You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fifty-word short story challenge - "water"

in #challenge6 years ago

Like others here I don't have time for the entire video this morning, but will attempt to come back to it.
I understand the monks having no attachments makes him someone one others might trust more as he seems to have no ulterior motives, but for me I still have to get a feel for him/her and if young with no children or any long-term partners or major trials in life I might find the advise limited.
I really do think there is something to maturation and being wise and with not only pure thoughts, but experience to back what they're saying or suggesting.
That is where our own discernment comes into play, and not that we should cast away good counsel even if it is coming from a much younger and inexperienced person, or make a choice between two opposing historians (as mentioned in above comments) but consider more, look for further clarification and for me that's where synchronicities and dreams come into play. For example, who is the next person who shows up at the grocery store and starts telling me a story related to my question? How does this "sign," inform my decision on a matter?

Sort:  

It was the same for me as for you with the young wandering monk. Partly I found his way of talking and knowledge a bit too bold. I also had to smile about so much conviction. Nevertheless, as you also noticed, he had some very important things to say. If spaces of experience do not overlap, we are inclined to reject advice rather. Someone who doesn't have the same experience is, in our eyes, less likely to give us such advice. However, I would be interested in how, for example, younger people and also men - and not mothers like us at a somewhat more mature age - evaluate such an interview.

However, I think your way of experiencing synchronicity already has a Buddhist touch when you consider that Buddhism calls you to be mindful and attentive in your everyday life. You are actively searching for the answers, and you are also consciously looking for encounters that will take you further in your experience. With how you sharpen your perception and how you think and write about it, you are also a role model for others. Because this happens neither in an arrogant nor in a better knowing way, but in a sensitive and profound fashion.

We can see ourselves as many world movers who all have the same goal: to wish each other the best, to give and receive love.

Personally, I would definitely prefer to talk to an older monk or the abbot himself. ;-)

Yes, would be interesting to hear the perspectives of men and how they evaluate the interview.
Thank you so much for your comments and careful and caring observations of my writings and endeavors. I do feel affirmed in your seeing me in such ways.

We can see ourselves as many world movers who all have the same goal: to wish each other the best, to give and receive love.

YES! I agree. We continue striving to make personal spiritual and psychological discoveries while accepting others too are on this path and that I am you and you are me and we share in humility our words of wisdom.

You are a teacher, leader and healer, Erika and I am glad to have found you in this cyber world. I find your words, comments, opinions, questions as growth producing and am grateful.

Kimberly

Yes. Thank you so much.
I feel the same towards you. Wish I could give you a real hug. And why am I always seeing the two of us in your kitchen drinking tea?

Well, perhaps someday you will be in my kitchen drinking tea!
Or, I'll be standing on your stoop sharing a cigar :)

Now, that would be really nice. Because I haven't told you that I decided not to enter an aircraft any more. So only the stars know whether I'll ever take a sailing ship crossing the ocean.

Have you ever been in Europe?

Yes. Scotland a couple of times. London and Denmark.
I was at Findhorn in Scotland last November to play the transformational game and participate in soul collage :)
Have you decided against flying due to pollution?

Cool! I really would like to know how you experienced Findhorn. For a certain time I payed much attention on these groups maintaining self sufficiency on a social as well as on an energy independency level. Have you also ever heard about Ana Breitenbach? Real fascinating personality she has.

Yes, the reason I stopped taking planes is for protecting environment. But I do not want to say that loud as I don't want to accuse people choosing other life styles. Comparisons make it usually worse than better ;-)

Yes, I understand the not wanting to fly--each flight adding so much to the problem.
I enjoyed going very much. I wanted to take the class from Joy Drake as she is the one who created the game along with angel cards and thought it best to experience the game with her. I met some very lovely people. I do think the Brits hold back somewhat on their psychological sharing (very stereotypical assessment on my part and we'd better be careful what we're saying here so as not to offend others :)
when compared to west-coast American's and their long-run adventures in psycho-analysis.
Ana Breitenbach sounds faintly familiar. I am not always the best at remembering names, but will go and check her out now.
Hope you're having a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61