Fifty-word short story challenge - "water"

in #challenge6 years ago (edited)

The week's 50-word story prompt is a regular courtesy of @jayna - Thank you for providing it!

The prompt for this week is “water.” The guidelines and the post you can find here.


THE RIVER

"Is the river still the same one you threw that stone into five minutes ago?"
"No," answered the young novice, cooling his feet in the water.
"It's already a different river from the one I threw the stone into."
"What are you then?"


I often write about life as a process. To make a process visible it's best to visualize something which moves. Moving waters, for me, is a synonym for rapid change and so I thought it is a very short way to transport the message that also human life can be seen as a flow where things change within every minute. Only, we do not perceive the "fastness" of it.

To acknowledge a significant message, people do usually not listen to ordinary people but to those they feel they can trust. The master is a figure making it reasonable to find in him a reliable source for wisdom. In fact, we are inclined to believe someone who cannot fall for corruption. The visibility of a chosen lifestyle supports to spot such a figure.

A monk, for example, is known for devoting his life to other then worldly things, hence dropping money and status. A Bhikkhu, a Buddhist beggar monk roaming the land is the one who is most credible when it comes to teaching. His robe identifies him as one of his own, making it easier to recognise the label of his designation.

Here, I have a really interesting video for you:

Thank you for visiting.

Sort:  

To acknowledge a significant message, people do usually not listen to ordinary people but to those they feel they can trust.

I just thought about that a few days ago, I was studying history, and there were totally conflicting opinions from different authors, in which to believe? It was my question, maybe in the one with the best argument, but when the facts about something are confusing and the arguments are based on events that are not completely established and opinions dispute the existence of those facts, then you end up believing in the version of the person that conveys the most confidence.

Regards!

I think it's almost impossible to think of ordinary people without them having a self-interest. A human, which detaches himself from this interest we normally do neither find in politicians nor historians nor other faculties. So the figure of a "master" or a "shaman" provides us with an extreme. Which must be extreme for the very purpose of perceiving a human with the utmost ability to be incorruptible.

I think that is the deeper meaning of a person like this to not be married, not having a family, not even an own property to live, just his clothes and some simple devices for survival. One who you think will not interfere in relationships of conflicting parties but remains all party for the love he feels towards humans in general.

This form of detachment is often seen as negative. But I find it serves as the best example for finding trust in the advice given.

Which doesn't mean that I find self interest bad. It's reality.

Thanks for commenting!

P.S. confidence can be very tricky, as we know. One must know if the person has self worthiness in order to believe his argument, no?

Totally agree.

confidence can be very tricky, as we know. One must know if the person has self worthiness in order to believe his argument, no?

I suppose so, although I was really referring to the confidence we have in the person, for example, some politicians convey a lot of confidence and self worthiness , but I would not trust them. If I respect someone, then I can listen to what he says and validate what he says, if someone constantly lies, then I can not respect him, and therefore I can not trust him.

I see and agree, too.

Thank you for pointing that out as to have confidence in some one else is different than to see the person is confident himself.

I am pretty sure you know of all the thoughts as you seem to carry them yourself. It's such a psycho-philosophical matter.

When I say "self-worthiness" this is for me an indicator for honesty. Usually halfway sane people do have an inner judge which evaluates the self for honesty or dishonesty. To be able to look in the mirror people very well know that self worth is little when they constantly lie or use tricks on people. Though one can fake self trust, I guess it nevertheless seeps through and is being perceived by others intuitively. Except, this "other" is a self liar himself. Then nothing really is honest.

Still, the ability to detect lies in others is mostly there. When politicians, for example, were asked openly on television we could sense dishonesty.

The matter of self interest is really complex. I'd say everyone can realize that self interest is a matter of fact in each and every one who acts in the world. We must accept this fact for the separation of worldly matters and spiritual ones long ago had taken place. We should not be surprised about it. Transparency is something which comes here into play, as its clear that interest is there but one has to reveal it openly. A politician has the interest to stay in power and to be re-elected - thats a reasonable consideration. Everyone is clear about that.

But what else interest does he have when he decides on legal matters? There's the point where many lies start and scandals are being sniffed out by the public. The web of interests itself became in the same way complex as the world developed towards globalization. ... Is what I think. Could write a lot more but leave it at this. This balance or dance between integrity & interest is one of the most hot topics since we've got "news" talking about governments.

Self-reflection and questioning should be for every one in power a necessity and I really do hope those in charge have wise advisors/supervisors. That indeed is a question which would interest me - but I do not dare to look. I am afraid I will become disappointed...

Excellent fifty words... Very deep.. and I love the question at the end and the back story to give it context... I watched the start of the video also, but didn't have 45 minutes to spare to watch it all, but hope to come back to it.. What an amazing turn around by the ex soldier... I really did change the direction or flow of his life.. amazing stuff..

Thank you, @ablaze. Glad, that you looked into the interview. It's really worth to listen the full one.
Yes, the question comes kind of irritating, no? I like "irritation" a lot as it serves to stumble on the otherwise convenient path we are all so used to walk.

I will defo try to put an hour aside to listen to the full interview... My appetite is sufficiently whetted now having seen some of it..

Thank you for that thoughtful story, and additional information!

Is that quote from "Siddhartha' by Herman Hesse?
I got so much out of that book. Enjoyed your story too. Also something I've given a bit of thought.
I replied to your comment in your article about reducing complexity...
...and used the idea of 'process' mentioned above to inspire me to write about something I've given some thought recently.

Oh, yes, that could very well be. I read Siddhartha a while ago and I am pretty sure I was influenced by the river scenes. Also, I was listening to tons of Buddhist talks on youtube (all by monks and nuns) and Alan Watts and those little Zen stories become sticking to my mind. Meanwhile I am carrying a little collection of metaphors to entertain my friends and family once in a while. I also love jokes!

I will read the "something" of yours later on. So good to see you being back.

I think all these things we're exposed to kind of work on our subconscious and slowly form an outlook..
For 'jokes' with deeper meanings you should check out Bektashi and Nasrudinn stories...

Very interesting. Ironically, people tend to be suspicious of those who change their mind too quickly about certain matters, as if it were something negative. We should embrace change, given we can´t help changing.

:) oh, that. When you add interaction to it than it depends on which plane the former you walked and talked. If the present you and the present other are not on the same level, mind changing can be indeed very disturbing. As if a lie was detected. You said "too quickly" - that is probably the disturbing factor. Who decides on the pace? :-)

Right. I was thinking more of changes in conceptions. Some people may experience life-changing episodes that may take them to move from, say being pro-choice to pro-life, or pro-weapons to anti-weapons. Of course there is always the possibilty that interests are at play, in which case people will look at the changes as suspicious.

Yes, I can confirm that. To let other people not become irritated by mind changings it is always supportive to let them partake in ones own process. So the news doesn't come out of nowhere. I can see that often people are irritated by changing from "pro" to "anti" or that they become christian after being their whole life against anything theistic.

In the end, it's a matter of trust how well the environment reacts on the changes one shows.

nice suspense ending hmm keeps you waiting for a reply

HeHe. Thank you. The question in the end could be used by you ;-) What kind of answer would you give to it?

gosh that's hard I was thinking of some direct answer but then I decided to answer with a question "what do you think I am?" lol

LOL! My direct answer would be: you are what you presently think you are ;-)

Like others here I don't have time for the entire video this morning, but will attempt to come back to it.
I understand the monks having no attachments makes him someone one others might trust more as he seems to have no ulterior motives, but for me I still have to get a feel for him/her and if young with no children or any long-term partners or major trials in life I might find the advise limited.
I really do think there is something to maturation and being wise and with not only pure thoughts, but experience to back what they're saying or suggesting.
That is where our own discernment comes into play, and not that we should cast away good counsel even if it is coming from a much younger and inexperienced person, or make a choice between two opposing historians (as mentioned in above comments) but consider more, look for further clarification and for me that's where synchronicities and dreams come into play. For example, who is the next person who shows up at the grocery store and starts telling me a story related to my question? How does this "sign," inform my decision on a matter?

It was the same for me as for you with the young wandering monk. Partly I found his way of talking and knowledge a bit too bold. I also had to smile about so much conviction. Nevertheless, as you also noticed, he had some very important things to say. If spaces of experience do not overlap, we are inclined to reject advice rather. Someone who doesn't have the same experience is, in our eyes, less likely to give us such advice. However, I would be interested in how, for example, younger people and also men - and not mothers like us at a somewhat more mature age - evaluate such an interview.

However, I think your way of experiencing synchronicity already has a Buddhist touch when you consider that Buddhism calls you to be mindful and attentive in your everyday life. You are actively searching for the answers, and you are also consciously looking for encounters that will take you further in your experience. With how you sharpen your perception and how you think and write about it, you are also a role model for others. Because this happens neither in an arrogant nor in a better knowing way, but in a sensitive and profound fashion.

We can see ourselves as many world movers who all have the same goal: to wish each other the best, to give and receive love.

Personally, I would definitely prefer to talk to an older monk or the abbot himself. ;-)

Yes, would be interesting to hear the perspectives of men and how they evaluate the interview.
Thank you so much for your comments and careful and caring observations of my writings and endeavors. I do feel affirmed in your seeing me in such ways.

We can see ourselves as many world movers who all have the same goal: to wish each other the best, to give and receive love.

YES! I agree. We continue striving to make personal spiritual and psychological discoveries while accepting others too are on this path and that I am you and you are me and we share in humility our words of wisdom.

You are a teacher, leader and healer, Erika and I am glad to have found you in this cyber world. I find your words, comments, opinions, questions as growth producing and am grateful.

Kimberly

Yes. Thank you so much.
I feel the same towards you. Wish I could give you a real hug. And why am I always seeing the two of us in your kitchen drinking tea?

Well, perhaps someday you will be in my kitchen drinking tea!
Or, I'll be standing on your stoop sharing a cigar :)

Now, that would be really nice. Because I haven't told you that I decided not to enter an aircraft any more. So only the stars know whether I'll ever take a sailing ship crossing the ocean.

Have you ever been in Europe?

Yes. Scotland a couple of times. London and Denmark.
I was at Findhorn in Scotland last November to play the transformational game and participate in soul collage :)
Have you decided against flying due to pollution?

Cool! I really would like to know how you experienced Findhorn. For a certain time I payed much attention on these groups maintaining self sufficiency on a social as well as on an energy independency level. Have you also ever heard about Ana Breitenbach? Real fascinating personality she has.

Yes, the reason I stopped taking planes is for protecting environment. But I do not want to say that loud as I don't want to accuse people choosing other life styles. Comparisons make it usually worse than better ;-)

I enjoyed your piece--because of course nothing stays the same. And, as you wrote in another piece, we wouldn't want it to. I think recognizing this helps us more looking into the future than at the past. If we understand that we are constantly evolving we might plot our path more deliberately, try to choose our influences more carefully. I don't know, maybe that's an illusion of control.
Anyway, as for your explanation--I'm afraid I don't necessarily trust people because of their chosen vocation or their station. I think sometimes people have strange motives for leading abstemious lives. I look to scandals of "religious" people and think how they used their conspicuous piety as a cover.
Anyway, interesting. Glad to see you writing, writing, writing. I can't keep up. I'm a plodder :)

For me, the question is and was very important in this context. I wanted to know: Who can I trust almost unconditionally without having to know his life, his reputation, his career, his financial and emotional status? Are there people who are accessible to me and can I assume that, in principle, they do not contravene a serious life path and an official and voluntary commitment to ethical principles? The ordained were the only ones who remained. The fact that I did not select them from the Christian realm is also logical for me, because in our own ranks we indeed do not see and saw our trust justified.

Scandals are like a bundled beam of light pointing only to a certain place. If one were to illuminate the entire spectrum, I suspect, many positive qualities and teachings would be visible in addition to the scandals and misconduct, which unfortunately often remain hidden from us because we have become accustomed to the spotlight.

To the deeper sense of your comment, read my newest article, I think you might find it interesting:
https://steemit.com/buddhism/@erh.germany/monastics-a-bunch-of-outcasts-seekers-and-losers-what-can-a-monastery-be-regarded-as-what-does-it-serve-for

I have plenty of time to write. It belongs like breathing to my everyday life:)

Gotcha! 45 words (including the headline) I knew, you weren't gonna keep to the rule 😎

You snoop!
Please, don't tell anybody. They probably put me in the writers' jail. 😜

Wisdom through art. Great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31