How I Started on Steemit: 30 Day Writing Challenge

in #challenge30days6 years ago (edited)

With around 100,000 users, most of the world has yet to find and utilize Steemit. And even after diving head first into Steemit over four months ago, I have a lot to learn and a lot of people to meet here. By sharing the stories of how we got here, we can help more people find Steemit and also learn a little about each other.

Steemit image.png

I’d like to share the short story of how I got started here on Steemit. This post is part of @DragosRoua’s 30 Day Writing Challenge.

How Did I Get Started On Steemit?

After months of being told that I should start investing in cryptocurrency by my brother-in-law (thanks D.J.!), I started conducting a bit of research. It was December of 2017 and as soon as I began looking into crypto I was hooked.

With a background in entrepreneurship, writing, and marketing, this entire world intrigued me. I’m self-employed and I have spent several years trying to build recurring revenue streams from publishing online classes to considering publishing ebooks. The concept of being able to “tokenize” talents and resources is something that could help me now and in the future.

While researching a couple of cryptocurrencies, I came across a blog post on Steemit. When I scrolled down to read the comments, I noticed that there was a little arrow (^) and a dollar amount next to it. “You can get paid here for writing blog posts?”

I signed up looking for an opportunity to earn a little bit of extra income, and I’ve found much more than that. I’m now a proud member of this community.

How did you get started on Steemit? I’d love to read about it. Either join the challenge here or just comment below.

Michael Steemit Image.jpg

Hi there! My name is Michael Luchies, and I’m a writer, entrepreneur, and an enthusiastic cryptocurrency amateur. I’m the Founder of TrepRep, a former TEDx alum, published author, contributor for Entrepreneur Magazine, and much more. Here on Steemit, you can often find me in the Steem Poker League (@SPL). I write about a wide variety of topics from content to cryptocurrency to poker and sports. I’d love to get to know you better. Please comment below!

Thank you for stopping by!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Its my pleasure

Thanks for sharing your experience. Steemit has plenty room to grow!
Very bright future.

Thank you! Agreed! Nice to meet you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33