Rainbow Protection. No 2. Day 14. Art. Collage. Photography.

in #collage5 years ago (edited)

Day 14
Rainbow Bridge.
Connecting both sides.
In the centre I feel at peace.
And know I have all I could wish for.

~Ally.


5x7.1000-4446.jpg

Pictures must be miraculous.
~Mark Rothko.


Halfway.

I detailed the creative process that led me to this stage of Rainbow Protection in my article Rainbow Protection. No 1.

In summary:

Rainbow Protection measures 180 x 126 mms which is slightly larger than the Eco-collages specifically designed to fit into the pocket notebook that I purchased from Silvia Beneforti's Homesteaders Co-op Store: VUMAP. And it has a horizontal format rather than vertical. Rainbow Protection. No 1.

  • The background was made from rice paper enmeshed with blue hydrangea flowers placed upon a pale blue-grey hemp paper.

  • Two lengths of natural twine with different thicknesses were then placed horizontally.

  • An 11:11 with small pieces of mica was arranged on top of the horizontal twine 'lines.'

  • Finally, a Rainbow was made from teased out silk threads: Linking the two sets of columns of the 11:11.


5x7.1000-4434.jpg


The final stages of the creation of this Eco-collage.

A column made from Japanese Rice Paper and feathers was placed in the centre and pasted into position.


5x7.1000-4436.jpg


Six Gumnuts.

Six tiny gumnuts were positioned over the Rainbow and pasted into position.


5x7.1000-4437.jpg


Three Feathers.

Three pure white feathers were arranged at the bottom of the central column.


5x7.1000-4440.jpg


A very subtle variation.

I love asymmetry in what appears to be a symmetrical arrangement. Although sometimes I find that a piece is becoming just a little too symmetrical and so in this case, I readjusted the feathers at the bottom.


5x7.1000-4446.jpg


Fourteen Day Covenant.

Well, I've reached the fourteenth day of my Covenant to create a new artwork or a new stage of an artwork and share it here at Steemit, every day for fourteen consecutive days.

I have worked with many traditional art modalities: drawing, painting, printmaking, collage, sculpture and photography. And at this stage of my Art Journey I'm seeing a lot of relevant relationships and connections converging within my art-making practice.

I have a much clearer idea of where my work is going now in combining collage, montage and watercolour and I'm hoping that in the next two weeks this will become clearer to anyone following my work as well.

Much of what I've learned while making small assemblages and arrangements from natural materials has provided me with a plethora of ideas and techniques for now producing a range of what I call 'eco curios' for my Homesteaders Co-Op store: Eco Curios.

Basically, works such as Rainbow Protection will be my starting point for watercolour paintings and some of my watercolour paintings will be starting points for new Eco-collages.

These Eco-collages will be available at Eco Curios and any images derived from them will be available as limited edition digital prints at my Makers Place Gallery.

As part of my next Seven/Fourteen-Day covenant, I'd like to work on a single piece that follows through on all the processes now. There may be some 'experimentation' along the way that I'll share as well.


My Fourteen Day Covenant.






A heart that is holding infinite possibilities.
A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be.
A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey.
~Ally.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7.


makers place gallery.png


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png


Posted from Earth ♥︎ Sand ♥︎ Water ♥︎ Ice with SteemPress : http://www.allyinspirit.info/2019/04/30/rainbow-protection-no-2-day-14-art-collage-photography/

Sort:  

Such a peaceful piece, Ally <3 I love it... The balance in the composition and the elements that you've presented here brought a calmness over me when I read your post :) Gorgeous work~ !!!

I really admire that you've been able to share such high quality posts for fourteen consecutive days, too ! You are really amazing \o/

I'm so pleased that you like this piece Spider as I feel it's quite special in the overall scheme of where my artwork is going now.

After fourteen days, I'm looking at what has evolved through doing these collages and even though each piece is different and develops intuitively, some of the elements are recurring. Like the 11:11 and now the archway. The archway with columns was a 'favourite' theme I used in my drawings years ago. Interesting for me that this motif has re-emerged.

I realize that setting a goal of producing a completed artwork every day is totally unrealistic for me as often I spend far more than a day on a piece ~ Or the hours I have available in a day. But showing work in progress is a good balance, I feel. That way I still commit to doing something new each day but don't have to 'burn out' in the process. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

I love the rainbow bridge and the serenity you can feel emanating from this piece. So sweet and gentle, a great reminder of how simple transitioning is.

I really treasure your appreciation of my work Wonda. Thank you ever so much. That's something I really wish to be able to achieve in my work. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

You certainly are. Your intentions are coming through beautifully.

Your work always amazes me. It is beyond beautiful!

So pleased that you like this new piece Melinda.

My artwork has been moving into new areas since doing a short course on Artist's Journaling. New doorways are always exciting and inspiring but the task now is to assimilate these 'experiments' into my main direction. I'm slowly working towards setting up my store on the Homesteaders Co-Op at the same time as making these new collages ~ Letting 'what goes where' fall into place, which is also very exciting.

Committing to posting every day hasn't left me a lot of spare time, but have been thinking of you and it's lovely to connect with you again now. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

There is simply to much to do here to connect with everyone all the time, but I always love seeing what you are creating and am glad you will be in the homesteaders store!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @scrawly.

Thanks so much @helpiecake and @helpie and @scrawly. Chocolate is my favourite ~ Especially made with real cacao and other health-giving ingredients. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks so much @c-squared. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

This is such lovely work, @allyinspirit! Congratulations on completing your 14 consecutive days! That must have been both thrilling and exhausting!

So pleased you like this piece @jayna. Well, I can't say there haven't been moments when I thought it was all a bit much. I could write shorter posts, but I like to document the processes.

I'm happy to continue for another 14 days now ~ Knowing that I can set my own rules and that the work doesn't need to be complete to share the day's artwork. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

So pleased you like this piece @wales. It's more a prototype for other work that I'm gradually getting closer to now I feel. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

MAGICAL MOMENTS.wands.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43