The right to repair (E-waste, digitalisation, pollution)

With the modern age and the digitalisation of the world we produce more and more electronic devices which are not sustainable enough and hardly can be repaired. This is a serious matter and governments and producers of these goods will have to change their way to let this e-waste be reduced to a minimum.

Schermafdruk op 2019-02-13 10-13-50.png

What is E-waste

Electronic waste or e-waste describes discarded electrical or electronic devices. Used electronics which are destined for reuse, resale, salvage, recycling, or disposal are also considered e-waste. Informal processing of e-waste in developing countries can lead to adverse human health effects and environmental pollution.

Electronic scrap components, such as CPUs, contain potentially harmful materials such as lead, cadmium, beryllium, or brominated flame retardants. Recycling and disposal of e-waste may involve significant risk to health of workers and communities in developed countries and great care must be taken to avoid unsafe exposure in recycling operations and leaking of materials such as heavy metals from landfills and incinerator ashes.

Schermafdruk op 2019-02-13 10-14-13.png

REDUCE, REUSE, RECYLCE

Collecting garbage will not save the world. Our electronics are too often thrown away after a couple of years cellphones in particular have one of the shortest life-cycle. Electronic devices are often difficult to repair. The parts are melted together and can hardly be replaced or recuperated. There is a future in Urban Mining. Instead of depleting valuable raw materials through traditional mining, our electronic waste has a wealth of resources to exploit. A win-win situation. Hence Reduse, Reuse and Recycle: make products that can be dismantled simply and safely, and so that they can be reused. This has to be the standard globally.

Schermafdruk op 2019-02-13 10-15-19.png

Repair makes your products last longer.

Every cell phone repaired is one less that needs to be manufactured. Every laptop used for just one year longer lessens the strain on our finite resources. Every computer upgraded can go on to another user before it really needs to be replaced.

Buy repairable electronics whenever possible. Fix your phone and your computer when they wear out. Then keep using them, or give them away.

giphy (1).gif


PREVIOUS POSTS

GROWING MY ACCOUNT UPDATE AFTER ALMOST 2 MONTHS CHANGE OF STRATEGY
MUSIC: INDEX CASE - SINCERE
STEEMEUM PAYOUT
UBUNTU LINUX MY STRUGGLE WITH IT
BITCOIN ALTCOIN SENTIMENT WARNING
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 6-7
BITCOIN WILL HAVE THAT POWER
BOUGHT MYSELF A GAMING PRESENT CRYPTO WINTERSLEEP
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 1
PLATFORMS AND FAUCETS I USE FOR GROWING MY ACCOUNT


My Crypto Referal Page
Best Steem Mobile App
Partiko
Best Crypto earning site
Cointiply
Best Investing – Loan – Staking site
BTC Pop Faucet

Sort:  

Dear @digitalworldyou

This is going to be little bit off-topic comment. Hope you don't mind. As you may know I will be heading to europe soon and I realized that I may be quite busy catching up with Polish family once I see them again.

So I figured that I will extend all delegations for another 1 month (until end of march 2019). Just wanted to let you know :)

Hope you will continue being active and supportive towards our little steemit community we managed to create together.

Yours
Piotr

Thx for the extention. Enjoy your time off with your relatives. Take care

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @digitalworldyou

Thank you for your previous comment.

ps.
I NEED YOUR HELP :) Nothing serious really. But I still hope you can spare few minutes of your time :)

I found out about great contest where winning community can receive a year's delegation worth of 20k SP!

I realized that receiving such a delegation could help greatly to grow our community. After all I'm upvoting each valuable comment. On top of that, I'm doing my best to promote quality content published by other authors and again: I like to reward those who engage with those authors.

I know that it's probably a long shot and most likely our community won't stand a chance in this contest. But I love being the underdog! Let's give them a fair fight :)

Which brings me to my next question, I was wondering if I could count on your support? At this stage I would only need to ask you to comment this post and suggest myself for the contest. Perhaps you could also make another suggestion: @ help.venezuela (this is run by my dear friend @ achim03).

https://steemit.com/dpoll/@theycallmedan/20k-steem-delegation-poll

This is just a first round attempt. I hope we can make it to second round hahha :) Naturally I would appreciate if you could ask your friends to help with our little "quest" :)

Let me know what you think? Perhaps you can also share some advises and hopefully we can "do little bit of brainstorming". Would be awesome to win :)

Yours
Piotr

@resteempro has found this post to be valuable to the Steemit community and has taken the liberty to upvote it and resteem it! Great work!

Thx that is very kind of you

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43