Ubuntu - Linux - My struggle with it.

in #ubuntu6 years ago

Hi Guys,

I have been using my dell 6420 Latitude laptop with the Ubuntu OS on it for about a year now.
But I have had it with the struggles to install my printer and install Virtualbox on it.

ubuntu-18-04-desktop.jpeg

I love Ubuntu and its ease for standard stuff.
I mostly listen to music, surf the internet, work in text and excel files.
I also do some minor photo cutting on the laptop.

But installing drivers and even some software are really a pain while in Windows you just run the .exe file.
So for me installing stuff is so much easier in Windows.
I love the free OS aspect of Linux and also some opensource software but if I need to do multiple manipulations to have a driver or software installed this is not user friendly at all.

I am not an expert but I have above average computer skills I think.
In Ubuntu you can install software easily with the Ubuntu software center, via terminal or via .deb files which are basically almost the same as installing from an exe.file in Windows.
So there are plenty of options installing things so what could go wrong :-s

So I had to do some searching for my Epson 2550 printer drivers because it was not directly recognized.
After browsing multiple times I finally found a .deb file on the Epson site.
I ran it and it was recognized and driver installed.
So should be ok right? Not... When I try to print something it prints out some weird signs and not the text or photo I want. How can I fix this ? I don't know have searched a bit but I have given up as it takes me too much time to figure out.
I just used a Windows computer to do the Job.

Most software I can install via deb.files , software center or terminal.
But then I wanted to try out Virtualbox to check out some other Linux isos.
I could install it but it keeps saying an error when I try to load an Iso.
Have tried to install it via Ubuntu software, also via terminal and via Deb file and even tried an older version.
But it didn't work at all, it said to install a certain package as root.
So I went to the terminal and tried the command for root su - but hey what new it didn't work.
Then I had to configure that root needed to be installed first.
Googled it so now I was ready and I could run the other package as a root.
But it didn't work and it gave another error message.
So I gave up once again.
Really, how much effort do you need to put to have something simple be installed.
And that is why Linux will never be adapted by the mainstream users.
Maybe when everything is installed for you by a tech savy person then it could work, but if you need to install everything yourself and everything needs to work 100% you will have a pain in the ass way to do it.

I know a lot of servers are ran on Linux OS and tech savy persons love the terminal and the way you can configure the Os to your needs but I personally can't live without Windows ease of use.

What are your experiences with Linux distro's and have you experienced similar problems?
Just comment and let me know, always interested in hearing out some other stories.

giphy (1).gif


PREVIOUS POSTS
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 6-7
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 5
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 4
BITCOIN WILL HAVE THAT POWER
BOUGHT MYSELF A GAMING PRESENT CRYPTO WINTERSLEEP
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 3
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 2
GROWING MY STEEMITACCOUNT WEEK 1
PLATFORMS AND FAUCETS I USE FOR GROWING MY ACCOUNT


My Crypto Referal Page
Best Crypto earning site
Cointiply
Best Investing – Loan – Staking site
BTC Pop Faucet
Interesting ICO
ASK permission token GET 250 coins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43