Fiction - Silent Water - Chapter Seven - Supernatural Manifestations ( original story)

in #busy6 years ago

pablo5555.png

From that point on I spent more time outside of the house than inside of it. Mostly I was staying outside until late, but the days are getting shorter and my mother was insisting for me to leave my outdoors activities earlier and earlier every day.


Previous chapters
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6


Soon, the winter was at the doors, coldness and ice crawled into the walls, the fog was almost the everyday guest and the rain seemed never to stop. The eerie feeling of the isolation captured me. I was keeping myself away from the water by all means. The fears were falling one over another until there was nowhere to escape from them anymore. I was drowning in the nightmare called the reality...

My parents had to go further away from our island to catch a decent lunch. Fish was also gone and for some reason, they were returning almost every day empty-handed. My father was disappointed but whatever net he threw in the sea yield almost nothing. Birds also left, I had little to do. My activity was limited to the house in which I was refusing to stay even during the night.

I would wait till my parents fall asleep and when that familiar slumber reached the inevitable limit of panic, I would escape the house and hid in the playhouse my father built on the other side of the island.
A small house was the shape of an igloo, built by residual stones and concrete, just enough for me to crawl inside but left abandoned it filled up with spiders. My mother never liked to reach her hand inside in fear from the crawlers who were knitted their nets on top of the ceiling.

For some reason, a strange man was also disgusted enough to leave me alone in there, so I had at least some freedom in that nightmare. I felt uneasy and unsafe everywhere else. I never slept normally. I was either running outside in the middle of the night, returning home in the break of the dawn, or I was in my bed jumping all over it as a lunatic humming a few songs I knew.

Apparition never touched me, but it was not so rare for my parents to hear the sudden screams and cries for help from my room. I couldn't make this stranger leave. I could only hold my head, and keep my arms wrapped around it, and imagine, imagine so hard until my brain started to burn and melt in the chaos.

My parents were convinced that I am suffering from child’s anxiety, and to make the whole thing even worse, the multiple pediatricians confirmed their doubts. I almost completely stopped eating and the failure in my general health condition was obvious. They tried everything - vitamins, change of diet, even the castor oil. I was inert to their attempts to save me from the suffering they knew no cause.

One day I stumbled on the small vomit in our garden. I guess not only we had a problem with my mother’s cooking. A small army of the cockroaches was already at serious business cleaning the smelly mess.

I went to the small shed next to our house without much thinking, grabbed the first clean glass jar and picked up a dozen of the bugs from that pile.

That night I had a plan, that had to work.

When everything went quiet I pulled the glass jar with bugs out of a small bag I used to carry my toys in. I start approaching that creature in the corner with it and soon it was evident, he was afraid of the insects.

The next thing my parents heard back in their bedroom was a crash of a broken glass and an inhuman scream cutting through the complete silence. My father was the first at the scene, but he couldn't open the door because my bed was jamming the way. He pushed it away and switched on the light to find me sitting on the floor surrounded by the broken glass and the cockroaches escaping from the light in the dark corners.

Next chapter coming soon...


Previous chapters
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6





CRUSOX.EU

dazzle (3).png

Adsense payment arrived by Western Union ( EU)
Viper Network - new frontend to Steemit
Cryptocompare - find all you need for crypto stuff!!
Drugs and escape from reality
JOINT VENTURES - BLOCKCHAIN ECONOMY FOR ONLINE PUBLISHERS
Voynich manuscript
Take one day OFF
Silent water - Fiction ( 1-4 Ch.)

ASCHATRIA POETRY






Find me on YouTube and Twitter.

Sort:  

I loved the ending. Nothing like a bit of suspense to rouse interest and bring one back to a good series. Nice one.

I am trying to snip it at the interesting part, so that my audience wants to read another one.
Cliffhanger ... lol

I actually had to go back to chapter one. The protagonist is a deeply introspective and curious individual. I would have loved to know how old she is.

Soon, the winter was at the doors, coldness and ice crawled into the walls, the fog was almost the everyday guest and the rain seemed never to stop.

Loved the use of personification here.

Great, and in case that you do read old chapters, you can also leave the comment on them, even ones that are expired.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 24 SBD worth and should receive 58 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Another well crafted chapter. Does the creature leave after being scared with roaches? Going to the next chapter. Great work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43