🐪Sages🐫🐪steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

A Christmas Haiku

A group of sages - traditionally, three wise kings - travelled from the far east to see Jesus, newborn king.

Sages!

Wise Men Still Seek Him
Photo courtesy of Inbal Malca and http://unsplash.com


NOTE: This is one in a series; you can find the complete series of Christmas haiku here:
The Christmas Story in Ten Haiku

A couple of months ago, I read What is a haiku/ haiku challenge written by @lakshmi.

More recently, I was again inspired by @ericvancewalton with his IMPROMPTU HAIKU Vol. 6 (Holiday Edition plus Book Giveaway) to try my hand at a haiku. (Please go there to read many fine entries, and also my own).

Today, I wrote this Christmas haiku.

For @lakshmi and @ericvancewalton, With Appreciation: A Christmas Haiku


Sages of Cathay
Come, heeding stellar beacon,
Infant King to fete.




For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, CLICK HERE


Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm creatr


@creatr

Sort:  

Eric's haiku contests are fun. A while back when @cheetah gave her familiar intervention, I popped off about three haikus as a reply. It was fun, and got me a signed book.... sitting right in front of me now!

The greatest gift nere
Came forth from the virgin fair
But hind the great stone.

Better than I deserve... much better. :)

You're climbing the ladder here. Pretty soon you'll pass me!

Ah, but I'm working too hard at it... A little compulsive at times. But I have an ever-growing list of things I want to write about! ;)

Yeah, can really suck you in. What do you do first thing in the morning? What do you do last thing at night? Do both answers rhyme with meme?

My writing is slow right now cuz I'm focused on other things. I am in the middle of a series I need to finish too.

I actually did a post on the topic the other day:

True Confessions of a ☁️Steem Junkie☁️

I was a little disappointed, because I thought more people would "see themselves" in it... ;)

I feel so honored that I inspired you to write haiku. Here is one for you:

Tree is up
first coffee
snow outside

Original art and haiku by https://steemit.com/@lakshmi

Thank you so very much, @lakshmi! I appreciate you and your encouragement and your art and poetry! :)

Thank you for posting @creatr. A very fine set of words to point poetically to our King.

Happy Christ-mas to you and yours.

A very fine Haiku @creatr! Great job!

Thank you, Eric, very much for your encouragement! ;)

Thank you, my dear, for the compliment! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82