🌲The Christmas Story in Ten Haiku🌲steemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas8 years ago (edited)

The Christmas Story presented in Haiku form.

I've been writing haiku to capture snapshots of key people, places, and events of the Christmas story, the story of the ages. This is the Story of Stories, the account of how God became a man, entering our universe from "another dimension," known in scripture as "the heavenlies."

Here, assembled for the first time in chronological order, are all ten haiku. There is a title/heading for each that links back to the original individual haiku posting, where you may find a little more information about each stanza, as well as some other photos.

Almost all of this account is derived from reading the Gospel of Luke Chapter Two.

Our story begins with the unwitting action of Caesar Augustus.

Augustus issues a decree that results in Joseph and Mary traveling to Bethlehem. When Jesus is born there, in the City of David, God's word through the prophets is fulfilled.

Augustus Caesar, chief tyrant of Rome

Augustus Caesar, Roman Tyrant
Photo courtesy of Lou Levit and http://unsplash.com



🌲The Christmas Story in Ten Haiku🌲


Despot

Tyrant decrees theft;
knows not Who wields puppet strings.
Pawn in Sovereign hand.




🐴Donkey🐴

Who rests on my back?
I must place each hoof with care,
she's heavy with child.




🚼Parents...🍼

Working-poor couple
in love, not yet intimate;
Suddenly parents.




🐄Stable🐑

Humble environs
superlatively honored,
host a regal birth.




🐑Herdsmen🐑🐏🐑🐑🐑

Herdsmen overwhelmed
as sunburst heralds disclose;
God-man has arrived!




🎺📯🎆🎇¡Messengers!🎇🎆📯🎺

Ethereal band,
beings from unearthly realm,
heard on our planet.




📚Elder📚

Aged scholar's hope,
Spirit-promised child, Here!
Breathing in his arms.




🗡Sword🗡

Many to rise, fall...
A mother's heart is pierced;
ominous future.




🕎🕯Widow🕯🕎

Phanuel 's daughter,
bereaved, chooses joy and speaks
of Jesus to all.




🐪Sages🐫🐪

Sages of Cathay
Come, heeding stellar beacon,
Infant King to fete.



Gladius 1

Simeon prophesied that a sword would pierce Mary's soul...
Photo courtesy of Rama via Wikimedia Commons


Please visit @lakshmi and @ericvancewalton who provided me with that "extra push" to write haiku.


For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, click the animated GIF below:


Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm creatr


@creatr

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

So glad you noticed! ;)

the haiku is great
each haiku is a chapter
the tale will be brief

Very nice! A reply "in kind." I like it a lot, Thanks! Merry Christmas!

snowy and windy
a Merry Christmas to you
sleep warm and sated.

Thank you for posting @creatr. Very nice.... everything about this post is strong.

Thank you, @bleujay, for your frequent visits an encouragement! :)

well, that's a new twist - re-telling the Christmas story in a series of haiku moments like freeze-frames. When we read them in sequence the individual pictures form a narrative :)

Thank you, @solarguy! Merry Christmas!

Ahh, I see what you did there. Built it up nicely!

Thank you. I kinda got "on a roll," and organized it later... ;) Merry Christmas!

Only one quibble:
The sword depicted should be
Roman gladius.

Ah, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Find me a nice gladius free to use, and I'll replace it... ;)

Merry Christmas!

"Labeled for re-use"
I hope that link can help you.
If not, so be it.

Very helpful, friend! Thank you so much!

If you refresh this article, you'll see what I've found...

Suitable image.
Classical shape, but ornate.
I approve of it.

BTW, FYI, my current "working policy" is that I try to up-vote every comment / reply to all of my posts so that everyone who takes the time to respond to me knows that their response has been noted and appreciated. However, I vote for comments at the 1% setting, saving the bulk of my voting power for articles, where it may do the most good. @mattclarke wrote this interesting article about that.

Matt's article notwithstanding, I personally value comments highly because they are my only real indication that there are "real, live people" out there reading what I write! To me, that is of immense value. I try to match that value with meaningful replies whenever possible.

For example, I really treasure your very clever "responses in kind" to my efforts at haiku, and appreciate that you took the time and thought to interact with me in this way! THANK YOU!, @jacobtothe!

Haiku thread started.
Means to reward commenters:
Upvoting replies.

Replying up here
Due to steemit restricting
conversation length

Nationstates [dot] net
Had a three-year haiku thread
Alas! lost to time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44