Fiction - Silent Water - Supernatural Manifestations ( original story, chapter One)

in #busy6 years ago

pablo5555.png

Don’t go near the water, it’s not the sharks you have to be afraid off. It is the silent water waiting for the one.

This is my newest fiction story. I hope you will be satisfied reading it. Have fun!

Once upon a time, there was a group of kids enjoying a summer afternoon on the beach.
My four male cousins were all bigger than me splashing around in the shallow water, barely a knee deep. I asked them to keep me in the water to play with them, what they did and they also gave me an inflatable toy to float between them while they play with the ball.
I was in the middle of a circle when a strange thing happen.

In one moment I felt something dragging me away. Thinking that it was one of my cousins I paid little to no attention, but then I saw all of them in front of me and me advancing by unnatural speed straight back dragged by some invisible person behind me. I panicked almost immediately.
One of my cousins yelled at me and at the moment I managed to scream for help, something extremely strong and fast yanked me off of my inflated toy and submerged me under the water.

I was dragged away under the water and then I ended up inside of something that I can best described as an underwater cave. I could hear my cousins screaming desperately calling me but I could not swim out no matter how hard I tried.

There is nothing more terrifying but a feeling you are just a second away from the drowning and dark oblivion that follows it, and completely helplessness to do anything about it.
The only thing I could see is an absolute darkness and hear the short but quick snaps all around me.

Every time I tried to swim out, I was returned quickly deeper under the rock. Soon I realized - I will die and there is nobody to help me.

I made peace with my destiny still no matter how hard I tried I couldn't drown. Time passed, and those long minutes fueled with subdued screams reaching me from the outside of water seemed like forever.

My cousins called me but they couldn't see me or find me, and then, I have no idea what happened, I managed to escape and climb on a rock above me.

My cousins saw me holding for dear life on that rock calling them. The oldest got in the water without any hesitation, quickly came to where I was holding that rock, took me out and carried me to my mother.

They tried to explain what happened to my mother and other parents, but nobody was overly interested to listen to the bunch of crazy and afraid children.

She was underwater for ten, fifteen minutes - the oldest cousin tried to explain - She couldn't possibly stay alive! - Our parents were confused by this exaggerated reaction. It was not the first time some of us drunk too much water... But, he was persistent and absolutely sure about it.

Also, I was pretty sure I was not under the water for 15 minutes, time seems longer when you are drowning, but for me it was maybe one or two minutes. How they perceived time to be so much longer, I have no idea. It looked like that a chunk of the time somehow disappeared for me.
My father and his brothers inspected the whole shore to find a possible reason why I was dragged away so suddenly. They took everything in consideration and concluded I was dragged away by a sea current, but we saw it so dramatic because we were afraid.

The next day my cousins asked me to get back to the beach, but I refused, something I never done before.

I was standing at the shore looking dark shadow not so far from the coast moving closer, and lurking on the bunch of the children playing.
I had that peculiar feeling somebody is watching us.

What is that - I asked my mother - That darkness in the water?
It is nothing - my mother told me amused by my fear - You are just making it up, it is only water, you don't need to be afraid. Maybe a school of fish?

It was a reasonable conclusion after all the fish were usually making rounds in big schools at that time of the year.

The thing is that a shadow didn't look like any school of fish and it was clearly marked. But it was huge.
Even my father almost strained his neck trying to determine what kind of a school makes such a indigenous and strange shape.

I was not a child that is afraid of the deep water or the dark. Even that young, as much as four or five, I was careful around the water because many kids drowned at that place. It was a completely rational fear keeping me away form the trouble, but my parents were kind of surprised that I don’t want to be in the water not even surrounded with the family and cousins who was all very careful to me as the only girl in the group.

Soon our cousins left and a summer was nearing the end, which meant I will be alone for yet another long winter season.

I was not worried if we stay alone there, it was a completely usual thing, but I was troubled because now I had a feeling that we are not alone.



LOVE JOY PROSPERITY TO EVERYONE








Sort:  

That's an insightful story. Makes me wonder why we adults tend to brush off what kids tell us. We think they're overly imaginative but sometimes reality is stranger than fiction, especially in the eyes of a child. I like the way you round up the story - you were afraid not because you were alone, as most people would, but because you felt sure that you were NOT alone. Looking forward to read the next one.

I am glad you liked it. I will do my best with another chapter.

You bring us into the mind of the child, and we are so caught up in that Point of View, I totally believe everything this child-narrator tells us. How can it be a fiction? It's much too authentic, however improbably the actual story may be. Bravo! Tell me more!

Thank you. The next follows soon.

Well if it wasn't for the title I would have thought it was real.

Thank you. I consider this what you said the best compliment a writer could receive.

Nice story but hope it isn't stopping here. I still want to know what dragged her

Next chapter follows soon, I will do my best. Thank you for reading my work.

You are welcome😉😳🙏

I always love fiction stories :)

Wow, cool, I wonder what happens next in Chapter 2...!

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this post was highlighted and resteemed in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Wow what really could have dragged her

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32