Growing an Avacado From Seed

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

My family and I really love avacados. I have tried on many occasions to grow one from the seed you get when you buy the avacado. Recently, I learned that most produce from other countries is irradiated to kill off any bacteria that may be present. Therefore, out of country avacados are almost all sterile. I have tried this at least 15 times and never had a success.... til now.

20170329_221510_HDR.jpg

It took six weeks to get to this stage. I thought it was another failure but then the sprout popped out and we were on our way to sustainable avacados!

20170408_104813_HDR.jpg

This is two weeks later. It really started to take off and I had to get it in a bigger pot.

20170414_081446_HDR.jpg

This has been a very heartening experience so far , the kids are psyched and very interested in how things grow from something most people just toss.

1493473666391-781643166.jpg

We have had another surprise this week as well!
Another successful sprout!
1493475418127410199740.jpg

How I did it:
The first one that sprouted is really the second one that I started.
The first thing I did was wash the avacado pit thoroughly.
Then I scrubbed all of the skin off of the seed.
For one avacado , I stuck the seed, tapered side up (this is the top) into a small pot of dirt.
For the other avacado, I cleaned the seed and put three toothpicks in it and suspended it into a glass of water.

1493476028106139291368.jpg

I kept the water level high in the glass and although the avacado took longer than the one I put in the dirt, patience payed off.

This has been a great learning experience for both myself and my little ones and I encourage you to give it a try. It will take years to grow these trees and one day I will find a place to put their roots down permanantly. For now, they will get transplanted into big pots and pruned so they don't get too tall. They can grow very high being a tree and all. These new friends of mine may never bear fruit (although, I really hope they do) but they will be a beautiful part of my porch garden and I will love them all the same.

P.S. I will try to do a transplant and pruning video when it is time.

Upvote, follow and help one another!

Sort:  

Very cool sadly avocado not really grow in my country .

Sorry about that. You can grow it indoors, you just have to supplement the light in winter. It probably would not fruit, but it is a beautiful plant.


Hi @matthewtiii, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I'll be curious to know if your seed -plant-tree will produce avocados I've successfully created a plant but have not been able to get it to fruit.

I have been reading alot and it is rather important for you to make sure your avacado gets pollinated. Hopefully having two will make this happen, but I can't take mine out of a pot until I live somewhere warm enough to keep it outside.

Ah yes, pollination explains it, thanks!

I've heard of some users a trick where they plant two avocados right next to each other and let them grow together into one tree. Supposedly this helps with bearing fruit.

It's warm enough in the summer here so if I got my timing right it could work! Thanks, I'm inspired to try it again.

As soon as I own a garden this will be my first project. Thanks!

Forgot to mention.

Welcome back.

Thanks so much!

You're welcome

Now I wish I didn't live in a condo. I would like to try this. I wonder if my condo association would mind if I planted a few near the pond?

Fingers crossed you get fruit :)

My dog killed the first one. My fault, I left it in his reach. He eats the soil, he's still a pup. A 65 pound pup. Lol

Ah bless him he didn't mean too

I have to try this! Followed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37