My Favorite Morning Drink and Why: 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day 10

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

I'm a drinker. Not in the way that you're probably thinking, although I do love a spirit and craft beer.

As far back as I can remember, I've always consumed a lot of beverages throughout each day. I've been through phases of heavy soda drinking, diet soda drinking, 8 cups of coffee a day, Gatorade -- you name it. @Dragosroua is challenging Steemians to a 30-Day Writing Challenge. For day #10, he asks, "What's your favorite morning drink and why?" Here's my response.

My Favorite Morning Drink and Why

This question is tricky for me because I've had a significant change in my life in the past few months. As a family, my wife, two sons, and I have gone on a strict diet (GAPS in you're interested). It's geared to help heal the gut and reverse the impact of certain ailments.

Coffee Danger.png

Coffee is more than my favorite morning drink -- it's a passion and an obsession. For at least the last 10 years, anywhere from 3-10 cups of coffee has been a part of my day. I have relied on the caffeine to carry me through each afternoon and I love the taste of a steaming hot cup of black coffee (no cream or sugar, I like it straight).

Once we started the diet, coffee was no longer an option. I cried. Well, not literally, but I struggled with the thought of banishing coffee from my daily routine. But I've been able to stay away from coffee, beer, and all of the many things I can no longer have for my long-term health.

So at this moment, my favorite morning drink is peppermint tea, made from organic peppermint tea leaves. I have a cup or two a day, and although it lacks caffeine, it does give me a boost and I enjoy the taste.

I'm looking forward to the day I can have coffee again, but I'm sure my body is enjoying not being stretched so thin with a massive haul of caffeine each and every day.

What's Your Favorite Morning Drink and Why?


Previous 30-Day Writing Challenge Posts

By the way, if you aren't on Presearch yet, please consider checking it out. This is my favorite project and it has a lot of potential. Earn coins for searching and support a decentralized search engine! Referral link below gives you 25 coins. 25 Bonus coin offer ends 5/31.



Sort:  

I drink coffee like it's on-tap. Espresso machine at the office is the only thing that keeps me going sometimes. I will admit though, that peppermint tea is a fine beverage as well -- but it doesn't feel like it has the 'oomph' to get me going.

It's good to see people such as yourself that put a lot of consideration toward what you put into your body (it always blows me away that people think their cure is a tiny little pill, rather than the piles and heaps of food they shove into their mouths on the daily).

Haha. It does not have the oomph at all, that's for sure. I didn't always have this type of focus on it, but with the wife and kids -- things change. Yeah, we do not go for the pills, that's for sure. We're much more naturally minded when we can be.

I can relate! Coffee is my favorite drink, too, but I’m switching more and more to matcha latte ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60313.79
ETH 2889.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47