The Best Thing That's Happened To Me Because of Steemit: 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Three

In late December of 2017, I started my Steemit journey. It's crazy to look back at how much I didn't know about this platform and the communities here, and then also realize how much I still have to learn and the many awesome people here I still have yet to meet.

@Dragosroua has challenged his followers to a 30-Day Writing Challenge, and for day #3, he's asking us to write about what's the best thing that has happened to us because of Steemit. Although it would be difficult to explain everything that I have received because of my involvement on Steemit, picking the best thing that's happened is rather easy. Here's my answer.

The Best Thing That's Happened to Me Because of Steemit

After I found Steemit, I was excited to get started, but there was a lot I didn't know. I was like a minnow in an unfamiliar ocean. There was so much to explore, but I felt lost. I swam over to different accounts, tried to engage with others, and posted about different topics, all just trying to connect in some way with others.

A couple of weeks into this new journey, I found a post about a freeroll poker league on Steemit. What!? Blockchain poker, and for free?

Yes.jpg

Image Source

The Steem Poker League (@SPL) is a community-funded poker community with daily freerolls from .10 - 100 SBD. Now with over 1,000 players in total, this is a strong and growing community that welcomed this little fish into their community from day one.

What's So Great About It?

Screenshot (254).png

As a poker player of over 15 years who now has a family and children, I still love the game, but I don't necessarily have hundreds of dollars to play in large online tournaments or build a bankroll on a pay-to-play poker website. The first benefit I found from the SPL was free, casual games of poker practically whenever I felt like playing.

I then really joined the community when signing up for their Discord channel. Chats broke out about odd things from funny news clips to the best GIFs, live voice chats sprouted during tournaments, and good-natured bragging was rampant. It soon became much more than just free poker -- I felt like a part of something on Steemit, and it was because of the SPL.

Fast forward a coupld of months, and I am now the reigning two-time Player of the Month, an SPL contributor, and a tournament post. I've grown my Steemit account to over 540 followers, have plenty of SBD coming in from articles and some from winning poker tournaments, and I have real actual friends, not just "connections," here on Steemit. I'm excited to continue to give back to the league and plan to stay highly involved. After all, it's the best thing that's happened to me because of Steemit.


What has been the best thing that's happened to you because of Steemit? I’d love to read about it. Either join the challenge here or just comment below.

Previous 30-Day Writing Challenge Posts

Michael Steemit Image.jpg

Hi there! My name is Michael Luchies, and I’m a writer, entrepreneur, and an enthusiastic cryptocurrency amateur. I’m the Founder of TrepRep, a former TEDx alum, published author, contributor for Entrepreneur Magazine, and much more. Here on Steemit, you can often find me in the Steem Poker League (@SPL). I write about a wide variety of topics from content to cryptocurrency to poker and sports. I’d love to get to know you better. Please comment below!

Thank you for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70