Rainbow Protection. No 1. Day 10. Original Art. Photography.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Day 10
A pale blue memory.
Crosses my mind. All that I could wish for.
Has already been given to me.
But I am only starting.
To see its colour.

~Ally.

5x7.1000.detail-4434.jpg

A painting is not a picture of an experience:
But is the experience.

~Mark Rothko.


Fourteen Day Covenant.

This is the tenth day of my Covenant to create a new artwork or a new stage of an artwork and share it here at Steemit, every day for fourteen consecutive days.

I have worked with many traditional art modalities: drawing, painting, printmaking, collage, sculpture and photography. And at this stage of my Art Journey I'm seeing a lot of relevant relationships and connections converging within my art-making practice.

Much of what I've learned while making small assemblages and arrangements from natural materials has provided me with a plethora of ideas and techniques for now producing a range of what I call 'eco curios' for my Homesteaders Co-Op. store that will be called Eco Curios.

Today I wish to share a new Eco-collage that I've been making as a friend's birthday present.

While I've been making it, the feeling has been with me that it could be a prototype for another product range for Eco Curios.

It measures 180 x 126 mms which is slightly larger than the recently made Eco-collages specifically designed to fit into the pocket notebook that I purchased from Silvia Beneforti's Homesteaders Co-op Store: VUMAP. And it has a horizontal format rather than vertical.

Stage 1. YES: I love MarkRothko

The background is a very pale blue-grey hemp paper.

I already had some pieces of rice paper that I'd enmeshed with blue hydrangea flowers. Two pieces of it were pasted in alignment with the horizontal format of the paper.

Two lengths of natural twine with different thicknesses were placed horizontally and pasted down.

5x7.1000-4415.jpg

Like any organic substance, art must always be in a state of flux:
The tempo being slow or fast. But it must move.

~Mark Rothko.


Stage 2.

This stage is very subtle. But subtly is of the essence of this artwork.

Fine silk threads were teased out and arranged and pasted on top of both twine 'lines.'

5x7.1000-4427.jpg

The most interesting painting is one that expresses:
More of what one thinks than of what one sees.

~Mark Rothko.


Stage 3.

An 11:11 made from 4 rectangles of watercolour paper was arranged and pasted on top of the horizontal twine 'lines.'

The pale violet in the bottom silk threads suggested maybe the piece would like some mica?

Small pieces of mica were delicately balanced on the 4 rectangles and pasted down.

5x7.1000-4432.jpg

Art is an adventure into an unknown world:
Which can be explored only by those willing to take the risk.

~Mark Rothko.


Stage 4.

In QiGong, we always finish the session by lifting our arms straight up and then as we bring them down in an arc ~ Visualizing a beautiful rainbow of protection for ourselves and all those we love.

Remembering this: I created a beautiful rainbow of protection from teased out threads ~ Linking the two sets of columns of the 11:11.

5x7.1000-4434.jpg

It is really a matter of ending this silence and solitude:
Of breathing and stretching one's arms again.

~Mark Rothko.


This Eco-collage is not complete yet.

I hope to show you the next stage/s of its development tomorrow. More likely the next day, as I'm going to Canberra tomorrow to see the exhibition: Love & Desire: Pre-Raphaelite masterpiece paintings from the Tate.


My Fourteen Day Covenant.






A heart that is holding infinite possibilities.
A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be.
A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey.
~Ally.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7.


makers place gallery.png


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png


T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png


Posted from Earth ♥︎ Sand ♥︎ Water ♥︎ Ice with SteemPress : http://www.allyinspirit.info/2019/04/25/rainbow-protection-no-1-day-10-original-art-photography/

Sort:  

I'm a fan already :) Especially to how your poems look.

So soft and pretty! The color string reminds me of a rainbow and promises of better days ahead.

Wow, @allyinspirit this is so amazing! I'm only now seeing your work in this 14 day challenge now, as I've been so busy, but I love the concept, idea, and the execution. Well done.

There are so many things I Want to do inspired by Steemit, like using SteemPress (as you've done) and also make some small things to sell on the Homesteaders Coop.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35