Fiction - Silent Water - Chapter Four - Supernatural Manifestations ( original story)

in #busy7 years ago (edited)

pablo5555.png

After an uneasy breakfast, I went outside, as usual, to take my morning walk. I stroll all across our small island, to find no traces of the event which took place last night. The water seemed so quiet at the beach. The surface was timid but calm, inert, almost like a pool of the heavy dark oil. I climbed up one elevation and took a look at the water. There was something in the shallow water, very close to the beach.


Previous chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3


I didn't take another look but ran to my father to tell him something is there. He came back with me, carefully watching a place that I pointed but there was nothing.

What it looks like? - he asked taking the best position to observe water deeper from that point.

Big, and light, like some animal - I said keeping myself away from the water.

Hmm- he grunted to his chin - Well, there is nothing now, probably some garbage, people toss all kind of things in the sea.

That day I decided to stay inside of the house. I was playing the whole day in the parent's bedroom. My mother was confused.

Don't you want to go out? - she asked me.
No. I want to play with my toys. - I answered from the bedroom.

My mother entered the room finding the floor and furniture covered with the toys and me sitting in the middle of the pile.

What are you doing...? - she asked in disbelief. I was never behaving like this before. - Why did you take all the toys out?

They are good. - I answered rearranging my wealth on the floor. - I want them like that.

My logic was that the toys are good like my parents told me. They also told me the toys and dolls they buy me will take care of me. Protect me. So the good things should scare way all the bad ones.

Can you please pick all that up, when you're done. - my mother said. I don't want to clean your mess over and over again.

Will you play with me? - I asked desperately expecting the positive answer.

Not now. - she answered. - Maybe later.

The answer was always the same, whenever I asked. Not now. Not right now. Not today. I am busy. I have things to do. Go and play outside. Play with your toys. Watch TV. Draw. Please don't make noise...
Why don't you spend more time with her? - my father used to argue with my disinterested mother. - Read her a story! Take her to the walk! You didn't let her stroll around an island alone??
Why don't you just take her yourself? - my mother said- I recorded her tapes. She can listen to the stories whenever she wants. She has the tv... Nothing will happen.
Honey... you can't think like that... - he was clearly disappointed but there was no way to change her behavior.
That child never gets tired. She is never enough. She never stops. She is never quiet. You know that. - my mother kept on ranting.
She is a child! This is not a graveyard...- my father tried to argue back at her, but she just kept on firing on him...

Cleaned the toys away. - my mother said and closed the bedroom doors on the way out.

I continue playing and slowly returning the toys in their place, but I left a few just for a case. Then I heard a loud shriek of the swallows outside, diving up and down through the air. I ran to the window and noticed that the sky is already turning red and swallows are indeed outside.

My father was taking the shower and my mother was cleaning the table, so I could sneak out if I wished to.

The swallows were usually diving down chasing the insects which were attracted by the heat of the concrete windmill platform, but this time something was a little bit different.
The birds were diving in my opinion too fast and it seemed like they were swarming around something in the big empty space in between.
Something dark was there, but it was not visible. Not by the naked eye, still, I could feel it.
The bird insanity continued and I stepped away from the window at the moment my father entered the room after the shower. He was still wet, wiping his hair.

Pick your toys and go to your room. I will come in a minute to tuck you in. - he said.

Ermm... dad.. can you carry me? - I asked taking a few toys with me.

No. I have to get dressed. Go. - he said continuing to brush his hair.

Can you bring me those toys in my room...? - I asked pointing at a few toys I couldn't carry.

Yes, I will bring it to you... he answered while turning on the television and keeping his eyes on the screen.

I took my toys and went to my room. The pile was big so my view was not entirely undisturbed. I was trying to walk straight but I couldn't see so much in front of me.

At one point I noticed something big and dark is sitting on a floor, just next to a wall I was passing by. At first, I thought I was staring at the mirage because my eyes were still adjusting to the dark corridor. But, after a few seconds my vision cleared up and I dropped my toys shocked by what I was looking at. A mirage whispered in a low tone 'help me' and reached to grab me.

I screamed and in two seconds I crammed myself between my parents back in the bedroom. My father almost fell off the bed and my mother jumped too when I screamed that there is a man in the house.

Where is he??!! - My father not losing a moment ran to the locker and grabbed a loaded a rifle. He went through all the rooms in the minute but found nobody.

You are not going to kill him!!?? - my mother yelled at my father who was holding the doors while I was hiding behind her - You don't need to kill him...

I will blow his fucking head off !! - my father answered furious, barefooted and almost naked stormed outside and around a house to find an intruder.

But there was nobody.

What happened, who did you see, who is outside? - my father held me in front of himself trying to figure out what made me scream like that.

Nothing, - my mother said - probably she is just making a fool of you. She saw nothing.

I want to sleep in your room tonight! - I yelled at my father.

Out of the question! - my mother objected almost immediately. - You have your room. You have to sleep in your bed...

My father was kneeling at the floor next to me, he turned his head away from her and told me - I will take your bed in our room for tonight, tomorrow you will sleep in your room. Is that clear?

I nodded at him and took a look at my mother, but she already went back into their bedroom. There was no point discussing with my father about anything.

I went to their bedroom, my father returned his rifle to the locker and went to my room. I stood in the corner while my mother was getting ready to sleep. A few seconds later my father stumbled in carrying my bed. He planted it abruptly next to my mother's side on the floor.

Then, before he got back in the bed, he changed the tv channel and asked my mother to tuck me in.

Can you please tuck her? - he said calmly and quietly to her - She is at your side.

My mother uneasily got up, tuck me in but I didn't like it so I stick my tongue at her, unfortunately, she noticed it and started to yell at me instantly.

ENOUGH! - my father finally yelled at both of us - YOU! YOU NEVER DO THAT TO YOU MOTHER! No TV tomorrow! Now, quiet. I am trying to watch this movie.

My mother got back to bed satisfied and I was a little bit confused by my father's behavior. The stuff he usually says behind her back or even bluntly into her face, are far worse them me showing her my tongue.

Would you shut the TV down? - my mother asked under the blanket.

I am watching it...- My father answered and she turned away to sleep. Apparently, he turned tv channel to something she didn't like.

I was lying in my bed with them in the room, but I was still feeling like I am a million miles away from them. Why do I feel so distant? - I thought to myself, holding my blanket and squeezing my toys.

Can I come there? - I asked my father.

No! - he answered. - Sleep!

What they are talking...? - I asked about the foreign movie he was watching.

Nothing important. - my father answered.

Can I watch with you? - I asked, annoying him.

Aw... dear... my mother grunted beneath her blanket. - Can't you just shut it down?

I am watching this.- my father repeated to her again.

Can I come...? - I asked, now more silent than before...

Sure... - my father finally said and I happily hop between them...

Just till you fall to sleep, then I'll carry you back. - he said and I glued to him and soon after the warmth numbed me. But, I could still feel how tense my father was, and at one moment I felt him getting up, going out and coming back placing something heavy next to the bed.

He reached above and slowly pushed my sleeping mother a bit away so that I have more space. Then he wrapped his arm around me and continue watching TV.

Next chapter coming soon...


Previous chapters

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3










Sort:  

We are getting to know the family better now. Things don't seem to be all rosy in this family. Waiting for the next episode. Keep them coming.

Thanks for reading.
I am trying to give as much details in as little space I can.
I am trying to find a certain balance to the things around them so that it looks as real as possible.
Next chapter soon.

I am new to reading your stories but i am already captivated with the little i have read.. Wil continue reading other chapters so i can understand the story properly

Wow. This sure reminds me how important it is to pay attention to my children and play with them as much as I can when they ask. Congrats on being featured in the Isle of Write highlights. :)

Thank you. I just saw the info, and I am on my way there to see @IsleofWrite post.

Waiting for next chapters soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36