even if they stopped posting six months ago, like @jed78. Or maybe like @givemeyoursteem who hasn't made a post in eight months and hasn't commented in six months. Some, like @jed78, seem to have cashed out and moved on. Others, like @givemeyoursteem, still have hundreds of dollars worth of STEEM, Steem Power, and SBD in their wallets.

Whatever they are up to these days, and whether or not they will ever return, we now have the option and opportunity to reach out and let them know that we miss them. I've started to do so, and will continue to as other users come to my mind. For the time being I just wanted to plant that idea in some of your heads and to encourage you all to welcome @matthewtiii back, and to use him as an example of excellent interaction.



To check out the latest post from @matthewtiii, CLICK HERE.

The images and videos in this post are from @matthewtiii and the quotes have their origins mentioned. Steem on my friends!

All liquid STEEM/SBD from this post will be given to @matthewtiii as a welcome back gift!


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

@papa-pepper I am on the verge of tears as I write this. I am honored by you and so grateful to know you. I am back and that means daily. I may not post content every day but I will be on here supporting and blessing others. I cannot find the right words to show how appreciative I am of your support and the friendship you have given me. May I live to deserve such praise. Love from mine to yours. Thanks for all you do.

as the old saying goes, " any friend of Papa-Pepper is a friend to us all", I didn't know you from before so I can't welcome you back, all I can do is say' Good to meet you, and hello from the deep south'.
Will be following to see how P P can suck you into more potentially dumb things to do, [eat one of his peppers, gotta be a dumb thing to do, right?]

LOL! - It's not dumb if I do it myself... is it?

Welcome back @matthewtiii. I had watched your pepper eating video before I ever joined steemit. I really liked your comment about your ear canal!

That is hilarious! "It's burning my ear canal!"

Aw man! I tell you what, give me a valid US shipping address on steemit.chat and I'll send you one of these too! I know that you always wanted one.

Who is this @matthewtiii? Hmmmm I am very very curious and will check him out!

I love how you can transition from one point to another so smoothly, giving shoutout AND making a point about stemmit. I can see that you are very invested in Steemit and i aspire to reach your level.

I thought that periodically I should be name dropping to help others, so I've been doing more of that. Thank you so much for the compliment!

What a great way to bring the community together to talk about an issue like this. Especially an issue that is so relatable. I like how you did so by shedding light of some of the enjoyable times that you had with @matthewtiii ! You are showing new Steemit users that after enough time spent making connections on this platform, you may end up really enjoying yourself, and making great friendships that last for years.

Skrt
Anchorage,AK

Great friendships indeed!

Very kind of you to do an awesome post like this! I'm following @mathewtiii as of right now!

Didn't I feature you for my "name in peppers" post?

Man, I sure know how to pick 'em!

Thanks Brother!

chocolate ghost peppers???? never heard of such a thing!

Chocolate is the color, NOT the flavor. Here is a photo and link to an old post I did about it when I was still trying to figure out how steemit worked.

https://steemit.com/garden/@papa-pepper/chocolate-ghost-pepper

thx for the clarification! ... I suppose one could dip a ghost pepper in chocolate? wonder what that would taste like lol!

I think @merej99 did that with some peppers... No, it was @englishtchrivy! She tried that! (Wasn't ghost peppers, but it was some hot pepper!)

"Don't eat that pepper man!"

It is so funny to watch! I grew that pepper, and he got to eat it, all because of steemit!

Sure is a great place! The world is becoming smaller!

LOL! In some circles!

You made my day with your post! Cool guys! @matthewtiii welcome back! Follow you and it looks like it will be fun. You are a good team with @papa-pepper )))))))))))

He is a lot of fun, and a "real" guy too!

I have already understood it))))

This is a really great post! and great interaction with the commenters, @papa-pepper!

Thanks mate! I appreciate the encouragement!

papa-pepper got my attention when I first started visiting here. he's what I call a good steem ambassador. I determined I would try to emulate his success. Now I find myself looking for some snakes in my neighborhood to take pics of. :-)

but seriously, I think it's good to follow his lead for how to be a good steemian that will serve us all well. so thank you papa-pepper. Now let me go check out his sidekick, matthewtiii. he sounds like another model steemian. Good luck to all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36