Seven Day Covenant: Day 4. Easter Rose. Original Art. Collage. Photography.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Day 4
Gold and Purple
As above. As below.
A rose rises. Through the veils.
Of disillusionment and disappointment.
~Ally.

This Eco-collage is not quite finished. I knew it needed something else to soften the hard line of the bottom of the rose, but it was only when the 'poem' came that I understood what the piece represents and what it now needs.

However, it's time for me to share as much as I've been able to do on this piece today. And I'll share the final work another time: Complete with the veils.

Artist's Journaling and my new Eco-Collages.

After completing a short course recently on Artist's Journaling with Sally Cooper: I'm starting to make some small Eco-collages: Which eventually will pave the way for other pieces that will incorporate drawing and painting. ~Ally. Seven Day Covenant: Day 2. A Gratitude Tag.

For now, these Eco-collages are more like 'warm-up excercises' for me and they'll be pasted into my personal Artist's Journal: A small notebook that I purchased from Silvia Beneforti's Homesteaders Co-op Store VUMAP. Seven Day Covenant: Day 2. A Gratitude Tag.

A range of slightly larger Eco-collages based on what 'works' with these small Eco-collages will be created for my Homesteaders Co-op Store.

Easter Rose.

SQU.800-4574.jpg


The making of Easter Rose.

A piece of Arches Watercolour paper was cut to 140 mms x 95 mms, which is just a fraction smaller than the size of the notebook.

Handmade paper with tiny flecks of blue and plant fibre through it was carefully torn, placed and pasted on the bottom of the paper.

Then positioned above it: A coarser Japanese rice paper that had been gently teased apart.

SQU.800-4465.jpg


Horizontals and the Photo Transfer Process.

Three dried hydrangea petals were placed and pasted onto the coarse fibre.

A fine greenish rice paper was torn into small pieces which were then pasted over the petals.

Three golden triangles were arranged in a line on the bottom and pasted down.

A teased out purple thread, from a ball of rainbow coloured hemp string was positioned and pasted on the paper.

A photocopy of one of my white rose photographs was positioned and pasted right-side-down to the paper. This is part of a process of transferring an image to paper (or other materials) that I've been experimenting with since doing the Artist's Journaling course. I'll explain this process more fully in another article.

SQU.800-2.jpg


The White Rose.

You can now see the white rose. It took considerable trial and error to experiment with different mediums to perfect the transfer technique ~ Which I'll share another time.

A square of different shades of purple threads was placed around the white rose.

Rice paper that had been handpainted in shades of violet was cut into small squares that were then placed on either side of the square of threads.

Three golden triangles were placed on the hydrangea petals.

Three hydrangea flowers were placed vertically.

SQU.800-4562.jpg


The Cross and the Arch.

Two hydrangea flowers were placed horizontally: Forming a virtual cross now.

An arch of silver and pastel coloured threads was carefully placed above and beside the white rose.

SQU.800-4572.jpg


The final (for now anyway) Eco-collage.

Five downward pointing golden triangle were positioned over the arch of threads.

Usually, I would have made this six triangles: Six above (pointing down) and six below (pointing up) but for some reason it's five this time making a total of 11 and not 12.

SQU.800-4574.jpg


Another Current Project.

Feathers that have been incorporated into so many of my art pieces from collage work to ephemeral arrangements are a prominent part of a range of eco-friendly products that I'm in the process of developing. They'll be available soon from my Homesteaders Co-Op Store: Eco Curios: Magical wands and hats, poles and figures as well as small baskets and containers.

And eventually, images inspired by these curios will also be available in my MakersPlace Gallery.


Magical Wands.

Just a glimpse of my first Magical Wand: With all the feathers freely given by the wild ducks at the Roseville Lake.


Imagine.
All the wonderful things.
That you could wish for. If you had:
A MAGICAL WAND.

~Ally.


ORIGINAL.2000.CR-2.jpg


A heart that is holding infinite possibilities.
A creative who is learning to trust the mystery of what will be.
A spirit that is willing to fly into new creative realms and share the journey.
~Ally.


My Seven Day Covenant.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7.


makers place gallery.png


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


HSCO.GHSC.FINAL.png



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

Your pieces are all lovely Ally. I like how you show the process through it all. So interesting to me. Have a wonderful weekend.

You're doing it! :) Lovely...just lovely. I can feel your heart in each piece you do...♥

That is really beautiful! I love your artistic touch!
Thanks for sharing!

Your final pieces are always so lovely, but even more so when we get to journey with you through the process! I worked in an art supply store years ago when I was still in the retail world, and the one thing that really stuck with me was an appreciation for beautiful handmade, natural papers. Some of the Japanese papers especially caught my eye, so it warms my heart to see you use some!

This is lovely! So colorful, delicate, and pretty! How do you keep the hydrangea flowers from darkening over time?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41