IMPROMPTU HAIKU Vol. 6 (Holiday Edition plus Book Giveaway)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the special holiday edition of Impromptu Haiku! Each time I post a new installment of this series I’m both entertained and amazed by your creativity.

The act of writing haiku is a highly effective way to keep your creativity muscle sharp. Writing haiku regularly also crushes the effects of writer’s block by opening up channels of creativity you had no idea existed.


What is Haiku?

In case you've never heard the term haiku or have been out of school for a very long time (like I have) and the memories are hazy...the definition of Haiku is as follows:

Haiku is a very short form of Japanese poetry. Traditional haiku consist of 17 total syllables, in three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively.

This post is meant be interactive. I encourage you to write your own holiday themed haiku in the comments below (first line should be 5 syllables, second line 7 syllables, third line 5 syllables)

Here’s mine:

Fresh snow falls softly,
oak logs crackle and burn bright,
warmth, is the best gift

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

Share your Holiday themed Haiku in the comments below! Happy Holidays everyone!


One participant will be chosen at random to receive a free autographed copy of my book on writing, One Word At A Time, Finding Your Way as an Indie Author.

Included in this book are over twenty years of lessons I’ve learned as a writer (most of them, the hard way). I’m happy to be able to share it with you.

Please visit My Website to sign up for my author newsletter. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates on new book releases and other special offers but won’t be inundated by spam, I promise.

Sort:  

scent of conifer,
embers in red and yellow,
window frost creeps slow.

Scorching sand on feet
it's different down under
barbecues and heat

Please send some of that heat up here! Lol.

I may have to practise a bit at writing Haikus. I'm counting syllables on my fingers!

I was counting with my fingers too!

No worries! I have to do the same thing! : )

Twinkling strands of light
bathe the darkness in cinders
singeing the cold night

Wow, very nice!

@opheliafu ...you have won the grand prize. Please email me your address at [email protected] to claim your prize!

Yay! Thank you!

My pleasure! Thank you for participating!

Many so busy;
shopping, buying, getting Things.
I remember You.


photo - Pixabay.com
Haiku - @countrygirl

Family is here
Presents under the pine tree
Happy smiles galore.


Thank you for hosting this fun exercise @ericvancewalton!

Thank you so much for participating!

Thank you, @ericvancewalton, for the challenge!😄😇😄:

    Sunlight kisses sea
    Elevating ocean sprites
    Mist becoming snow


@creatr

Santa's on his sleigh,
spreading joy to all World wide,
we are all Santa

Frosty chill bone deep,
hold me warm I'm yours to keep,
while the children sleep

Christmas tree is up
having first cup of coffee
snow and freezing fog

Original haiku and art by https://steemit.com/@lakshmi

Thanks for your contribution! I'm jealous of the wood burning stove. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50