📚Elder📚steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Simeon, an old man, was righteous and devout, a life-long student of scripture.

Although he was apparently quite aged, the Spirit of God had made it clear to Simeon that he would not die before seeing the promise of the LORD God's Messiah, A.K.A. Christ, fulfilled.

We meet Simeon in this Christmas Haiku.

Simeon

Simeon
Photo courtesy of Jaimin Desai and http://unsplash.com


NOTE: This is one in a series; you can find the complete series of Christmas haiku here:
The Christmas Story in Ten Haiku

Today's installment in a series of Christmas Haiku:



Aged scholar's hope,
Spirit-promised child, Here!
Breathing in his arms.



Elder Scholar

Elder Scholar
Photo courtesy of Raul Petri and http://unsplash.com


Please visit @lakshmi and @ericvancewalton who provided me with that "extra push" to write haiku.


For a topical index to many of my other interesting articles, click the animated GIF below:


Did you enjoy this post?

Follow me, I'm creatr


@creatr

Sort:  

it must have been awe inspiring to hold in his arms the creator of the universe. He probably often looked up at the stars in wonder and now held his breath experiencing the same frisson while gazing into the infant's eyes...

I know! It's almost beyond comprehension...

This is one of my favorite scenes in scripture. Whenever I get to hold a newborn, I am reminded of this event. :)

Thank you for posting @creatr. Lovely......

Thank you for taking time to visit and enjoy my work. 😄😇😄

Thank you very much for this post my friend @creatr.
I appreciate your valuable time in visiting and commenting on my post.
That this Christmas you receive full of peace, happiness and prosperity, with your loved ones

Ah, my friend @jlufer, I wish a very blessed and joyful Christmas to you and yours as well!

Thank you, also, for your strong support of my posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.11
ETH 2756.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66