SEC-S19 / W2 | Culinary terminology and proper use of herbs and spices.

in #burnsteem25last month
Hello Everyone !

I am @hudamalik20 from Pakistan. How are you all ?. I hope you all are well and doing great in your life .Today I am participating in this SEC-S19/W2 | Culinary terminology and proper use of herbs and spices. organized by Gastronomy Team.So let's start.

Simple Green and Brown Spices of India Food YouTube Thumbnail_20240715_162337_0000.png

Designed by me , edited on Canva

image.png

Choose 3 culinary terms and define them, accompanying each term with a photo of your own.


Chiffonade :

First, I will share with you about the chiffonade technique, which I use regularly ya. I mostly use it for garnishing on yummy dishes, especially when I need to add cilantro or mint as a garnish.

I cut the cilantro and mint on cutting board with our sharp knife into thin strips using the chiffonade technique.

Method:

  1. First, I take the cilantro and mint leaves and wash them thoroughly to clean them.
  2. Then, I place them on a cutting board and roll them tightly.
  3. Using a sharp knife, I cut the rolled leaves into thin, long strips.
  4. Finally, I sprinkle these thin strips over the dish as a garnish before serving.

20240715_134852_mfnr.jpg

Chiffonade



Braise:

Second, I will talk about braise, which I frequently use when cooking meat or any type of protein that takes time to cook.

Method:

  1. First, I fry the chicken or meat in some oil until it is browned.
  2. After that, I add a small amount of water to the chicken to help cook the chicken or meat thoroughly.
  3. I then cover the pot with a lid and reduce the heat to low.
  4. The chicken or meat continues to cook in its own juices, so that it makes it tender and cooks it in a short amount of time ,I do this technique when I have less time .

IMG_20240710_182514_121.jpg

Braise



Julienne:

The third technique I will talk about is the julienne technique, which I mostly use when making salads for my family.

Method:

  1. Using this technique, I cut cucumbers and carrots into long and thin slices.
  2. First, I take the vegetables, wash them, and then peel them if necessary.
  3. Then, with the help of a sharp knife, I cut the vegetables into long and thin strips.
  4. I use these julienned vegetables to serve as a salad to my family.

IMG_20240715_142652_978.jpg

Julienne


image.png

Did you know the spices shared in this course and their uses? What other spices would you add to the list?

Yes, I am familiar with most of the spices you have mentioned in the contest post , as they are commonly used in our Pakistani cuisine.

Our traditional dishes are incomplete without these spice because they add essential flavor and aroma to our food. I'll discuss a few of these spices and their uses.

1. Pepper (مرچیں):
Different types of peppers are widely used in our cooking. Green peppers are often used for garnishing and adding to dishes, while we dry then in sunlight and then these peppers are ground into a powder and used as a key spice in various recipes. No meal is complete without the use of peppers in our daily cooking.

2. Turmeric (ہلدی):
Turmeric is an essential spice in our cuisine. It is used to add color and it enhance the flavor of dishes because it imparts a beautiful yellow color to the food and is a staple in our spice mixtures.

IMG_20240715_160123_107.jpg

Spices that's used in our cuisine

3. Cumin (زیرہ):
Cumin is used extensively in our dishes like curries and biryanis. It is typically fried in oil at the beginning of cooking, which releases a wonderful aroma and adds a rich flavor to the food. We always start by heating oil and frying cumin seeds before adding other ingredients.

4. Cinnamon (دار چینی):
Cinnamon has multiple uses in our cuisine, both in savory dishes and desserts. It is used in powdered form for cooking and baking . It is used in making biscuits and bread, which are my favorite. It is also an important ingredient in making pasta sauces and many other dishes.

Now here are some additional spices commonly used in our country that were not mentioned in the course post:

1. Fenugreek (میتھی):
Fenugreek leaves and seeds are used in various forms. Fresh fenugreek leaves are used during cooking food, while dried leaves are stored and used as a garnish to add flavor and aroma to dishes and it also has many health benefits.

IMG_20240715_160452_959.jpg

Fenugreek leaves

2. Black Mustard Seeds (رائی):
Black mustard seeds are used in spicy and tangy dishes soch as pickle.They are an important ingredient in pickles, it provides a unique sour flavor to the food.

3. Nigella Seeds (کلونجی):
Nigella seeds are often used in bread making and sprinkled over dishes for added flavor. They are lightly roasted and added to various recipes to enhance taste and aroma.

image.png

What is the combination of spices that you use most in cooking and in what preparations do you add it?

The combination of spices I use most in cooking revolves around cumin, coriander, turmeric, and various chili peppers. These spices are integral to Pakistani cuisine, enhancing flavors and aromas in diverse dishes. Here’s a breakdown of how I use them:

Cumin (زیرہ):

  • Usage: Cumin seeds are heated in oil until they release their aroma. This forms the flavorful base for many dishes, that provides a distinctive earthy taste.

Coriander (دھنیا):

  • Usage: Ground coriander powder is a staple, that adds a subtle citrusy note to curries, rice dishes, and lentil stews. Its aromatic quality complements other spices beautifully.

Turmeric (ہلدی):

  • Usage: Turmeric powder not only imparts a rich golden hue to dishes but also lends a mild, slightly bitter flavor. It’s essential in our curries, vegetables, and rice preparations.

IMG_20240715_160131_212.jpg

turmeric

Chili Peppers (مرچیں):

  • Usage: Red chili powder adds heat and intensity in our dishes, while green chilies bring a fresh, pungent kick to stir-fries and sauces. These are adjusted according to personal preference for spiciness.

Cooking Techniques:

  • Chicken Curry (مرغی کری): To prepare chicken curry, I begin by heating oil, frying cumin seeds, and adding marinated chicken pieces. Turmeric and red chili powder are added for color and heat, respectively, creating a robust and flavorful sauce.

  • Lentil Stew (دال): For lentil stew, I start by frying cumin seeds in hot oil. Then, I add soaked lentils along with turmeric, red chili powder, and coriander for a hearty and nutritious dish. It’s simmered until the lentils are tender and infused with spices.

  • Vegetable Stir-fry (سبزیوں کی فرائی): When making vegetable stir-fry, I heat oil, fry cumin seeds, and toss in a variety of fresh vegetables. Turmeric and red chili powder are added for flavor and color enhancement, ensuring a vibrant and tasty dish.

image.png

We would like to encourage you to prepare one of the 7 most famous spice mixes in the world or the most used spice mix in your country of origin.

In my country, Garam Masala is a must have in every kitchen it's found in everyone's kitchen because it adds a special flavor to our meals like in our Biryani and Chicken Curry. We easily get its ingredients from local shops:

20240715_133629.jpg

Making of famous spice mix in our country : Garam Masala

20240715_133809.jpg

time to grind them

Which includes cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, black pepper, cumin seeds, and coriander seeds.

20240715_134132_mfnr.jpg

Garam Masala is ready

At home, we lightly roast these spices until they smell amazing, then grind them into a powder using a blender. This powder not only makes our food smell great but also adds a nice texture. We use it while cooking to enhance the taste of our dishes. I can share pictures of how I make Garam Masala at home.

That's it from today's blog I hope you will like it. With best wishes ❤️. Now I like to invite @tammanna, @yenny47 @tripple-e and @neelofar to participate in this amazing contest.

Thanks alot for reading ❤️🤗 .

My introduction post

Regards : @hudamalik20 .

image.png

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

image.png
CONGRATULATIONS!!

This post has been upvoted - Steem's Angels with @steemcurator09/ Curated by: @ruthjoe

Thank you so much for your support 🤗💞💐.

Hi @hudamalik20
I am extremely happy to seeing your well explained publication you shared Pakistani cousins spices and collective use of each spice , well defined Culinary terminology and proper use of herbs and spices.

Your own images are fantastic and the methods we used during cooking explained well.your home made garam masala recipe really amazing and I am sure used not only in Pakistan for essence the aroma and taste of the food but aldo famous all over the world,your hard work visible shown in your publication.

The course offered in second week really tremendously informative we learned terminologies of spices with usese and also detailed review about herbs .
Wishing you success and good luck to you friend my assignment will share soon.
Greetings

Hello dear @sualeha.

Thanks a lot for your kind words. I'm really glad you enjoyed the spices and culinary tips I shared. Homemade garam masala is a favorite at home, and it's awesome to read you liked it too.

I am looking forward to seeing your assignment , keep sharing our love for food and learning.

Best wishes,
@hudamalik20 🤗💞💐🌸

You have written your article very nicely. Especially the description of the spices is very clear. The way of cooking food in your country is almost same as the way of cooking in our country. We also use all the spices you use in our recipes. I wish you success in this competition.

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed my article and found the spice descriptions clear yes I know that our cooking styles and spices are similar I see Indian YouTuber vlogs . Best of luck to you in the competition as well🌸💞🤗💐.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Wow! Me encanta la mezcla de especias que lleva el Gram Masala, tiene notas dulces por la canela y los clavos de olor.

Hay algo muy importante en esta publicación y es sobre tostar las semillas, de por si las semillas tienen grasa y al calentarlas como haces en el caso del cilantro estas sueltan aun mas sus olores y propiedades, puedes intentar hacer esto mismo con las semillas de mostaza, pimienta, comino, hinojo, primero las tuestas y luego las vuelves polvo, los olores que sentirás en la cocina son maravillosos!

Es importante conservar las especias en envases bien cerrados, en un lugar donde no le de la luz del sol y usarlas en un tiempo de 6 meses porque luego pierden sus propiedades, sobre todo el olor que tanto las caracteriza.

Gracias por participar y mostrarnos tu cultura a través de esas mezclas deliciosas de especias.

Thank you so much dear @nahela for your wonderful comment. I'm glad you enjoyed my post about Garam Masala and its rich blend of spices.

I'll definitely try that with mustard seeds, pepper, cumin, and fennel to enhance their flavors.

Yes i also make sure to store my spices properly to keep their aromas intact. Sharing these tips and learning from each other makes our culinary experiences even better. Thanks again for your kind words and for appreciating my culture🤗🌸💞🌼

Buenísimo

Me encantan las especias. Realzan excelentemente las comidas.

Thank you @lunasilver I'm glad you love spices too. They really do make meals special. Appreciate your support🤗🌸🤍💐.

You have developed the topic very well by explaining the most popular herbs and spices used in Pakistan, and the way you use them. I knew about a pair of new ingredients like block cumin seed and black mustard seeds. I had heard about fenogreek, but I have never tasted it.

I can see you remark te amazing taste and smell of your food, I'm sure of it for the way you enhace flavors by heating and toasting.

Best of luck

Thank you for your comment.I’m glad you found the information about herbs and spices interesting.

Fenugreek is definitely worth trying when you get the chance. I appreciate your kind words and support. Best of luck to you as well🤗🌸🤍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45