The Process of ExperiencesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

"What might have been and what has been, Point to one end, which is always present."

T.S. Eliot, 'Burnt Norton'

It’s easy for me to forget that everything is, as it were, in mid-process. The act of thinking, or considering events is a way of taking a snapshot of a moving and dynamic occurrence, or set of occurrences. When we talk of a moment, it is a way of speaking only. How long is a moment? The idea is completely relative. Human history is a moment to the universe. Our life is a moment to a mountain.

That’s how come we say hindsight is 20/20. We emerge through an event or series on events and take a snapshot that seems to give us a clear view of what happened, but like a frame taken out of a video it can be very misleading. Regret and fear of missing out are often the results of treating these snapshots as an accurate portrayal of reality.


Photo by Albin Berlin from Pexels

We are changed by the experiences we go through. Learning can be more than just an intellectual process, there is the training aspect as well. In English the Past Future Perfect Continuous Tense (with 'could have' or 'should have') is a useful way of describing certain events but is a dangerous trap when it begins to influence our thinking. It is intended to allow a way we can talk about ‘unreal things’. Best suited to hypothetical considerations of contemplation or philosophy but very dangerous to apply to daily events. To say, “ I should have done this or that..” or “why couldn’t I see this or that that would happen.”
The reason is that that is there then and we are here now. The answer is in the question. Why couldn’t I see it? Precisely because of the fact that I see it now. It’s better to say that the only reason I see it now is because I couldn’t see it then. It is the contrast in knowing that is the illumination. No light without dark, so to speak.

Ken McLeod was instrumental in formulating what has now come to be known as the WKC model. The gist of which is that in order to acquire any new skill, three things are necessary: willingness, know-how and capacity. Each of these is subtly different but can be overlapped and misunderstood in daily usage; a bit like the subtle differences between the modal verbs can, will and may.
The easiest to differentiate is willingness. That is the desire to do something or learn a skill. Know-how is the knowledge of how to do it. Book knowledge or intellectual understanding. The often neglected one is capacity. Capacity is the ability to do it. The fitness or strength. This is the training aspect. I can want to ride a motorcycle, so I learn how to ride it and what the controls do but then before I can ride it safely and confidently in the open road I need practice. I need to start slowly and develop skills.


Photo by ajay bhargav GUDURU from Pexels

Often when I look back on things and feel I could have done better, I find it helps to remember I probably didn’t have the capacity. It is through attempts and apparent failures that we develop the capacity. If I am training in a gym and achieve an ability to do 50 push-ups I don’t look back at myself 2 months ago and berate myself because I couldn’t do more than 20. Yes, I wanted to. Yes, I knew how to do it, but I didn’t have the strength. I think this model can be applied to non-physical aspects of life experience more than we generally consider.

Whenever I have breakthrough moments in understanding and development of myself, I have this annoying habit of immediately slapping my forehead (figuratively speaking) and say, “why couldn’t I see this sooner! It’s so obvious!” It’s important to remember its only obvious now. I didn’t have the capacity to see it then and by working through it is the only reason why I am able to see it now. It’s an attitude of openness that allows us be in the continuing process and not to constantly take snapshots of our experience as if we are watching a film by looking at a series of photographs.

"You are not the same people who left that station, Or who will arrive at any terminus,"

T.S. Eliot, 'The Dry Salvages'

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stace from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for the upvote!

Posted using Partiko Android

What a well thought article that is. I like a lot that you use real matter to transport your message. It makes it so much easier to get your point. To set the mountain in relation to a human life: Plastic, as we say in Germany.

Also, I can confirm very much the practice in that whole process aspect. I was riding a motorbike in my youth and I can tell how much I first had to get used to handling the machine and to bring past some milage. One can perfectly read notes but that doesn't make you a good piano player.

What you worked out so well is the fact to not condemn oneself for formerly not achieved insights. The view from back than is past. The view from now is present. This reminds me on an expression from the psychoanalyst Alfred Adler who said the everyone can re-invent his childhood. Not the exact words, though.

Suggestions can be so tricky, right?

I am going to resteem this article of yours. Such a pleasure to follow your thoughts.

My vote must wait. I exhausted my VP and would like to give you a better treat. :)

Thanks so much for the support, I really appreciate it :). I find the personal touches difficult it's interesting to hear that it improves the message.
Part of what got me thinking along these lines are all the different ways I have viewed and interpreted my past according to the changing perspective of the present..
What do you mean about suggestions being tricky?

:) You are welcome.
I am slightly irritated. And smiling. When you say "personal touch" and I look where you got personal here, I cannot see much. But on a deeper level I can totally see that. It definetley improves the message. How can it be otherwise?

By suggestions I mean exactly this reviewing the events and suggest another perspective or judgement. Why it's tricky, is because one can lose oneself in them. One must find an end in perspective finding and finally chose for one. That's what you already revealed here so brilliantly.

Maybe I just said its tricky it to underline my confirmation:) LOL
Sometimes I am saying things without thinking why I did it.

...Well I did say 'touch', not a whole lot but it's something I should try and incorporate more.. Oh yes I understand now about the suggestions that I was trying to express..

Congratulations @goastrighter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thanks very much for the review and resteem!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goastrighter! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52